We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Cape Grace in August 2009. Everything about this property was unrivaled. The service was incredible and I was greeted by name every time I happened into the lobby. The restaurant and breakfast were excellent and the guest room was picture perfect. I had an incredible view of table mountain. I also took advantage of the hotel car service. Included in my room price was the ability to have the hotel drivers take you anywhere within 25 miles. I would definitely recommended getting this package. It was a huge help to me during my stay and the drivers were fantastic. Overall, it was truly the trip of a lifetime. I seriously thought, I don't know what I ever did to deserve to stay at such an amazing property.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatlake30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,748
    153
    46
    10
    17
See reviews for
349
1,080
68
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Beautiful setting in Cape Town Harbor. Perfect walking distance to restaurants and night life. We had a large suite which was very comfortable for our family of four with 3 bedrooms and 3 baths. Nice private outdoor terrace. We ate breakfast in the hotel which was very nice. Room service was lovely as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagolover59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

What a magnificent hotel to stay in.......so luxurious and yet friendly with extremely helpful staff. Spent 5 nights here with friends and it was one of the best holidays. One highlight was chartering the hotels yacht for a couple of hours ....watching the sunset ,drinking champagne-magical. The views of Table Mountain at the back are stunning and any trips we wanted help with were done quickly and efficiently. They even recorded the rugby for us as we were booked into a restaurant at the same time as the end of the game!!! If you were contemplating staying here you would not be disappointed. Fabulous .

Room Tip: At the rear of the hotel overlooking the harbour and Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge, Co Down
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Cape Grace in mid July for 3 nights whilst we were on honeymoon.
Firstly the hotel is very easy to reach, and this was particularly useful as this was my first time driving in Cape Town.
There is ample parking space and we were able to park right outside the front door.
The doormen extended a warm greeting upon our arrival and then we met Sheba who was extremely warm and courteous whilst checking us in.
The bedroom was very spacious and immaculately clean. Sparkling wine awaited us and also on our last night the hotel sent us a bottle of amarillo. We also had a wonderful view over the marina.
The concierge, Stretton arranged tickets for Table Mountain and also arranged for the hotel car to bring us there and back.
We made use of the car a few times and it is a really useful service and the chauffeurs we encountered, Ricky and Lance, were very knowledgable and friendly guys.
We only ate breakfast at the hotel during our stay but that was absolutely wonderful.
On a few occasions we had cocktails at the bar right beside the marina. It really was a divine experience.
The Cape Grace offers a e suite which we found useful as well as printing facilities.
All the staff knew our names and to be honest I could not find any faults with the Cape Grace.
We really had the most brilliant stay and I would have no hesitation in recommending the Cape Grace to anyone travelling to Cape Town.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazzamufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Picture perfect.....our room was charming with a gorgeous view of the harbor and Table Mountain. The hotel decor was lovely, and the location on the harbor is great for exploring. Service was exceptional. This hotel is first-class all the way.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellover5717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here for a week. It is very well situated in Cape Town, within easy walking distance of the V & A Waterfront. All the staff (doormen, drivers, porters, reception, manager, concierge, restaurant, spa, housecleaning) were friendly and their level of service is outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was well appointed, spotless and very comfortable. The breakfasts are included and are very delicious and filling. It is a great place to stay for tourists and business people. The spa was very nice. The chauffeur-driven BMW was a nice perk. I found the Bascule Lounge to be very smokey at night and couldn't tolerate it for more than a few minutes - they should make it totally non-smoking (but that is also a problem in many restaurants in South Africa which have smoking "sections"). The suites are perfect for families. We swam in the pool even though it was winter. Poolside service was good.

Room Tip: The mountain view is quieter and more peaceful. The front of the hotel is slightly noisier due to pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunseekerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We all expect the Cape Grace to be a luxurious and stylish hotel in the V&A Waterfront but it is only after I have taken my family, husband, 3 year old and 9 month old baby that I realized why indeed they are one of the best hotels in Africa. As a Tour Operator working at Cedarberg African Travel for 10 years now I am always slightly sceptical if the places are as good as they say...
From the moment we arrived the warm welcome and friendliness of all the staff was much appreciated especially towards my 3 year old girl (as she loves a fuzz). What also impressed me of the Cape Grace is that they wanted to know the exact ages of my children to make sure they have all the little things in the room set up to suit their ages! The cot was set-up and my 3 year old slept on a day sofa bed which they made up after dinner.
On check-in our 3 year old was told about the gingerbread decorating that evening and as soon as we walked into our Superior room she received a small gift of a coloring book and some pencils. Our baby boy received a Cape Grace bib, baby shampoo, wipes and anything you might need like a microwave- a bottle brush etc. In the bathroom they had special shampoo and bubble bath for my 3 year old girl and a whole bag full of bath toys…
Nothing is too much for them and they even have small slippers for my 3 years old. The Two oceans aquarium is a treat for children and only 2 minutes walk from the Cape Grace. So after my stay I can say that the Cape Grace is not only wonderful for the discerning guest or the honeymooners it is also perfect for families with children of all ages! For families with older children the Cape Grace offers 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suites…

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing