We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family venue”

Seven Spur Steak Ranch
Ranked #248 of 1,195 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Spoil your family & eat out at Seven Spur. We are the best steakhouse & burger restaurant in Sea Point. Bring along your kids for some great tasting food & dessert from our famous Spur menu.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

As with most Spur outlets there is going to be the expected kiddies party or two over the weekend. This place is no different. The (slight) noise just adds to the family atmosphere! A decent sized kids play area is available for your little ones to clamber and climb in. The menu is pretty average but certainly value for money. All diners (young or old) are treated to a "Happy Birthday" sing along by the servers if you let them know beforehand.

This probably sums it up: casual dining for the family with no frills attached.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1Saffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laraspirit, Front Office Manager at Seven Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your honest and complementary review. We hope to see you in our store again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were greeted at the door and shown to a table, the waiter introduced himself and asked if we would like anything to drink. When the rest of the family arrived we ordered and were served efficiently and quickly. The food was more than adequate, well cooked and presented in true Spur Style. A most enjoyable evening!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gill_lyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laraspirit, Public Relations Manager at Seven Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Family treats are always the best and we are glad that it was with us! See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Excellent competent service. Correct as ordered fast food supply. Understandable staff, facilities clean and pleasant. Food well prepared, reasonable quantities, good quality.

Special likes:

1. No deafening background music and general noise.
2. Efficient greet and meet.
3. Attentive, but not intrusive staff.

Special dislikes:

1. That happy birthday thing (song - noise) tone it down please!
2. no warning that the parking is full and unusable until you get into it, sign at entrance would solve this.

Compared to other Spurs (and I have been to most of them).

As compared to other Spurs in Cape Town on a scale of 1 to 10 +8
As compared to other Spurs in JHB / Pretoria +10

Thank you for a pleasant evening dinning experience and one which I would be willing to repeat.

Malcolm L

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Spur-visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laraspirit, Public Relations Manager at Seven Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you Malcolm for your honest feedback. We are glad that you will be returning to us again for another meal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We are always treated so well at the Seven Spur and are so grateful for all the incredible service, effort and care that is poured in to our experience! We love going back for more of the fun Spur feeling and look forward to our next visit. Definitely one of the best Spurs!! Thank you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TF0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laraspirit, Public Relations Manager at Seven Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you so much for such fantastic feedback. We look forward to giving you the same service upon your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Seven Spur has always had a reputation as a bastion of great food and I have just had one of the BEST meals at Seven Spur Sea Point. I have been dining in Cape Town's best-kept secret for many years now, and I must say it's quite an experience. This food revolution is happening in the Sea Point area. For those of you searching for a relaxed culinary experience with friends or family look no further than Seven Spur in Sea Point. I even noticed a big screen TV for those sports enthusiasts and my husband commented that having an ice cold beer and a plate of nachos would be a wonderful way of spending an afternoon relaxing and watching sport.
The restaurant is nestled in the Protea Hotel in Arthur's Road, in the city’s trendy Sea Point area.
The simple American Indian decor allows the simplistic beauty of the food to really shine, though beauty isn’t the only thing that brought us to Seven Spur, the great food was. The restaurant buzzed with excited energy and was comfortably full with seemingly satisfied patrons.
We started with Seven Spur's famous garden salad which is essentially a salad of the freshest, crunchiest vegetables and garden greens. My husband and I then shared a portion of the most moreish buffalo wings in an exquisite barbeque sauce.
For the main course, I decided to go with Seven Spur's chargrilled 300g rump done to perfection with a baked potatoe and a side order of crunchy, delicious onion rings and my husband had the tastiest, most succulent double beef burger with a side order of vegetables which consisted of sweet, freshly cooked pumpkin and a creamed spinach combo. Both dishes were executed perfectly, and the fresh ingredients and mouth watering taste of both dishes made it a feast for the eyes as well as the stomach. The servings were big and definately great value for money, especially for a family eating out. We ended our dinner with a soft serve ice cream that was a delight to the tongue and a wonderful palate cleanser. Whilst we were eating, a little boy was celebrating his birthday and the Seven Spur staff all gathered around him with an ice cream and sparklers and sang a delightful happy birthday to him. What a wonderful celebration!
The staff were all friendly, exceptionally helpful and the service was attentive and wonderful without being intrusive.
Though I would love to be selfish and keep Seven Spur all to myself, the restaurant is too good not to share. Seven Spur is definately one of the hottest restaurants in Cape Town. Do yourself and your family a favour and go try it - you will not be sorry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laraspirit, Owner at Seven Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Wow what a fantastic review. We really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again in the store!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seven Spur Steak Ranch also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Seven Spur Steak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing