We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite simply, First class.”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed at the Cape Grace in October 2011 as part of our Honeymoon. It was our first time in South Africa and followed a week in Mauritius which we really enjoyed and we thought couldn't be beaten for luxury and service...the Cape Grace proved us wrong!

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very much at home by the friendly staff and beautiful surroundings. We were so well looked after - well and truly pampered and spoilt here!

We arrived at our beautiful room to find champagne, chocolates and a handwritten note from the hotel manager- what a kind gesture! This continued for the duration of our stay as we returned to our room to a variety of personal notes and gifts - such lovely touches!
Every member of staff we encountered was truly exemplary and every day at the Cape Grace was special. It was the staff and all these little touches that really put the Cape Grace in a league of it's own.

We honestly could not speak higher of the hotel and it's staff. We have been telling all our friends and family of our wonderful stay there and would recommend it to anyone without a moment's hesitation.

We thoroughly enjoyed our whole trip to South Africa and hope to return to Cape Town, and the Cape Grace again in the future.

Room Tip: Our room looked out over the marina and had a view of table mountain - great side to be on as we wer...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLandGJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,056)
There are newer reviews for Cape Grace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,609 - 1,615 of 2,056 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

We have travelled to more than 50 countries, but it was our first time in South Africa. We selected this hotel after our first two choices were fully booked already, even though we booked months in advance and it was not yet in the full swing of high season.

First piece of advice...book very early in Cape Town.

It turned out that our inability to book our first choices was a blessing in disguise. We absolutely loved this hotel and we went by the other two just to see what we might have been missing and are glad we ended up where we did. The location is in the middle of the main waterfront historic area, with shops, restaurants and other activities all around.

The service is the best we have encountered anywhere, including hotels rated much higher at two to three times the price. If we stood for 30 seconds anywhere in the public areas, someone approached us to see if we needed any assistance. If the concierge was busy (it happened a couple of times that we were waiting for the concierge) the front desk staff ran over to assist.

Most impressive...this hotel has learned the lesson of how to truly make its guests happy...don't nickel and dime them. Car service (in a luxury BMW) is free for local drop offs and pick ups. Internet is free. Room service has no extra charges or minimums. Breakfast included is truly included...including beverages and a la carte orders.

And, while not unique to this hotel, but especially visible there, the friendliness, the sincere caring for customers and pride of their country by service staff is a unique feature in South Africa...we encountered this everywhere we went.

We only had two very minor complaints...the Internet was a little slow at times and we like real European style duvets or comforters on the bed, and even though we asked for that, all we received was a thin blanket.

Room Tip: Get the marina view rooms!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValVil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We cannot give higher praise and we travel a lot. The location, the rooms and the service are all way above average. Definitely 5 star service. Stay here if you possibly can.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My partner and I stayed here 4 nights at the beginning of October 2011. This was the first stop on a 3 weeks holiday in South Africa. Our flight arrived early in the morning and the hotel made every effort to get us into our room as soon as possible and offered us the use of the shower rooms to freshen up while we waited.

Our room was a one bedroom suite and it was spacious and beautifully appointed in a traditional style. The room had a very large terrace with views of the harbour.

Service here was top notch. A particular standout was the concierge, Hoon, who was most helpful and pleasant to work with. The house cars are a very nice feature as well. They are 7 series BMWs and not at all difficult to reserve for trips to and from restaurants and the sites of Cape Town. Breakfasts in the hotel were very tasty with excellent service.

We could not find fault with anything at the Cape Grace, the hotel exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The cape grace just has it. From the champayne raspberry bulini's in the bar to the relaxed top notch service of the staff. When I think of the best hotel I have ever stayed in worldwide the cape grace is always in the running. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thedeadlysubmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

After reading all of the glorious reviews on Trip Advisor before we booked, I should not have been surprised by the level of service here, but I was. Everything was perfect--the car service, the friendliness of the concierge, the services of the gift shop/front desk (individually wrapping nine bracelets and delivering them to the room), and the spa (with complimentary use of the steam room or sauna).

The breakfast buffet (and additional hot breakfast choices) was fantastic and certainly the best of our breakfasts during our three-week vacation in South Africa.

Please don't consider staying anywhere else. This should be "a no-brainer"!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaJolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Great location and wonderful views from the room but what makes this hotel so special is the staff. They are invariably welcoming, friendly and helpful. There are some really nice features such as the Library, where you can relax over a light and really inexpensive meal. I am used to being unpleasantly surprised at hotels but here I was constantly being pleasantly surprised. We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,634 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,250 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,741 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,514 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £387 - £1,246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing