We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3* adequate for our needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
Ranked #37 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We will review this hotel but understand it is closing for refurbishment in April for approx. five months. When we arrived at lunchtime on the 30th December there was one female member of staff at the desk in reception who looked thoroughly miserable and gave us no smile or welcome to the hotel whatsoever - not very nice when you've been travelling for 24 hours. We were given the card to access our room but there was no offer to take our luggage to the room and no other staff to be seen in the reception area. When we got to the room we didn't have the mountain view we had booked and went back to reception to query and the 'miserable face' just told us that our agent hadn't made the request (despite it being on our paperwork) and there were no other rooms available.
Our room and bathroom were okay but "tired" as reviewed by others, however, the beds were comfortable and the shower hot and powerful. The wardrobe appeared new but hanging space insufficient for our two week stay and a chest of drawers would be an advantage as opposed to the shelving that I had to access by standing on a chair.
The buffet breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. We had dinner in the restaurant several times where they provide a buffet or a la carte menu, both of which are limited but to be fair most guests eat out elsewhere. Unfortunately, there were very few staff members in the restaurant that had a smile for anyone and talking to other guests they were of the same opinion.
The pool area was nice with plenty of clean towels and staff came around periodically to take orders for drinks. Andrea was particularly nice (she also worked in the restaurant) but she left in our second week. We must also mention Freddy who booked restaurants and arranged taxi's for us, nothing was too much trouble and his enthusiasm is an asset to the hotel.
We had not booked a car from home assuming that it would be possible when we arrived but there were none available anywhere. Without a car the V and A Waterfront is quite a distance and although we did walk it once, during the day, not really recommended. About 15 mins from the hotel is Kloof Street which has numerous restaurants - give Kloof Street House at no. 30 a try, a lovely venue. There is a small shopping mall 5 mins from the hotel with a PicknPay supermarket where we preferred to buy fresh rolls, etc for our lunch and cheap wine to stock the chiller in our room.
Overall we were satisfied with our stay and it would appear that with an upgrade there will be improvements to the decor, bathrooms, etc. We would suggest that management give staff a "pep talk" regarding their attitude to guests, nobody wants to go on holiday and be confronted with miserable faces and if certain members of staff (particularly reception) find that so difficult then perhaps they shouldn't be doing the job!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OllieLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed during New year's eve for 4 nights in this hotel. Close proximity to waterfront,table mountain,camps bay and the long street etc where many restaurants are available. The breakfast buffet has a good spread and it has a decent swimming pool to. The family room is spacious and air-conditioned, mini fridge, hot showers and television with many channels including cartoons.New year's was dull in the hotel as nothing was arranged though the hotel was quite busy. There was lack of coordination between the reception staff and they were a bit cold while talking to the customers. There was not an inch of smile on anyone. But housekeeping was good. Ask for a room with a table mountain view which is amazing from the room window. Not all rooms have a mountain view.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a table mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UsHarish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Garden Court De Waal is a nice hotel with a good location in the city centre. It is very close to the Company´s Gardens, a nice park, were you can walk down to the city centre within 20-30 min. There are several museums in the park, such as the Iziko South African Museum and Planetarium. You also have the National Library of South Africa, the South African National Gallery, the Great Synagogue and Holocaust Centre in the Gardens. St George´s Cathedral is also in the Gardens and worth a visit. The hotel is close to the lower cable car Table Mountain station, only a couple of minutes by taxi. A shopping mall is close by the hotel, just a block away.

The rooms are very nice with great beds; we had a room facing the Table Mountain. We stayed on the first floor so if you want a better view ask for a room on 3rd or 4th floor. While we were there the elevators did not work, so first floor was good. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is very good, and you can sit outside overlooking the garden and poolside. We had dinner at the hotel the first evening (the buffet), it was okay but not worth the money. We decided to opt for other alternatives, for example restaurants in The V&A Waterfront which is a 10 min taxi ride from the hotel. Camps bay is also nearby for a wonderful sunset and dinner.

The poolside is nice if you would like to relax for a couple of hours, especially if you travel with children.

The hotel has a desk where you can book excursions. We had pre-booked two excursions from home though, Cape Point tour and a wine tour with Tsiba Tsiba tours. They were really good.

Overall it is a really good hotel, with nice rooms, good location, very good breakfast and a great poolside.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaGuLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Conveniently located to the central of Cape Town and surrounds. The view of Table Mountain is always a treat. Staff are always friendly. There is now a gym on the property which is rather welcome. Keep up the great work team.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms at the back of the hotel - you get to open the curtains in the early morning and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

the hotel is well situated and one can view the table mountain at anytime also convenient for shopping around. the rooms are big enough and would recomend that all rooms to have a mini bar fridge and that ill make it complete. the staff need to take the guests very serious we should be a top priority, we cannot afford to be compromized.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Johannes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Excellent bargain. Staff was friendly and attentive. Free breakfast buffet was on point---I also loved the neighborhood surrounding the hotel. The only complaint I have is that the bath towels were kinda rough, but a little fabric softener in the wash would fix that. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleetiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

When we arrived at the hotel to check in there was a table with welcome drinks but no one offered us anything. Checking in was excellent and when we asked for a city facing room we were given one which was lovely. I said to my wife that I surely trust that if we will get this sort of service throughout the weekend then it will be nice. At dinner my wife had carvery but I could not becasue most of the dishes had sweet peppers in (to which I am allergic) so I had a choice from the a la carte menu. If the management of this hotel is to do one good thing and that will be to change this menu because the food was not good at all. One could not complain about service at breakfast because there was none. The person cooking could not understand and converse properly, I had to ask twice for our used crockery to be removed and the staff were very, very miserable. My wife asked one of the ladies to smile to see if she could and told her that she should smile more often because she looked nice when she smiled. The breakfast itself was very good. The bar service during the day was a no show because I had to walk upstairs to get service three times. Some of the staff are very friendly and some are very unfriendly. My wife loves this hotel but I am not sure if we will return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with a view of the city on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Town Hollow
#53 of 110 in Cape Town Central
254 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 110 in Cape Town Central
561 reviews
SunSquare Cape Town City Bowl
#65 of 110 in Cape Town Central
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#56 of 110 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#38 of 110 in Cape Town Central
483 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#40 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunSquare Cape Town Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunSquare Cape Town Gardens

Address: 10 Mill Street Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Garden Court de Waal)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#51 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £82 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SunSquare Cape Town Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a square on the block in the Mother City. SunSquare Cape Town Gardens is located in the vibrant and cosmopolitan suburb of The Gardens, on the edge of the Cape Town City Bowl. This trendy hotel offers guests more of what they want, making their hotel experience a memorable one. SunSquare Cape Town Gardens is close to the CBD as well as the Cape Town International Convention Centre, whilst the Cape Town International Airport is only a short 20-minute drive from the hotel. For leisure travellers, the hotel is beautifully positioned at the base of Table Mountain - one of the new 'Seven Wonders of Nature' - and is close to Long Street, which has an array of day and night time activities with its vast selection of chic restaurants and boutique shops. The hotel is also located within close proximity to main attractions in the area, such as the V&A Waterfront and the gorgeous beaches of Camps Bay and Bloubergstrand. About the hotel SunSquare Cape Town Gardens combines affordability and comfort with modern accommodation for individuals who know exactly what they want. The spacious lobby extends into a bar area, providing a relaxing place for guests to socialise and enjoy themselves - chatting, working or listening to music. The lounge area leads off from the lobby and is yet another comfortable space where guests can read the newspaper, conduct business meetings, or just sit back and relax. Guests can also unwind and have a drink by the terrace, which looks over a lovely pool deck and has magnificent views of the city. For those guests who want to stay fit and healthy while staying at the hotel, the well-equipped gym comes in handy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your SunSquare Cape Town Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court De Waal Hotel Cape Town Central
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing