We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capetown Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AfricanHome Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
210 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Capetown Comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

The house is located in a quiet residential neighbourhood, a short walk from the waterfront and the promenade. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Breakfasts are excellent, best omelet I have had! There are a few secure parking spots. Hosts are very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emkay0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    10
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
191
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I have been there for the second time and many more to be followed !! Great people, great place , quite and remote but still in the middle of all attractions and easy to reach central CT and beaches !! All you wish for is just there !!

Room Tip: There is 2 rooms with balcony - sure they have got the view - but all are nice !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cape1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
713 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Warm, Welcoming, Unparalleled Hospitality & Guest Home. Ralf and Stephan do an amazing job to welcome you, assist you with any and everything, quite frankly nothing is out of reach for these incredible individuals. They assisted us with our airport pick up, helped us find our way around Cape Town, recommended the BEST restaurants, accommodated a gluten free diet, really they are the creme de la creme professionals. We were not certain about the location when choosing a B&B as away from the city proper yet quickly realized it is a great location, perfectly situated in Sea Point, nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood very close to the Hop On Hop Off bus stop which literally takes you anywhere in Cape Town in minutes, near by wonderful restaurants, the beach, walking paths, really a wonderful home base for any and everything around the Cape. The rooms are clean, comfortable, bedding luxurious, the breakfast is absolutely amazing, the lattes delicious. The salt water pool is meticulously maintained as are the gardens in the complex. We had lunch one day when relaxing at the pool and OMG it was not only delicious but the presentation was fantastic....just a testament to no detail is overlooked. They are consummate professionals that truly do indulge you and ensure you are taken care with a thoughtful kind manner. Thank you both for making our holiday in Cape Town so brilliant, you truly are incredible, we do so appreciate and value your time and efforts on our behalf....thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mi-Dan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Arriving late from the airport we still received a friendly welcome from Ralf and Stefan into their lovely African home. The house is very comfortable and has a beautiful pool. The excellent breakfast was thoughtfully prepared with and included many homemade foods. Service was efficient and friendly too. We had a car but we also took a short walk in the evening to the nearby main road with many restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank StevieGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rixensart, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We enjoyed Stalingrad there for 3 days, a very warm welcoming, simple but nice room. Everything is modern and lovely, swimming pool is stunning and breakfast excellent, service is perfect, staff very friendly. Very convenient place in town with a car and we had good dinner on the main road very close (200m). Too bad they dońt organise dîners sometime..;)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is a guesthouse of my dreams. Everything is professionally done here. I Tasted the well prepared Cape Town cuisine. Me and my wife really enjoyed ourselves. I felt like a millionaire sitting by the swimming pool!

Room Tip: Everything is 100 percent at AfricanHome Guesthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgemashiane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed her for a night after a hectic visit to a game reserve and elephant back safari near Port Elizabeth and many flights. We were three generations - Granny, Mother and two daughters in their 20s - and were all weary when we arrived. Ralf and Stefan were so welcoming and helpful. Even though they had warned we wouldn't be able to get into our rooms until long after our arrival because we got to the house early in the morning, and they were completely full over the Christmas period, they had already got one room ready and swiftly had the others cleaned for us. They carried all our luggage up several stairs and allowed us to stay at the house and use the pool for the whole of the next day until we had to go to the airport for our evening flight. I messed up and didn't organise a taxi to take us to a restaurant a good half hour away and Ralf explained we wouldn't get there in time because taxis over the Christmas holiday would take at least an hour to come. Instead he drove us all the way there - though there was terrible traffic and it meant he spent hours of his Sunday evening getting back home. He was so gracious and kind about this. The next day when we were a little frayed he poured us all some sparkling wine. The house is beautiful, built for Lord nelson, and we had glorious balconies overlooking the pool. It is all spotless. The staff were charming and friendly and it is a lovely, safe area. It was great to be by the sea. I thoroughly recommend this place and these wonderful hosts who really care about their guests.

Room Tip: There isn't a fitness centre or spa but couldn't do a N/A! All rooms seemed lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherPimlico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
#8 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#14 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apar...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.3 mi away
Parker Cottage
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AfricanHome Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AfricanHome Guesthouse

Property: AfricanHome Guesthouse
Address: 17 Bickley Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AfricanHome Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1790 as the hunting lodge of Lord Nelson, the AfricanHome guesthouse is one of the oldest buildings in this suburb of Cape Town, situated only 2 blocks away from the Atlantic Seabord. It is a very peaceful oasis in the middle of this buzzling city, in walking distance to many restaurants and to the Waterfront, just 2 km away from Clifton Beaches and famous Long Street. New German owners who offer a fabulous breakfast buffet. Enjoy a relaxing day at the huge sparkling salt water pool being spoilt from our service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your AfricanHome Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AfricanHome Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing