We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stakes poor desserts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro 1800

Bistro 1800
Ranked #334 of 1,135 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: US$10 - US$70
Cuisines: Steakhouse, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We offer a range of succulent signature steaks, delectable meat dishes and shellfish. Our grill prepares our meat at a temperature of 1800° Fahrenheit. The result is moist, tender, melt-in-your-mouth steak, accompanied by a wide variety of mouth-watering sauces from around the world.With a stylish and contemporary feel, Bistro 1800 boasts a culinary offering, rich with international flavours and attracts local businessmen and professionals and other discerning restaurant goers in search of a refined, consistent and high quality offering.Whilst the Head Chef selects only the freshest seafood, meat is the star of the show at Bistro 1800 . Owner, Paschal Phelan, brings with him many years of experience in the meat industry in Ireland and, under his direction, his team ensures the best quality by inspecting suppliers' farms to maintain the highest standard of their meat offering.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great stakes poor desserts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

All was great (starters,main - we eat a wonderful chateaubriand, service) until we got to the desserts that left a bad taste to the visit

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank liavov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    19
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Tender steak and very good service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

It was an enjoyable stay at the hotel, the bistro down stairs was not full for lunch, but reservation needed for dinner. The steak was great and very good service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rairliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We dined in 1800 on the first night of our stay and had a wonderful meal. With a varied menu and additional specials on a blackboard, there's something to suit all tastes. We opted for steaks which were great value, delicious and perfectly cooked.
Unfortunately we were too full to manage dessert, although were very tempted to try the Chocolate Bomb which is apparently pretty amazing!
Not sure why this restaurant isn't busier, as with this quality of food and faultless service it certainly should be. We would highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CagsieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Juicy Steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Our first night at the Cape Royale we decided to try Bistro 1800 as advised by a local we met on the plane from Johannesburg. We were not disappointed! Although they had run out of the vegetarian dish, the chef was more than happy to discuss and prepare something else suitable for my friend. The waiters and waitresses were very attentive and knowledgeable about the food and wine. My sirloin steak was wonderful - cooked just the way I wanted and my knife cut through it like butter. It's a small clean and comfortable place. We also had breakfast here every day for a week and were delighted with the food and service. We did want to try other restaurants during the week and had some really good food, but we ate in Bistro 1800 three times because we really enjoyed it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Top notch evening in the city!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

I was recommended to try this restaurant by friends... And I am so glad I did. One of the most superb evenings I've had in a while.The waiters recommendations helped us make an excellent selection,the all staff were extremely helpful and genuinely friendly. Great vibe, great evening.... Put it on your list

Helpful?
Thank SDLHOTELDIVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro 1800 also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Bistro 1800? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing