We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of renovation”
Review of SUN1 Foreshore

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
SUN1 Foreshore
Ranked #106 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed there while on business in Cape Town as my client was trying to cut costs. Price wise, this is probably the cheapes hotel in Cape Town that is part of a franchise so you know what to expect. It has great positioning as it is close to many of the main attraction of the Cape Town city. Sadly although many of the Formula 1 hotels around South Africa have recently been upgraded this hotel has not changed. The rooms are old, tired and abused and it really seems to show. I have stayed in many of the Formula 1 hotels around the country and this is by far in the worst condition.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clyde D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

The Formule 1 hotel is for travellers who are looking for good value for money. The Formule 1 hotel on the Foreshore in Cape Town is very well situated, close to the VA Waterfront, within walking distance of the CBD and Cape Town station. It is also very close to the new bus service which has just been introduced in Cape Town. It is also very next to the Artscape Theatre in Cape Town. Clean, quiet, compact, with safe parking, it is unbelievable value for money - under R450 per room per night (it has a double room and a bunk bed on top). I have stayed in many of these hotels and have never had a problem with any of them. I also found the staff very friendly and willing to help. Breakfast is available at R35 per person and, although it's very basic (cereals, toast, tea, coffee), being able to eat there is very convenient when time is a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gibbsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I received an email on 10 March to confirm my booking for 19 April 2012. Before my flight I phone Formula 1 Hotel to make sure everything is fine. The receptionist didn't know my name or reservation number. I was then told my reservation number is wrong.

I was getting no-where and decided to stay at the Road Lodge, a wise decision. Don't bother booking online with Formula 1 Hotel, they are still the in pre-computer era.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
11  Thank PEForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Pretoria, South Africa
15
Reviewed 26 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 September 2011

location, location,location! this basic hotel is very near VA water front, has a secure car park, but is very simple. On my first night, I was surprised that they didn't have my reservation, I even showed then my printouts, and the recepcionist said, I was lucky that they had a room for me, but more expensive than i booked, I sent some email to accor, and asked then my refund, and they didn't botter, so i don't trust on their on line reservation, after all, i recomend this hotel, as it is cheap and well locate.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rafael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Fabiovetusp
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 May 2011

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
24 mi away
Protea Hotel Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa
1 mi away
Cape Town Lodge
Cape Town Lodge
#82 of 112 in Cape Town Central
739 reviews
2.6 mi away
Spring Tide Inn
Spring Tide Inn
#68 of 112 in Cape Town Central
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 112 in Cape Town Central
860 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rockwell All Suite Hotel
Rockwell All Suite Hotel
#54 of 112 in Cape Town Central
604 reviews
1 mi away
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
#90 of 112 in Cape Town Central
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUN1 Foreshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUN1 Foreshore

Address: Jan Smuts and Martin Hammerschlag Way | Foreshore, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £13 - £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUN1 Foreshore in Cape Town is within walking distance of Cape Town's CBD and close to the V&A Waterfront in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Formule 1 Cape Town Foreshore Hotel Cape Town Central
SUN1 Foreshore Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing