We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, luxurious ... stunning!”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Harare
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Elegant, luxurious ... stunning!”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

A fabulous night spent at the Cape Grace. Splendor at its best!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,800
    155
    46
    10
    17
See reviews for
363
1,113
70
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I concur with all the positive comments and this is arguably the best hotel that I've stayed in - I have stayed in 'over the top' good hotels but in terms of understated elegance this one is tops. Hats off to Nqobile (The Library) for superb service, and to the breakfast staff, also to ?Faith who checked me in. I was so impressed by the efficiency. My one tiny gripe that usually can ruin a good stay: I was enjoying a glass of port in the Library and one waitress paced up and down past me and a friend that I had not seen in a year. Well a second came by and said quite blandly: "Is one of you a guest here." I would rather she asked for my room number because the attitude was as if I had walked off the street and poured myself a glass of port. Meanwhile, foreign guests were trooping in, seating themselves and they were handed menus - no questions asked. I found this severely annoying especially in the presence of a guest. However, Nqobile's superb service the next night made up for any inconvenience. This should not detract from the 99.9% I give the hotel for efficiency and breakfast in bed -- a treat and at no extra cost.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JburgSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed at the Cape Grace at the start of our honeymoon and the experience was fantastic. The staff are very professional but friendly and went out of their way to ensure that everything we needed was provided for. We were offered an excellent rate to upgrade to a penthouse suite and this proved to be worth the extra cost. The rooms were very spacious and had some lovely old colonial style furnishings. In addition it had a jacuzzi out on the balcony overlooking the marina and table mountain which was spectacular. Everyday we came back to a small surprise gift such as chocolates or a fruit basket which was a nice touch - I'm not sure if this came with the penthouse or the honeymoon? Food at the hotel was very good with a great range of options for breakfast and on the one occasion when we had dinner it was excellent and not over priced.

As we were staying for four nights the location suited us perfectly as a base to do some sightseeing and to enjoy the amenities of the waterfront. It is a short safe walk to the aquarium (from where you can also catch the hop on/off tourist bus) or the shops and restaurants of the Victoria and Alfred centres.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

What can you say about a hotel that unexpectedly upgrades you to a penthouse suite right at the beginning of a 5 night stay? Great views right across the waterfront, total comfort and luxury, breakfast set up on the balcony every morning, restaurant dining a real experience too, friendly and helpful staff, and no end of little extras. Can't praise this place too highly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMCRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

What a pleasure. Real five star luxury from A to Z. Their inhouse restaurant must be one of the best in the country. Located right on the water within minutes walk to the V&A Shopping complex.

PS! Ask for rooms with a view towards the sea - no extra and very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Cape Grace is quite possibly the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Just as in "Cheers" it is a place where everybody knows your name. Truly excellent in every respect, from wonderful breakfast and bubbly with Quanita and her team, to impeccable planning and arrangements with Hoon and Reinhard and the superlative service of our limo drivers, Clinton, Ritchie and the others who all made our trip to Cape Town so magical. A birthday treat for my wife to see Michael Buble they even placed bubbly and chocolates in our room to help celebrate. I will stay nowhere else when I visit Cape Town again. They set a standard that will be difficult to beat.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a view of Table Mountain, Signal Mountain and the Marina. Mornings were a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomAky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed here for a week at the end of a month-long visit to Africa in April 2012.
The hotel is simply superb on every level. The service is friendly and prompt and the concierge goes well beyond his duties to make sure every thing is perfect for you.
We had a two bedroom suite overlooking the marina, with views to Table Mountain. The suite was spacious and beautifuly decorated in soft greens and an eclectic mix of modern and rustic furnishings with a subdued nautical theme. The beds were comfortable and the bedrooms spacious with plenty of hanging space. It was a restful and gracious place to retire to after long days out.
Signals restaurant was excellent for dinner - definitely one of the better restaurants in Cape Town.Breakfast was excellent, whether in the restaurant or room service. The pool area is very pleasant and a nice spot to take breakfast outside if you desire. The spa is a delight, with a fine range of services .The laundry service is prompt and efficient. Any request was met with a smile and dealt with efficiently and graciously/ The staff at this hotel truly understand the meaning of hospitality.
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Stay. Indulge. Enjoy. It's worth every cent!

Room Tip: The marina view suites are excellent. The suites have a kitchen and dining room which makes in-room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,598 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,211 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,716 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing