We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
Ranked #80 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Although not the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, definitely the most disappointing stay I have had in Cape Town. Unimpressive in every way. We were there for two nights - one colleague didn't have her room cleaned at all and the other had to repeatedly ask for clean towels. There is much better value for money than this in Cape Town!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fronterista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2011

We stayed in Cape Town 5 nights and had chosen this hotel because I have the Best Western Rewards Card. The hotel was located in a calm area right outside down-town of Cape Town.

But the free shuttle bus from the hotel or a very cheap, safe and friendly taxie, made this hotel to be a excellent choice, outside a overpriced waterfront area.

Just walking distance to "District 6 Museum", that is a "must" when visiting CT.

Friendly people, nice breakfast, clean and large apartments and a very good Pub for afternoon drinks made us to think we had been lucky to choose this place.

We were 9 people charing 2 apartments, one with 2 bedrooms and one with 3.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I called the hotel restaurant Village Cafe to order a meal to my room. I was told to come to the restaurant as they had a buffet there. I was working and wanted to eat in my room. Reception told me to call another pub on the premises. I was told no room service was possible. For the room rate it was not satisfactory. In the future would rather stay somewhere else.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank KLRNaboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We got lucky and were upgraded to a room that had a view of Table Mtn in the back and the harbor from the balcony. PLENTY of room, as it was a suite. The hotel provided free transportation to several spots in Capetown nearby, but it was not always readily available (still free). I felt the breakfast was too expensive for what we got (US 15 equivalent). There were some cool clubs/bars around the corner, but the hotel itself was enclosed in gates and quiet....more family-oriented. I would choose to stay at one of the hostels on Long Street next time, since we spent most evenings going out there. But if you are looking for a nice hotel...this is where you want to stay!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k8etravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home2wn, Marketing Assistant at Best Western Cape Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

Good Day,

Thank you most sincerely for your comment wherein you highlighted our offer of free transport, family-orientated and complimentary upgrades to a spacious apartment with awesome views!
We greatly appreciate your input and would like to thank you for your support and welcome any family and friends to our Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The Best Western Cape Suites was clean and decently appointed. The sofa in the living room was well worn, but otherwise the suite was comfortable. It is a little far from any restaurants or bars, except for the attached pub. The food in the pub was okay, nothing to write home about. Breakfast was well rounded with lots of options for hot and cold preferences.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home2wn, Marketing Assistant at Best Western Cape Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Thank you so much for your comments on Tripadvisor.We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us.Our staff hospitality is something we hold in a very high regard and we are proud that this stood out in your mind.
Thank you again,and we look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We were here for one night as a stop over and we were pleasently suprised. It was fantastic value for money. By far the cheapest hotel we had all trip and were expecting something basic but it was amazing. the room was quite decadent and the service was tremendous. Generous x 10 breakfast. Close to airport.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home2wn, Marketing Assistant at Best Western Cape Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Thank you so much for your fantastic comments on Tripadvisor.We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us.Our staff hospitality is something we hold in a very high regard and we are proud that this stood out in your mind. Thank you again,and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

The service provided was efficient and courteously provided. Due to the fact that the flight there took a whole 12 hours from London, and due to my being easily confused, I arrived a day after the date I had actually booked. The staff I dealt with could not have been more helpful. She corrected the booking and waived the day they had lost.

The room provided to me had a stunning view of Table Mountain, the Lion's Head, the City Centre, and harbour areas. It had a living room with TV tuned in to an adequate number of channels (don't South Africans love rugby though!) There was a kitchen with microwave, hob, sink, crockery and cutlery, and a fridge. The bedroom was double-bedded, and the bathroom equally commodious. The shower was just awesome. Every day the room was made over, and the staff always made sure the TV guide was turned to the correct page for the day!

The Hotel is located in the heart of the historic District 6 area which had been a thriving community of 60,000 coloured inhabitants (to use the language of the time) who were forcibly removed to make way for whites-only occupation. There is a museum in the City giving detailed insight into what this entailed, and what it meant for the erstwhile inhabitants.

The bar is clearly a popular watering hole, and I would stray in there at the end of a long day sightseeing and get chatting to the staff or locals over a drink.

I had the Bed and Breakfast option which allowed ample cooked breakfast plus as much toast and jam as I could manage. The only thing that took a bit of getting used to on the downside was the way I could not go anywhere by foot after sunset due to the risk of bing robbed. However, this is not a problem specific to Zonnebloem (District 6).

All in all it was a positive hotel experience at a good price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timothy190556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home2wn, Marketing Assistant at Best Western Cape Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Thank you so much for your fantastic comments on Tripadvisor.We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us.Our staff hospitality is something we hold in a very high regard and we are proud that this stood out in your mind.
Thank you again,and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Diamond Hotel
#75 of 112 in Cape Town Central
286 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#41 of 112 in Cape Town Central
612 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 112 in Cape Town Central
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
#90 of 112 in Cape Town Central
315 reviews
City Bowl
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
#35 of 112 in Cape Town Central
479 reviews
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#76 of 112 in Cape Town Central
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Cape Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Cape Suites Hotel

Address: Corner De Villiers & Constitution Street | Zonnebloem, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £54 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Cape Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Table Mountain, with views of the Cape Town city skyline and Table Bay, lies the BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel, a village-style hotel with a total of 61 studio, one, two and three-bedroom suites. Guests will enjoy a home away from home environment in spacious accommodations, air-conditioned suites with fully equipped kitchens, all at three star standards. Ideally located, the hotel is a five-minute drive to the famous V & A Waterfront and a 15-minute drive to the beaches of Camps Bay and Clifton. The BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel provides a sensible alternative in offering affordable accommodations for tour groups, business travelers, families and individuals who are looking for spacious accommodations with convenient amenities in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Cape Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cape Hotel Cape Town Central
Best Western Cape Town
Cape Town Best Western
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing