We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 129 on Kloof Nek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
129 on Kloof Nek
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed at the 129 on Kloof Nek for 3 nights. Everything is perfect! The view on the table mountain is breathtaking and the jacuzzi at night is an amazing experience. The apartment is modern, clean and everything you may need is there. The hosts are the most friendly and smiling people ever. Thank you very much!

Room Tip: Next time we'll try the penthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gambrills, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We travelled to Cape Town for 4 night stays on March 11 and we choose Kloof Nek because of the room with the view of Table Mountain. We expected this otw to the apartment. What we did not expected is the hospitality and the extra mileage that the owner provided to the 3 of us when we arrived there. I don't remember how many "wow" I said during the meeting with the Arndt and Azmus. They both are so nice, welcoming, and help us browsing some ideas going to tourist attraction and Restaurants. This is just the beginning..... At night mr.Azmus stopped by and explain to us about local activities , drew maps and explain about everything around the city. The next day, we were surprised that they provided with in house laundry, including ironed our shirts/pants (they have staff comes every morning to clean and do the laundry on site). At night, when we wanted to order taxi, they even called a taxi for us. Security is absolutely being taken care here since we could even monitor surrounding area we live thru cctv.
For 200-300USD/day and you live like in your own house with complete amenities like oven, bar, drier, washer (even you don't have to do it yourself), dining table, study/work room with wifi, 2 floors , and can accommodate for 4-5 people....nothing can beat this "mansion".
Location wise , Its only 5-7 minute walk from the main and famous dining area ( Thai Food, Japanese food, Italian Food, etc).
I even mentioned to my colleague that staying at this apartment itself for us is another highlight/main attraction during our trip to Africa. Strongly recommended and you could even book for 10-12 people at once - they can connect 3 floors appartments all together. You wont be disappointed at all, if you choose this apartment during your stay at Cape Town compare to staying for 400USD/night at Big Chain Hotel.

Thank you so much mr and mrs Azmus and Arndt. We are still remembering very well all of your hospitality. Hope to see you soon next year!!!

Room Tip: upper level - and you could see the whole panoramic view of Table Mountain - right in front of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurniawan23059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

As advertised, this is definitely a luxury apartment. Our apartment was huge and with every amenity we could have wanted. We really appreciated having the washer *and* dryer as well! The hosts were very helpful and accommodating. They let us store our luggage when we arrived too early for check in and also woke up at 5am to let us check out early. The location was so close to the cable car for Table Mountain as well, so trips there were easy!

As other people mentioned, the garage to park in is on a busy street and it can be hard to get in and out. You are parking in a 4-car garage. Our apartment was on the first floor, so there are no views to speak of, as we had to walk down a couple stories to get to our apartment.

It was a bit pricey for our tastes, but we could definitely see why it cost what it did. If you are looking for a luxury apartment with air conditioning, multiple bedrooms and full facilities, this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gumchain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The apartment is beautiful, it's air conditioned, has a pool, good lazing around facilities including a barbecue/braai. It's well appointed and serviced. The owners are attentive, friendly and very helpful. The staff are really good, and they blend in, so they're not in the way if you spend the day at the apartment. It's really handy for the city and the waterfront, literally, out of the apartment, turn right, just down the road. If you turn left and go over the hill you get to Camps Bay, Clifton and all the lather beaches. I would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffurson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We spent two weeks at 129 on Kloof Nek Road in Higgovale Cape Town over December and it was tremendous. Accomodation, furnishing, pool, cleanliness and great design all come to mind and to top it off, it is located superbly against the upper slopes of table mountain, great restaurants nearby with the city just down the road and within striking distance of the beaches of Camps Bay and Clifton; not to mention the V&A Waterfront, which was not even a 10 minute drive away. The advantage here is you could spend much of the day at home and not have to go anywhere, it's a great place to be; late afternoon drinks were a treat!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

When I first set eyes on this apartment I had a vague idea I was in for a lovely stay, but when I got to the apartment I was blown away by the attention to detail and immaculate attention given to just about everything. The location is central and really close to table mountain, camps bay, signal hill and Cape Town CBD down the road. Quite a nice ambience to the place. Only negative which I had was I booked it too short will definitely stay longer next time, highly recommended. :) The host quite energetic and welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muhammed777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We spent two nights here for my daughters 20th Birthday. I travel extensively on business in South Africa and every now and again am stunned by an excellent place and this is one of them. The apartments are literally down the hill from the Cable Car station for Table Mountain. The quality of the apartments is to a standard I have rarely seen.. They are simply beautiful. Everything you would have in your own home is there in the kitchen right down to salt, pepper, tea, coffee, cooking oil, washing up liquid. In my experience you normally have to buy most of this and if its a short visit its a pain. There are stunning views from the upper apartments. The owners have gone out of their way to make your visit a memorable experience. They even gave my daughter a lift into town when she didn't have a car. It's quite expensive but the old saying you get what you pay for rings true here. I would recommend the place to anyone.

Room Tip: We had the ground floor which gives you the advantage of the pool and decking. If you want the Jacuz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Kensington Place
Kensington Place
#21 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 129 on Kloof Nek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 129 on Kloof Nek

Property: 129 on Kloof Nek
Address: 129 Kloof Nek Road | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — 129 on Kloof Nek 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
29 on Kloof Nek is the perfect abode for the discerning traveller.The residence is situated in one of the best suburbs of Cape Town, directly at the foot of Table Mountain with breathtaking views over the city, the harbour and the Atlantic Ocean.This elegant, superior guest house, equipped with most luxurious and modern interiors as well as high-standard mod-cons satisfies the highest standards and demands of holidaymakers and business people alike. It is thus the perfect address for those in search of the extraordinary.Its central location between white beaches and the city is ideal for beach fans, sun worshippers, for golfers, mountain climbers and those who enjoy city life, good food and shopping. Restaurants, the V&A Waterfront, a shoppers' paradise, and the harbour can be reached in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 129 on Kloof Nek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
129 On Kloof Nek Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing