We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Wallingford
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

This is a true five star hotel. Nice views of Table Mountain. Friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Get the Table Mountain view rather than the harbo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,800
    155
    46
    10
    17
See reviews for
363
1,113
70
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

And my one regret, was that it was limited to brilliant hotels in the USA or The Cape Grace would have topped the list. Kindly move the hotel to the USA, and I'll be a regular!
As to family-friendly, the crew of the Cape Grace went overboard to assure all the guests with off-spring were well looked after. And in these times, I think its important to let consumers know they look after the non-paying , smaller guests with great gusto.
Our tag-along troops still count the Cape Grace as top marks, long after we've left their beds. They have made my top ten list on the very first shelf, for my 'family-friendly" chapters in the 2nd printing! Well done Gracers! This is not, the cheapest hotel we've stayed in, but you get what you pay for and then some, and we skrimped in some venues to splurge at the Cape Grace to top-off our African Adventure, and it was the best bed-investment we've ever made. Mark Sheehan, Author of "America Over Easy!"

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericaOverEasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We enjoyed Cape Grace very much. Everyone was very friendly, especially Jessica at the front desk and all the concierge--especially Hong who is great. A lovely perk is that they let you book their hotel car to take you to dinner or wherever----makes the evenings very relaxed. We liked the location because it was easy walking to the V and A waterfront---but it's more fun to eat out elsewhere---the water front is a bit touristy. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank el04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Andrew Rosettenstein the Operations Manager at The Cape Grace runs a great hotel. We stayed at the Cape Grace after our wedding and had a wonderful time. The hotel staff is outstanding. No request went unanswered. -Matter of fact every request was answered immediately. The guest rooms are very comfortable, clean and spacious. Breakfast was included with our stay and we were able to order it to our room each morning. We were trying to decide between The Cape Grace and another highly rated hotel in Cape Town and during our helicopter tour we flew over the other (remote) hotel. We made the right decision. Absolutely! The Cape Grace has a terrific location right near the V&A Waterfront and Table Mountain. We could have dinner at the hotel or take a leisurely, SAFE stroll to the V &A for a multitude of choices for any meal. The hotel's location next to the V&A, for first time visitors to Cape Town, was key. We arrived via The Blue Train. Immediately upon arrival to the train station we were greeted by a driver from the hotel's complimentary BMW service. The service was great, but definitely schedule this service as soon as you can. When we go back to Cape Town South Africa we will be staying at The Cape Grace! We have travelled extensively and I would say the The Cape Grace has been the best experience.

Room Tip: http://www.rcjm.co.za/about.htm -Christoph
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TarheelFH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Incomparable!! That’s all I can say. We travel a lot and I would say we are very fussy and picky. This place was just perfect in every way. Our room was spacious and beautifully laid out with great views from the balcony. The staff were impeccable in every way, they couldn’t do enough for you. There was always someone there to help you or get you what you wanted. Without being overbearing or intrusive. The breakfast was lovely and you could have almost anything. I am gluten intolerant and they provided me with gluten free bread and cereals, if they didn’t have it, they would get. All of the food was excellent. The location was great. We felt like royalty staying there, with someone to look after our every whim, including chauffeurs to drive you to anywhere with in 20-mile radius. One of the best Hotels we have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Ask for rooftop terrace room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kitbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

This was one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. Our wake up call every morning included coffee delivery to our room. The food was great. Staff were very friendly and remembered our names. The sheets were the softest I've ever felt. Great location. I could go on forever with all the great things about this place...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amilorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claregalway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

The most amazing hotel in the world !! They think of everything & I mean everything - so genuinely friendly - free Champagne to the room , then strawberries, then amarula - concierge so so helpful & the breakfast is the best in the world - can't recommend thisbhotel enough !!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorkRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,599 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,211 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,717 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing