We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience ”
Review of Mother City Hikers

Mother City Hikers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer full or half day hiking trips on Table Mountain which was just named 'One of the New Seven Wonders of Nature'. We tailor make our routes to suit each client's ability. Whether you are looking for adventure or just a walk away from it all we will be happy to guide you and get you back in nature.
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

Lauren was an amazing guide, knowledgeable about the flora and fauna, cultural history and showed us many hidden routes to take good pictures! Glad to have her as our guide, she keeps track of the pace and made sure we were always okay. Lauren is someone who truly loves what she does!

Thank Jotham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"india venster"
in 24 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 22 reviews
"table mountain"
in 134 reviews
"detailed email"
in 4 reviews
"guide matt"
in 4 reviews
"great hike"
in 16 reviews
"diving board"
in 3 reviews
"walking poles"
in 3 reviews
"hour hike"
in 11 reviews
"great guide"
in 17 reviews
"expert guidance"
in 4 reviews
"early morning hike"
in 3 reviews
"experienced guide"
in 7 reviews
"lion's head"
in 14 reviews
"kasteelspoort route"
in 4 reviews
"hiking tour"
in 3 reviews
"taking the cable car"
in 6 reviews
Filter

35 - 39 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2017

We got a botanical,geological, and historical review of the Cape Town area while we were hiking with Lauren.She is so enthusiastic about her job and is an excellent guide;even offering to take pictures for us!You will not be disappointed if you go hiking with Lauren Medcalf!!!

Thank nancyandpaul2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mothercityhiker, Owner at Mother City Hikers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you. It was a pleasure to guide you. Thank you for taking the time to write and for your kind words...you made my day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

Our trip to South Africa exceeded our exceptions & this India Venster hike was a big part of it. Lauren is a fantastic guide! She even snuck some cupcakes along to surprise us for our anniversary. Highly recommended!!

1  Thank york1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mothercityhiker, Owner at Mother City Hikers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you! So glad we were part of making your South Africa trip extra special. It was a pleasure to meet and guide you both. What a great day we had! Thank you for sharing your experience. I hope to meet you again one day! All the best for another 20 years of marriage :) Keep well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

We loved this hiking tour. It was a 4 hour hiking trail to the top of the table mountain. Lauren, our guide, was amazing. She took enough time to explain a lot about the history and nature of this mountain during the trail. Also she had a lot of recommandations for in and outside cape town. Never met a guide so happy and joyfully doing her job, or should I say her hobby;). It was the best start of our holiday we could ever imagine. Thank you Lauren!

Thank Koen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mothercityhiker, Owner at Mother City Hikers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hey! You are so kind, thank you. I really appreciate your kind words. Thank you for waking up at the crack of dawn so our experience was even better-as you know it was hot by 8am already :) I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the hike and all the info along the way too. Please enjoy the rest of your time in South Africa and come back again one day to see us! All the very best to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Me and my friend went for a hike with Mother City Hikers up the India Venster trail on Table Mountain the other week and had the best experience. Our guide Matt was lovely and we would warmly recommend hiking with MCH!

Thank MathildeJ127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mothercityhiker, Owner at Mother City Hikers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thank you! I'm happy you found India Venster and Matt wonderful. It was our pleasure to guide you and I hope you'll be back again soon. Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience, it's much appreciated. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mother City Hikers also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Mother City Hikers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing