We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A perfect gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Cape Grace is a beautiful quiet hotel in a fantastic position next to the Waterfront. Rooms are spacious and offer everything you are looking for. Luxurious amenities and a professional service in every way. I enjoyed my fantastic breakfast in my room and everything was done to minute. The whiskey bar is unique and if you don't want to dine in the hotel there is 50 restaurants next. The friendliness of the staff is outstanding

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tronblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,699
    148
    45
    10
    17
See reviews for
341
1,044
68
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

The Cape Grace is a fabulous hotel situated on the waterfront. It is convienent to everything, the staff is friendly, helpful and knowledable. Breakfast is included and is wonderful, the shuttle service is reliable and so easy to arrange.
Would def recommend and will stay there again on future trips.

Take a township tour- it is an unreal expierence, very safe.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

The Cape Grace exceeded all of my expectations and the bar is high. The service was friendly and accomodating. The breakfasts were terrific and the hotel arranged for shark diving (not to be missed) which resulted in the sighting of over 14 great whites. We also toured Cape Town with a private guide (Mark September from Small World Tours) for two days. He was wonderful, fun to be with and his service was flawless. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

My husband and I have traveled the world for two decades, and recently stayed five nights at the Cape Grace in Cape Town. We have to say it ranks at the very top of our favorite hotels list… and our list includes such five star places as the Grande Bretagne in Athens and the Pulitzer in Amsterdam. Our room was beautiful, the location was excellent, and both food and the service were outstanding. The staff members consistently made us feel welcome, and their attention to every detail was notable. Clearly, the Cape Grace sets the highest standards for customer service. We never had a doubt that they would attend to our every need quickly, and with a smile. Our highest recommendations go to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junglerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

This really is a feel good hotel.

Rooms, staff, ambience all superb and I heartily recommend the Cape Grace as the place to stay for the discerning visitor to Cape Town.

The only problem we found is the locals, who also want to feel good, think the Cape Grace provides a very good breakfast, which it does, so breakfast can be a bit chaotic with non-residents taking up lot of the tables at weekends.

That warning aside, this is an exceptional and superior hotel, which is a pleasure to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theinspectorcalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

The name says it all. The Cape Grace embodies elegance, comfort and unparalleled service in Cape Town. Our room was sumptuous in every way- from the decor to the amount of space to the view of the marina and Table Mountain.The staff is friendly and out to make one's stay the most pleasurable possible. Smiles are de rigeur. I made my reservations through American Express and without prompting was given a room upgrade and a late checkout (4PM!) which worked out really well because I was able to spend my last morning at the Kirstenbosch Gardens then return for lunch and a shower before the drive to the airport.
It was way after closing when I decided on my last night that I needed some items from the boutique. No problem, the staff arranged to make the purchase possible. The hotel offers BMW shuttles to any destination within a reasonable radius from the hotel. The location is in a very safe section of the city with restaurants, shopping, helicopter rides and trips to Robben Island within walking distance. One should not miss afternoon tea in the library or dinner at Signal restaurant, whose team is run by the talented Chef Malika van Reenen. This last, accompanied by wines from the Cape's vineyards, was one of the most enjoyable I have ever experienced. Take it from one that has been fortunate enough to have experienced meals prepared by the likes of Adria, Alleno, Achatz and Bocuse. All in all, it was a wonderful finale to be so pampered after more than a a week on safari. And oh, WiFi is free!
I did not use the spa or swimming pool but they appeared rather inviting.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Beautiful accommodations. Extremely attentive and accommodating staff. Great location. Tons of perks and amenities. Great food. Could not recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOIntTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,032 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing