We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cape Grace Hotel - Capetown, SA” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
184 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cape Grace Hotel - Capetown, SA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a few days the first week of June 2012. Very nice accomodations and location. Walking distance to the V&A Waterfront area--plenty of shops and restaurants.

Some contstruction going on this week, but they are limiting it to certain hours of the day. The restaurant--Signal--has good food, but I think a limited selection. Breakfast buffet is excellent.

Careful of the phone calls. I was quoted R5 (about 50 cents) for local calls by the operator and then charged R95 when checking out. A little price gouging if you ask me... $12 U.S. for a local call is rediculous. I know it's low season, but come on...

Overall... nice hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 312 and had an excellent view of Table Mountain and the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelerOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,699
    147
    45
    10
    17
See reviews for
341
1,044
68
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed at the Cape Grace for four nights at the very end of our honeymoon to South Africa. The Hotel is grand but homely and welcoming. Our standard room, which was well appointed and luxurious, faced the pier/docks rather than Table Mountain but we still enjoyed being able to watch the Cape Seals swim in the water from our room, they were right outside all day!

My favourite part of this hotel were the breakfasts. They were simply fabulous. If you are umming and ahhing about whether to book b&b or room only then I'd thoroughly recommend b&b. A huge continental buffet selection with hot breakfast cooked to order and overlooking the waterfront and mountains too.

The bascule whiskey bar had a good atmosphere, with a live band playing early evening. Service was impeccable with the bar waiters finding us a table and taking our orders so we needn't queue.

Location wise, you are on the doorstep of the V&A, a 10 minute walk from the Robben Island ferry point and 5 minutes from the aquarium and the start of the HoHo bus route.

The hotel is very good at the little touches, we had a small gift waiting out return everyday we stayed here. Room service was very efficient, we phoned down for breakfast one morning and it arrived 15 minutes later.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if we were ever lucky enough to return to Cape Town, we wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Cape Grace.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2penniesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

A beautiful hotel with first class service! From the moment we arrived, we knew that we where in the best hands. Check in was quick and effecient, the rooms are stunning with breathtaking views of the harbour and Mountain. We had lunch in the restaurant and our food was divine. Drinks both nights at The Bascule - after ordering our first round, we never had to ask, our waitress knew what we wanted and was always there to help us. An excellent breakfast with a wide variety - something to cater for everyone's needs. I can highly recommend a stay at the Cape Grace.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

What a hotel! From my stunning, spacious room with the Charlotte Rhys bathroom amenities to the breathtaking view of Table & Lion Mountains...I could have stayed for weeks. The location is perfection - steps away from the Waterfront where one can wine and dine and catch all the boats, buses and helicopters for any tour.
The breakfast buffet was perhaps among the best I have ever had and the afternoon tea service was memorable- better than the Ritz in London!
The staff is gracious, smiling and goes out of their way to please.
The Spa is gorgeous, offering an array of treatments and the gym is open 24hrs.
I cannot say enough about this hotel!!! I can't wait to return.
Thank you so much for taking such good care of me!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston Area
Level Contributor
157 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Everything about the Cape Grace speaks of service and luxury. From the moment we were greeted at the airport by their driver, the experience was everything that you expect from a luxury hotel. Some particular notables:

I've never stayed in a hotel where the dining venues were so enjoyable that I did not want to leave the hotel! Whether it was breakfast in the Signal Restaurant, tapas in Bascule Bar, or a light dinner in the library, every meal was exquisite.

The rooms are adequately sized but the bathrooms are HUGE marble affairs with a separate shower, a deep soaking tub, a separate water closet, and two sinks.

The car service is a huge convenience and available to take visitors distances that cover the main attractions (You'll want to rent a car or take a tour to get to the peninsula or wine country.)

One note: I'd not pay extra for a room with a patio again. Although the view was lovely, when you sat down, most of the view was blocked by patio walls that were high and wide. But it did not matter - the hotel and surrounding area were so nice, we did not miss sitting on the patio.

The Cape Grace is elegant and comfortable at the same time. If I'm ever in Cape Town again, I'll certainly stay here.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a patio. When you sit down, you lose most of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossett
Level Contributor
873 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

From the moment we arrived on the property, we were treated to superb service, food and amenities. This hotel has the best concierge service I have ever had the pleasure to use. We had emailed ahead and they arranged two days of the most wonderful day tours anyone could enjoy. The restaurant staff is so helpful and friendly and accomodating. They would have my diet coke on the table ready for me after our first meal there. Hats off to the Cape Grace!!!!

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room in this supreme location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gran7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

On the 4th of may, my cousin and I checked into the Cape Grace Hotel after a very long plane ride. We were personally escorted to our room by the manager on duty, shown all th amenities, and then before we knew it, the luggage arrived. The room had a large entrance space including the ubiquitous mini bar, but nice tea and coffee making facilities. The coffee was actually an individual one cup filter type, and there was always some biscotti with it. Then there was a dressing room...two closets separated by a dressing table, and a separate bath including a room with a toilet, double sinks, a luscious tub and a two headed shower. Everything about the room was spacious and comfortable and luxurious.
The hotel has a charming library where you may visi with friends, have a light meal or even read a book. The hotel also offered us the services of a car and driver, complimentary, and off we went to table Mountan. Breakfast is n experience in delicious creativity.
While we didn't use the spa or the pool, both looked inviting. And the location of the hotel...superb.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grannynanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing