We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel - one of the best!”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel - one of the best!”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in November - wow what a gorgeous hotel - have travelled extensively and have to say this is one of the nicest hotels i have ever staye din i loved it and did not want to leave/ Gorgeous room very spacious, great location, fantastic breakfast food ws delicious and a lovely very lively bar in the evening. perfect location and the hotel car that drops you off/picks you up was very handy. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and think it would be hard to find a fault withthis hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkCarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,806
    155
    46
    10
    17
See reviews for
367
1,115
70
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I paid a return visit to this smashing hotel after three years and was delighted to find that they
have not allowed standards to slip one iota....They had taken the trouble to book the same
room I had previously stayed in with it's Waterfront views and it had had a beauty treatment
during my absence....it was lovely before so it's difficult to say it was even better, but I did
enjoy my stay ! Staff endlessly helpful to a lady who travels alone....little else to say except
it is still one of my most favourite hotels throughout the world - thank you.

Room Tip: I like a room on the top with balcony and Waterfront views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shabbychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We spent 5 amazing days here for part of our honeymoon and it was absolutely wonderful! The hotel itself is in a perfect location at the waterfront and the room we were given, which was an upgrade was spectacular with a balcony and views of table mountain and the waterfront. The staff were really friendly and so helpfull and every day we had a gift left in our room and a hand written note. A small thing like that can make such a difference and we really felt all the staff knew it was a special time for us wherever we went in the hotel. I could say loads more but dont really need to, just that it`s how a top class hotel should be and we loved it. Thank you all at Cape Grace.
PS . The concierge deserve a mention too for all their help and advice and friendliness.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed at the Cape Grace in October 2011 as part of our Honeymoon. It was our first time in South Africa and followed a week in Mauritius which we really enjoyed and we thought couldn't be beaten for luxury and service...the Cape Grace proved us wrong!

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very much at home by the friendly staff and beautiful surroundings. We were so well looked after - well and truly pampered and spoilt here!

We arrived at our beautiful room to find champagne, chocolates and a handwritten note from the hotel manager- what a kind gesture! This continued for the duration of our stay as we returned to our room to a variety of personal notes and gifts - such lovely touches!
Every member of staff we encountered was truly exemplary and every day at the Cape Grace was special. It was the staff and all these little touches that really put the Cape Grace in a league of it's own.

We honestly could not speak higher of the hotel and it's staff. We have been telling all our friends and family of our wonderful stay there and would recommend it to anyone without a moment's hesitation.

We thoroughly enjoyed our whole trip to South Africa and hope to return to Cape Town, and the Cape Grace again in the future.

Room Tip: Our room looked out over the marina and had a view of table mountain - great side to be on as we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLandGJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We have travelled to more than 50 countries, but it was our first time in South Africa. We selected this hotel after our first two choices were fully booked already, even though we booked months in advance and it was not yet in the full swing of high season.

First piece of advice...book very early in Cape Town.

It turned out that our inability to book our first choices was a blessing in disguise. We absolutely loved this hotel and we went by the other two just to see what we might have been missing and are glad we ended up where we did. The location is in the middle of the main waterfront historic area, with shops, restaurants and other activities all around.

The service is the best we have encountered anywhere, including hotels rated much higher at two to three times the price. If we stood for 30 seconds anywhere in the public areas, someone approached us to see if we needed any assistance. If the concierge was busy (it happened a couple of times that we were waiting for the concierge) the front desk staff ran over to assist.

Most impressive...this hotel has learned the lesson of how to truly make its guests happy...don't nickel and dime them. Car service (in a luxury BMW) is free for local drop offs and pick ups. Internet is free. Room service has no extra charges or minimums. Breakfast included is truly included...including beverages and a la carte orders.

And, while not unique to this hotel, but especially visible there, the friendliness, the sincere caring for customers and pride of their country by service staff is a unique feature in South Africa...we encountered this everywhere we went.

We only had two very minor complaints...the Internet was a little slow at times and we like real European style duvets or comforters on the bed, and even though we asked for that, all we received was a thin blanket.

Room Tip: Get the marina view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValVil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco, ca
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We cannot give higher praise and we travel a lot. The location, the rooms and the service are all way above average. Definitely 5 star service. Stay here if you possibly can.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My partner and I stayed here 4 nights at the beginning of October 2011. This was the first stop on a 3 weeks holiday in South Africa. Our flight arrived early in the morning and the hotel made every effort to get us into our room as soon as possible and offered us the use of the shower rooms to freshen up while we waited.

Our room was a one bedroom suite and it was spacious and beautifully appointed in a traditional style. The room had a very large terrace with views of the harbour.

Service here was top notch. A particular standout was the concierge, Hoon, who was most helpful and pleasant to work with. The house cars are a very nice feature as well. They are 7 series BMWs and not at all difficult to reserve for trips to and from restaurants and the sites of Cape Town. Breakfasts in the hotel were very tasty with excellent service.

We could not find fault with anything at the Cape Grace, the hotel exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ryzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,605 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,216 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,719 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing