We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Afternoon Tea”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We were staying in Simons Town South Africa at Christmas with family & wanted to treat them so we decided upon The Cape Grace Hotel.
When we arrived there was a Christmas Tree in the reception area and lots of beautiful decorations everywhere.We were taken to our seats by a very nice waiter who took our orders for tea.We had to go up to a buffet table to get our savory bits & cakes etc.The selection of food was excellent with plenty of choice of sandwiches & smoked salmon nibbles. The cakes were petite so it meant we could try everything & you could go up more than once!. The coconut ice was delicious! The price was so resonable compared to an afternoon tea in London.
It was a very special place to go & defiintely worth a visit when in Cape Town!

Michelle Essex

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,057)
There are newer reviews for Cape Grace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,548 - 1,554 of 2,057 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I and our two teenaged boys stayed at Cape Grace Hotel in the 2 bedroom suite for the first 5 nights of our stay in South Africa. I can't find anything negative to say about this hotel and its staff (and we're from NYC). Everything here is sheer perfection, elegance and luxury, without pretension. Starting with our suite, this was a huge 2 bedroom suite, with bedrooms on opposite ends, each with its own bathroom and flat-screened TV, and doors to the balcony facing the harbor. There is also a 3rd half bath, a huge living room, dining room, and kitchen. Everything in our suite was perfect. The concierge staff is 5 star. They helped us with everything - any questions, tour bookings, airline confirmations, restaurant reservations, hotel car (which is a BMW that takes you anywhere complimentary within 12 km) and even movie times (for my boys). Always present, there are at least 3 concierges on duty at all times, so I never had to wait to speak to one. The breakfast was included, and we opted for the succulent buffet in the dining room at the hotel. The buffet included everything from fresh baked goods, to salmon, cheeses, fruits, and meats. All attended to by a very helpful wait staff. Even the fitness center was first rate, and open 24 hours a day (which with our jet lag was very helpful). We loved Cape Grace, and hope to return again! Thank you - Merryl Hoffman & Family

Room Tip: If you are traveling with your children, opt for the 2 bedroom suite. Perfect size for a family.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHoffmanNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed here for the first two nights, of our first trip to South Africa. What a start! Cape Grace is the epitomy of discrete, personalised service, where absolutely nothing is too much trouble and every member of staff takes pride in their job and in providing real service with a smile. We could not fault anything, location, facilities, service, food .......it will certainly be our first stop on our next trip, which cannot be soon enough!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Supet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Cape Grace for 8 nights in March 2012 and I cannot speak highly enough about the place. All of the staff were lovelyand the concierges in particular were extremely helpful. The location of the hotel is excellent and although the pool area is on the small side that didnt bother us much as we were out and about most of the time.

If we go to Cape Town again as we almost certainly will then we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The service was very good and personal. This is an individual boutique Hotel which is large . Lot of care to little touches which showed thoughtfulness. Library, sherry and port included , warm , cosy feeling, nice restaurants, nice rooms , superb location . Personalised

Room Tip: Get one with a view of Table Mountain, if can
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeygatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We visited this hotel 2 yrs ago during our first trip to south Africa and just had to come back. This is one of the best hotels in the world, and we travel extensively. The staff cater to your every need, the rooms r large, clean, well equipped and the location on the V&A waterfront is so convenient. I can not say 1 negative thing about this hotel. Breakfast is buffet and offers a great variety of hot and cold choices, and dinner was excellent as well. They have a great bar with seating on the marina and the views to table mountain from many of the rooms are great. I was offered a tour of the hotel by management and saw the 2 bdrm suites which are exquisite. This is a first class hotel, with first class service and is the only place I will stay in cape town.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank travelagent2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at this luxurious hotel on the waterfront in Cape Town. Service could not have been better. Responsive, cordial, and welcoming throughout all hotel staff. The lobby decor was charming and made you feel as though your safari was beginning. Rooms were spacious, (although we didn't stay in the balcony suites). I particulary loved the floor to ceiling glass doors that opened and allowed you to lean out and view the harbor and Table Mountain. Breakfast was included and it was a robust buffet with made to order items and cappacinos. They made sure to make almond milk available so my lactose intolerant husband was able to enjoy the cappucinos as well. There were 2 hotel Mercedes that could be booked for free service for transportation within 10 kilometers. While not always available, we were still able to make good use of this complimentary service. They were just changing over to a limited free wifi and there were glitiches. However they worked with us and we were accommodated. It was easy to coordinate guides for travel to the Cape of Good Hope and the wine country. I would skip Le Petite Farme and opt for a different luncheon spot if you visit Frenschoek.

Room Tip: You don't have to spend the extra dollars for a suite, those "balcony" doors give a sp...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheriSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,634 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,251 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,741 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,514 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £387 - £1,246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing