We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kindness personified”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AfricanHome Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kindness personified”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed her for a night after a hectic visit to a game reserve and elephant back safari near Port Elizabeth and many flights. We were three generations - Granny, Mother and two daughters in their 20s - and were all weary when we arrived. Ralf and Stefan were so welcoming and helpful. Even though they had warned we wouldn't be able to get into our rooms until long after our arrival because we got to the house early in the morning, and they were completely full over the Christmas period, they had already got one room ready and swiftly had the others cleaned for us. They carried all our luggage up several stairs and allowed us to stay at the house and use the pool for the whole of the next day until we had to go to the airport for our evening flight. I messed up and didn't organise a taxi to take us to a restaurant a good half hour away and Ralf explained we wouldn't get there in time because taxis over the Christmas holiday would take at least an hour to come. Instead he drove us all the way there - though there was terrible traffic and it meant he spent hours of his Sunday evening getting back home. He was so gracious and kind about this. The next day when we were a little frayed he poured us all some sparkling wine. The house is beautiful, built for Lord nelson, and we had glorious balconies overlooking the pool. It is all spotless. The staff were charming and friendly and it is a lovely, safe area. It was great to be by the sea. I thoroughly recommend this place and these wonderful hosts who really care about their guests.

Room Tip: There isn't a fitness centre or spa but couldn't do a N/A! All rooms seemed lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherPimlico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    10
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
194
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2013

A beautiful place to relax. Great location , safe to walk at night to nearby restaurants. Fantastic hosts that go that extra mile to make your stay a wonderful experience.Would highly recommend, if you are going to Cape Town book it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at African Guest House from 1 through 4 December 2013 (i.e. three nights). Stephan & Ralf were the perfect hosts, not only being attentive and very helpful during our stay (restaurant recommendations etc.), but also by providing information before our arrival (which was extremely helpful in the planning of our holidays). The information we got (and requested) was extraordinarily detailed.

The Guesthouse is beautifully set and decorated, always keeping the details in mind. The rooms were spotless, all the staff very nice. We especially appreciated the small bottle of water awaiting us when going to bed. But this is just an example to illustrate of how well thought through everything is.

Breakfast was very rich and served between 8 and 11 (that being the longest period we have seen in three weeks SA guesthouse stays). Further, breakfast was different from day to day; the hosts really seem to have put their some of their own travel experience into their "product".

The location of the guesthouse is excellent, we especially enjoyed that there was a stop for the (btw really. Ice) hop on, hop off bus tour in 5min walking distance.

We would always stay with Stephan & Ralf again and hope that they continue to take great care of this little oasis they have built in Sea Point.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bierir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

After a volunteer experience in Cape Town I treated myself with a stay in this wonderful Hotel! Apart from being a beautiful location with a mediterranean touch, you are welcomed in a very friendly way and the whole staff continue to spoil you throughout your stay!
The rooms a wonderful and full of small accessoires that welcome you on your first arrival - but I don' t want to spoil the surprise!!
Very quiet, although located in beautiful Seapoint and still near to the centre of Cape Town.
Breakfast is delicious - not only for a german palate!

This place can be reccomended entirely - try it yourself!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Since it was such a personable experience, best to start off with thanks to Ralf and Stefan for a fantastic stay. We really enjoyed our time this guest house which felt like staying with friends and shame it was only for one night.

The guesthouse is a fantastic property which is a converted historic home with very modern amenities. This included a beautiful pool, patio area and very nicely decorated rooms. It was a shame it was too rainy to use the outdoor area but it would be great in beautiful weather.

Rooms had nice furnishings and felt light, airy and had a great view of the pool and the yard. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were lovely. Parking was free and easiest to grab cabs to and from different points of interest and leave the car behind when staying in the city.

I definitely recommend this property and it was a terrific stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusyFlyingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The AfricanHome was the final of our South African tour, the perfect location for exploring Capetown and surroundings. The rooms have a cool unique style and, though the AfricanHome is in the centre of Seapoint its a very quiet place which allows also some time to relax. The german owners Ralf and Stefan helped a lot planning our stay and served an excellent breakfast sometimes even with bavarian influence. And, there are some nice restauraunts in walking distance to the AfricanHome too (on Main Rd).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chr_and_Pet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Combine German Engineering, a passion for perfection, and Cape Town style—and you have African Home.

Located on a hill, in quiet residential neighborhood in SeaPoint. We hike a lot, so for us it’s an easy walk to: a variety of restaurants; cafes; small superette-type shops; the bus-stop for the invaluable hop-on/hop-off CitySightseeing Cape Town Tour Bus; and the paved walking/jogging path that hugs the Atlantic shoreline. This world-class guest house, is a great base for independent exploration of Cape Town, with or without a car.

Light, airy rooms are literally spotless. Beds & bedding are remarkably comfortable. So comfortable, in fact, that we did not miss our bed at home, at all. Showers are hot & have great water pressure.

Lots of extras: night security, friendly and very accommodating support staff, turn-down service, slippers, bathrobes, room safes, candle & torch lit courtyard at night, prompt laundry service for a small fee (no need to over-pack), light lunches and beverage service available for a very reasonable fee, sparkling swimming pool, and seamless worry-free arrangement of airport transfer on day of arrival/departure.

Generous and kind—Ralf, Stephan, and their entire support staff, uphold high standards. They live with integrity—quietly operating in many ways that make this a good choice for responsible/green travel. This was such a refreshing break from the plastic spoons, paper cups and styrofoam plates that have sadly become the norm in American culture.

Yes, we can confirm all the fabulous reviews that rave about their Signature Breakfast—But—African Home is much more than that!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike-and-Lis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munichmuc, Manager at AfricanHome Guesthouse, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Lisa and Mike-
it was a pleasure having you as our guests here and we appreciate your perception of us trying to be as "perfect" as we can with our passion to spoil our guests and a slight idea of what German Engineering is able to do. Would love to do that any time again for you - and if it is just for preparing some poached eggs :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#28 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,044 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
504 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AfricanHome Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AfricanHome Guesthouse

Property: AfricanHome Guesthouse
Address: 17 Bickley Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AfricanHome Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1790 as the hunting lodge of Lord Nelson, the AfricanHome guesthouse is one of the oldest buildings in this suburb of Cape Town, situated only 2 blocks away from the Atlantic Seabord. It is a very peaceful oasis in the middle of this buzzling city, in walking distance to many restaurants and to the Waterfront, just 3 km away from Clifton Beaches and famous Long Street. German owners who offer a fabulous breakfast buffet. Enjoy a relaxing day at the sparkling salt water pool being spoilt from our service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your AfricanHome Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AfricanHome Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing