We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
Ranked #41 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad stay”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband booked us into the Southern Sun De Waal after reading reviews on this page, however I feel that the hotel doesn't run according to 3* standard, in fact I would rate this hotel in South African terms 1*. We found 2 lizzrds in our room on arrival, the shower curtain stunk damp and the bathroom was cramped, the towels were torn, carpets dirty and he room was dark and dingy. The staff were very friendly and that's about it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina_J81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    180
    65
    11
    8
See reviews for
131
111
20
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Lovely view of the mountain and easy access with the car. Taxi into town is under 60 Rand. Rooms are clean, tidy and have good selection of cable tv channels. Breakfast had a reasonable selection of cooked, pasteries and fruit. Internet was exceptionally terrible for all 3 days.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boysalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2012

we had booked 4 rooms,on arrival we were greeted with a welcome drink,then later the porter
after moved our baggage(9 bags) to the respective rooms within few minutes and started demanding 300rands for the same.later on he negotiated for 150 rands.
coffee machines were missing for our room no 229
even after repeated request we did not get for 3 days we had to manage from other rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reddyBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Checked in on the afternoon of 15 February 2012 at about 18:00. Very good, friendly welcome that made me feel, well, welcome. Room was not ready as yet but lady was very apologetic, made me comfortable on the balcony with a welcome drink to compensate. Much appreciated and was more than necessary for a minor inconvenience. Waited not more than 10 minutes and was shown to my room. Standard room was a very comfortable size with a very comfortable queen size bed. Very clean and perfect for a business stay. Asked for iron and board to prepare for the next day and was delivered within 5 minutes. Very efficient from housekeeping. Good nights sleep and was well rested the next morning. Excellent breakfast which I thoroughly enjoyed and left well prepared to deliver an important presentation. Only down side is TV is a tiny 54cm one way off centre from the bed. Not very comfortable viewing but did not watch much TV nor intended to. Check out just as friendly and professional as check-in and left feeling the hotel had delivered all it should have and more. THANK YOU. Will recommend for business travel.

Room Tip: Request a mountain view room. Sea facing rooms have obstructed view. At least 319 where I stayed did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Was there last week, the woom size was great, quiet. Great breakfast. Maybe they should consider having flat screen tV's instead of those old TV. But I loved the hotel especially if you want to relax and unwind...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This is a very reasonably priced hotel located right in Gardens, central Cape Town, making it an ideal choice for a business stay, although I've used it as a holiday hotel on a few occasions as well.
The staff must be commended on the excellent service I've received at the hotel on virtually all my stays there (and I've stayed there around half a dozen times already).
Special mention must be made of the fact that they cater for me for veg breakfast, all I have to do is notify them when checking to let the chef know that I'm vegetarian (and the breakfast buffet is free).
I've also ordered from their room service menu and food received is always of a good quality and quite tasty.
Rooms have always been neat and clean, and staff are always helpful with any queries.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the mountain have a stunning view, but the wind at nights is louder on that side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kashmiri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Bookings made hassle free, extremely friendly and competent staff. The rooms are neat and clean and the size of the room is more than adequate. Love the free coffee, cookies and ice tea that I found in my room! DSTV in room with good channel selection on offer. The restaurant food and bar are fabulous, also a swimming pool outside. The hotel is close to a shopping mall and Chef Pons restaurant around the corner (you must have the Thai red-chicken). Very hospitable!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heinrich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Town Hollow
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
227 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#35 of 109 in Cape Town Central
208 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#49 of 109 in Cape Town Central
816 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
791 reviews
Cape Milner
#28 of 109 in Cape Town Central
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunSquare Cape Town Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunSquare Cape Town Gardens

Property: SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
Address: 10 Mill Street Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Garden Court de Waal)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#52 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SunSquare Cape Town Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a square on the block in the Mother City. SunSquare Cape Town Gardens is located in the vibrant and cosmopolitan suburb of The Gardens, on the edge of the Cape Town City Bowl. This trendy hotel offers guests more of what they want, making their hotel experience a memorable one. SunSquare Cape Town Gardens is close to the CBD as well as the Cape Town International Convention Centre, whilst the Cape Town International Airport is only a short 20-minute drive from the hotel. For leisure travellers, the hotel is beautifully positioned at the base of Table Mountain - one of the new 'Seven Wonders of Nature' - and is close to Long Street, which has an array of day and night time activities with its vast selection of chic restaurants and boutique shops. The hotel is also located within close proximity to main attractions in the area, such as the V&A Waterfront and the gorgeous beaches of Camps Bay and Bloubergstrand. About the hotel SunSquare Cape Town Gardens combines affordability and comfort with modern accommodation for individuals who know exactly what they want. The spacious lobby extends into a bar area, providing a relaxing place for guests to socialise and enjoy themselves - chatting, working or listening to music. The lounge area leads off from the lobby and is yet another comfortable space where guests can read the newspaper, conduct business meetings, or just sit back and relax. Guests can also unwind and have a drink by the terrace, which looks over a lovely pool deck and has magnificent views of the city. For those guests who want to stay fit and healthy while staying at the hotel, the well-equipped gym comes in handy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your SunSquare Cape Town Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court De Waal Hotel Cape Town Central
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing