We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FRIENDLY HOTEL” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SunSquare Cape Town Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
Ranked #39 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
412 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“FRIENDLY HOTEL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

We have stayed at Garden Court, De Waal many times over the past seven or eight years and have always found it to be a friendly place. The rooms are comfortable and breakfast is good, with a reasonable variety of choice. The location is good for tourist attractions, being a ten minute taxi ride from the Waterfront and even closer to the mountain cable car. We have always enjoyed our stays at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGEDNOMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deidre S, Manager at SunSquare Cape Town Gardens, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review related to your stay at our hotel

We have noted your comments about the bathroom and I can assure you that in April we will be starting with a bathroom refurbishment so we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Deidre Strydom
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    164
    60
    11
    7
See reviews for
123
103
17
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

Be assured the staff at Garden Court De Waal has a memory like an elephant, step into that hotel and they will remember you even if you visit them anually like I do.
The Manager will greet you like a father greets all his kids in the morning.
The Porter will greet you and remember each and every luggage so that you dont forget any.
The kitchen staff will feed you so much you would'nt want to move from the hotel, if you bored with the menu they will create something for you all you need to do is ask the chef...
When you leave to return home YOU WILL feel lik eyou leaving a family home, as they will greet you out as if its a family member leaving the nest.
If you have kids then dont even pre book to take them on tours because the hotel holiday program is so packed with fun, my husband and I felt like singletons as our kids refused to leave the hotel.
This is a hotel I have been staying at for the past 6 years, Every year my daughter celebrates her birthday there, its our annual holiday destination. The best part , you dont need to hire a car as the Myciti bus stops infront of the hotel and costs R5.50 to the waterfront and R57 to the airport from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanaaz215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klerksdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

When visiting Cape Town, you want to be in the best location without being in the hub of things. This hotel is midway up the mountain and is in walking distance from almost everything, that is if you are a tourist and you like walking. It will give you the sense you are in a little Barcelona, and as you explore all the History on your walk, or bus ride down, the smells, the sounds and the wonderful atmosphere will surely make you feel wonderfully welcome in Cape Town. Dont miss a beat.

Room Tip: Mountain facing room, will give you the view of the mountain and are quieter, City facing room will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel - using a room booked by our son using his loyalty points from the Southern Sun chain.

This is a mid-price hotel and we found it very friendly and comfortable - the reception staff being exceptionally helpful in dealing with travel/car arrangements etc.

We only stopped for one night because we were on our way between the train journey from Johannesburg on to Hermanus. If we'd been exploring Cape Town it would have been a good location and I think its right by the hop-on bus service that we found convenient on our last visit.

The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and unaffected by traffic noise etc. Whilst the bathroom was fine, it was a little outdated with the shower being over the bath with one of those shower curtains that were never really satisfactory. But I'm told that the bathrooms are about to be renovated - and anyway the shower was only a minor negative.

We'd certainly stay there again if in Cape Town.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinobj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Customer service at the hotel is excellent. Front desk, dining room and cleaning staff are all extremely helpful and very accommodating of requests.
The hotel is an old one, and in some areas this is starting to show - an upgrade / renovation is probably due around now... some internal door/lock mechanisms aren't 100%, drawers don't move smoothly, floors in bathroom seem to be lifting and causing the tiles to crack. Public areas seem to be well maintained and the pool area looks amazing.
The rooms (and beds, linen, etc) are kept very clean.
All in all, it was a good stay - you probably can't get anything better for an equivalent price.

Room Tip: Family rooms offer two double beds and a fridge - they are a lot more spacious than the regular room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jared L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deidre S, Manager at SunSquare Cape Town Gardens, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review related to your stay at our hotel.

Your comments and high scoring are highly appreacited and I know the staff will be overjoyed.
We have noted your comments about an upgrade and we are pleased to say this will commence from November this year with the cpbaords.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards
Deidre Strydom
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for 04 nights. The room was on the first floor and it was comfortable with a view of the table mountain, cleaning staff did a very good job and there was zero noise level in exception of the day before we were to check-out. Seemingly the room next to ours was being renovated on this particular day and no-one warned us of this so we were rudely woken up by hammers pounding and drilling at 07:00am!!! there was no apology what so ever from the maintenance staff nor from reception.

Breakfast was very good except that in my 05 days spent at this hotel. We only got asked once whether I wanted tea or coffee on other days we were totally ignored but the food was great no complaints there. Room service was also good, we ordered curry and it was divine but there is a lengthy delay in serving up room service. All in all our stay was very good and I will recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor on your right after the lifts are quieter and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deidre S, Manager at SunSquare Cape Town Gardens, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review related to your stay at our hotel.

We appreciate the feedback and apologise for the noise caused so early in the morning, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kin regards
Deidre Strydom
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Okay, so previous reviewers have mentioned the obvious perks of staying at this conveniently situated hotel in the heart of the city - "comfy beds", great location, etc etc. My husband and I had an altogether bland experience, however. The room is adequate and boasts a nice view of the hotel pool which seems to appear in most advertising for the hotel itself. Not much of an actual view per se as the hotel actually faces the city versus Table Mountain.
We had conflicting experiences with hotel management and staff. I liked the fact that the receptionist was friendly and even tracked our room number to inform us that our car lights were on. Breakfast was also good - be sure to order your eggs first or you'll face a 10 min wait. Everything else was seemingly a let down. Understocked tea and coffee station; a duvet that keeps you awake all night (I dare you to get a good night's rest); unfriendly room service and crappy food. I spent R110 on a rump steak that was cooked to just below dead-and-buried despite my order of medium to rare. A "gourmet burger" which tastes suspiciously like the R20 burger patties you can buy at Spar and a vegetable stirfry to the tune of R70 which boasts "ginger and soya", but what really tastes like amateur night in a student res. And on that note, the entire floor feels like a student frat house - the walls are thin and our "neighbours" felt more like family after 2 days.

Bring your own wine (we did - a bottle of decent wine would set you back a minimum of R110); duvet and earplugs.

Room Tip: Avoid the 2nd floor - you'll be stuck parallel to the ice machine which everyone has access to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeeshkaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#37 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#45 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#46 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Strand Tower Hotel
#49 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#38 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunSquare Cape Town Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunSquare Cape Town Gardens

Property: SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
Address: 10 Mill Street Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Garden Court de Waal)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#52 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SunSquare Cape Town Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a square on the block in the Mother City. SunSquare Cape Town Gardens is located in the vibrant and cosmopolitan suburb of The Gardens, on the edge of the Cape Town City Bowl. This trendy hotel offers guests more of what they want, making their hotel experience a memorable one. SunSquare Cape Town Gardens is close to the CBD as well as the Cape Town International Convention Centre, whilst the Cape Town International Airport is only a short 20-minute drive from the hotel. For leisure travellers, the hotel is beautifully positioned at the base of Table Mountain - one of the new 'Seven Wonders of Nature' - and is close to Long Street, which has an array of day and night time activities with its vast selection of chic restaurants and boutique shops. The hotel is also located within close proximity to main attractions in the area, such as the V&A Waterfront and the gorgeous beaches of Camps Bay and Bloubergstrand. About the hotel SunSquare Cape Town Gardens combines affordability and comfort with modern accommodation for individuals who know exactly what they want. The spacious lobby extends into a bar area, providing a relaxing place for guests to socialise and enjoy themselves - chatting, working or listening to music. The lounge area leads off from the lobby and is yet another comfortable space where guests can read the newspaper, conduct business meetings, or just sit back and relax. Guests can also unwind and have a drink by the terrace, which looks over a lovely pool deck and has magnificent views of the city. For those guests who want to stay fit and healthy while staying at the hotel, the well-equipped gym comes in handy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Hotelopia so you can book your SunSquare Cape Town Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court De Waal Hotel Cape Town Central
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing