We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Fashioned Winners”

La Grotto Restaurant
Ranked #615 of 1,148 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: US$9 - US$17
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: La Grotto Restaurant established in 1972 is the oldest restaurant in the Southern Suburbs of Cape Town.Renown for their exceptional seafood & steaks, La Grotto celebrates it's 40th year in business this year.Owner / operator Gary Farinha has been in the restaurant trade for more than 25 years, starting out in Pretoria under Master Chef Gasparino Rosselli. Gary and his wife Sherri moved to Cape Town 20 years ago, owning and operating restaurants in the Strand & Gordons Bay for almost 15 years. Most recently Gary was the Food & Beverage manager at the world famous Chapman's Peak Hotel in Hout Bay.Come and enjoy an evening of exceptional food, great service and a wonderful atmosphere.
South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Winners”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We have been going to La Grotto for years and when the new owner took over we were concerned but we had absolutely nothing to worry about! Its is still excellent and consistent with many of the original menu items still available and really tasty. Its casual and old fashioned but its great and the food is hearty!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank fumpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milnerton, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Catering for Vegetarians”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

One evening Gary invited people for a dinner/dance event with a set menu. My wife and I told him we are vegetarians and he prepared a most amazing vegetarian meal for us, including starter, main course and desert. We've learnt over the years that some restaurants will go out of their way to make vegetarians feel welcome. Thank you Gary.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David_in_Milnerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“No nonsense good food”
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

Great food, very generous portions and superb value for money. There are no frills, but this just helps make it a place where you can eat at almost every day. Never fails to satify. I will keep coming back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KarmaTraveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Pepper Steaks”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The best steaks in Cape Town. Love it. A nice family restaurant!!!! Its a must when you come to Cape Town

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Family owned family restaurant”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

La Grotto is a great little cozy family owned restaurant where ever plate of food gets approved by the owner, Gary.
Good steak and seafood and very reasonable prices with brilliant specials.
Gary is well known in the community for being a great restauranteur.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamThomasCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Grotto Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to La Grotto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing