We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Backpackers in Green Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Like any great hostel should be, it feels like a home that you are lucky enough to be a part of for a few days or weeks. The staff are very warm and fun, the breakfast spread is delicious, and the location is choice. Not a huge party spot but not at all boring either. Just ask the staff and they will give you great advice on how best to take advantage of one of the greatest cities in the world.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the "beach room" -- awesome big shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

What's made the hostel special is Amy herself and her band of awesomely friendly helpful elves - Jess and Ivor, Tulula, and Amy's sweet mom, Linda! You would think they've been doing this for years but the place has really only been up and running as it is, for a year. even before my friend and I arrived, they've been diligently replying my millions of queries. They're always interested in how your day went or to just sit down and chit chat. They're filled to the brim with cape town knowledge so you can bet they'll help you out in having an amazing time in their city.

It's such a great, clean hostel with amazing tv room/lounge, lib, dorm rooms and pool outback. I especially love the kitchen and dining area - so ideal for making new friends! Location is about 10min walk from waterfront, 35min to Long Street/City Centre.

I miss the place already! Thanks for having us guys!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FaridahSaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful visit to The B.I.G. last month. The redecoration really elevates this above the caliber of a hostel and makes it feel like a luxury hotel. The only thing that keeps it in the backpacker category is the incredibly friendly staff, the relaxed atmosphere and the low price (it was an absolutely bargain). I'll be staying there again the next time I am in Cape Town!

Room Tip: We were a group of three (always an awkward travel size) but they had a room perfect for us with thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbrege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A really cute place to stay, such comfy beds and the staff were really helpful. I'd recommend it to anyone!
So good that we missed our flight because we thought it was a day later than it actually was. Subconsciously must have wanted to stay longer!

THANKS B.I.G
Grace and Laura

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grace c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Everything about this hostel is absolutely wonderful. The hotel quality facilities are gorgeous and well kept. The staff are incredibly friendly and generous with their time - they made every element of my trip effortless. During my stay several events were organized at the hostel including a pizza night and a concert. The staff truly goes above and beyond. I don't have a single complaint about the BIG - I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Cape Town!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This was by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in many. I was here for a month and don't have a single complaint. The facilities are pristine, always clean, and really felt like home. Beautiful decor and comfortable beds. While the facilities themselves were amazing, the people were even more so. I stayed here for over a month and everyone who works at the B.I.G were more than friends by the end of the stay. They would join us for breakfast, planned evening events for the hostel, and of course recommended the best things to do in Cape Town whether it was midday on a weekday or late night on a weekend. Without a doubt, I wouldn't stay anywhere else besides the B.I.G if I am so lucky to be back in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

It is a great place to stay, very friendly and clean! Just loved it... Stayed only for 4 days and really enjoyed it. Perfect! Thanks everyone !
The only thing to complain is that the room is sooooo bright in the morning, the urtains should be darker.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TagHMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,856 reviews
0.4 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 128 in Cape Town Central
685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Never at Home Cape Town
Never at Home Cape Town
#5 of 128 in Cape Town Central
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Backpackers in Green Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Backpackers in Green Point

Address: 18 Thornhill Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £20 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Backpackers in Green Point 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B.I.G is a newly renovated boutique backpackers perfectly situated in the centre of Cape Town. It's walking distance from the V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Stadium, transport systems, gym facilities, restaurants and coffee shops. It's a short drive to Clifton/Camps Bay beaches as well as the Cape Town CBD. Most of Cape Towns greatest attractions are within close proximity: Table Mountain, Ferry to Robin Island, the aquarium, Sea Point Promenade, Lions Head and Signal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Backpackers in Green Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Backpackers In Green Point Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing