We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AfricanHome Guesthouse
Ranked #15 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We were very happy with our choice of African Home. It is a fairly new guesthouse in a quiet street in Sea Point, a short walk from the beach front. The historic house is very nicely decorated, clean and run by two German gentlemen who are friendly and helpful and make every effort to ensure their guests feel comfortable and safe. The staff is also very nice and obliging.
We had a spacious and comfortable room downstairs which leads onto a pretty courtyard. The only drawback is that the courtyard is shared by the neighbouring room, so we felt a slight lack of privacy. The two upstairs rooms with balconies overlooking the pool are smaller than the one we had but are also very nice. The swimming pool area is a great place to relax.
We enjoyed our breakfasts either outdoors in the courtyard or indoors at a shared table with other guests.
A very enjoyable stay – highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lops51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

Perhaps it is the wonderful house with its beautiful rooms, terraces and its cozy atmosphere, perhaps the kindness of the staff, always endeavouring to leave nothing to be desired, but probably, above all, it is the amazing hospitality and helpfulness of the two charming owners that makes the African Home to a place you never want to leave. It has been our first stay at this maginficent place, but for sure, will not be the last one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My sister and I stayed here for 5 nights in January and we had a wonderful experience. The hosts took excellent care of us and had great recommendations about restaurants and activities. Our room was beautiful and the location of the guesthouse was perfect, central but peaceful, an easy walk to restaurants or the beach. I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirby_may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

AfricanHome was recommended to us by a trusted friend, so in addition to looking forward to escaping the winter for a few days, we could not wait to see the much-talked-about place !

Turns out that Ralf and Stephan have done an amazing job in creating a “home away from home” not only by re-furbishing and decorating the property, using a great mix of modern and local furniture and appliances, but simply by being great hosts.
For the “lovers of facts”: The whole place it spotlessly clean, offers serious laid-back-ness by the pool, privacy on the terrace or in the chill-out-area, and comes with an amazingly warm and welcoming atmosphere. There was an extensive choice with regards to the breakfast buffet, including different types of coffee, fresh juice, fresh fruit / vegetables, rolls, bread, sausage, cheese, sweet and salty spreads, cereals, hors d’oeuvres - and warm breakfast was cooked according to one’s taste. Snacks and drinks are even available round the clock. The guesthouse is conveniently located in Sea Point, from where you can reach the Waterfront and brilliant restaurants (you gotta test Hussar Grill and La Bohème) in easy walking distance. A stop for the hop-on-hop-off bus tour is just a few minutes walk. Alternatively a cab ride to nearly everywhere in the city is around 3-5€.

What really made the difference to other places we have stayed during our trip, is, that both of the owners kept going the extra-mile to make sure, we felt comfortable. It’s the warm welcome upon arrival as well as the likes of flowers on the plates during breakfast, chocolates on the pillow in the evening, their local knowledge and recommendations re. "what-to-see-what-to-do-and-how-to-get-there" and the friendliness of the staff at all times that really need to be pointed out.

We had a brilliant time and would definitely stay there again once we are back in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerstin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at AfricanHome for 7 days in February and had a wonderful stay. Ralf & Stefan were fantastic hosts and helped us no end with recommendations, contacts and how to get the best out of our stay. The accommodation itself is finished to a very high standard and everything is brand new and immaculate. Breakfast was excellent and Ralf's personal delivery of HP Sauce to go with bacon and eggs every morning was the perfect finishing touch for an English visitor! There is secure car parking which is very useful, although the car park is fairly tight until you get used to it!

I would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: We had one of the new rooms upstairs, which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I spent 10 days here as a solo traveller. The hosts Ralf & Stefan were very friendly and welcoming & all the staff very polite & friendly.
The property is beautifully restored with a chic contemporary feel. The rooms are quiet, spacious and very comfortable. Every attention to detail is thought about & it quickly felt like a home from home.
I have stayed in several guest houses in Cape Town over the years. African Home Guest House is by far my favourite. It has the service of a luxury hotel without the formality.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jontymot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, offering to carry our bags from the car to booking a restaurant or giving advice on where to eat and drink.
Our room was spotlessly clean with wonderful views over Seapoint. The bed was very comfortable with quality linen.
The pool area is a real delight, with areas of both shade and sun.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,869 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
648 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
273 reviews
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#16 of 156 in Cape Town Central
168 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#12 of 156 in Cape Town Central
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AfricanHome Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AfricanHome Guesthouse

Address: 17 Bickley Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £80 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AfricanHome Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1790 as the hunting lodge of Lord Nelson, the AfricanHome guesthouse is one of the oldest buildings in this suburb of Cape Town, situated only 2 blocks away from the Atlantic Seabord. It is a very peaceful oasis in the middle of this buzzling city, in walking distance to many restaurants and to the Waterfront, just 3 km away from Clifton Beaches and famous Long Street. German owners who offer a fabulous breakfast buffet. Enjoy a relaxing day at the sparkling salt water pool being spoilt from our service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your AfricanHome Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AfricanHome Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing