We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotels in Cap town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Tripoli, Libya
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in Cap town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

The rooms are superb, with attention to details in all aspects. The hotel is located in one of the best areas of cape town, facing the harbour and within a walking distance from city center, I will definitely come back if I'm in cape again.

Room Tip: There is a ship maintenance area in the harbour near the hotel, try to avoid rooms overlooking that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kamal_farhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,699
    148
    45
    10
    17
See reviews for
341
1,044
68
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough Hants
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

I have written a few reviews, all of which have been positive. This is perhaps not unrelated to me checking out other people's comments. The Cape Grace got generally superb reviews. As such it is perhaps not a surprise that my comments are in line with the superlatives that others have written.

The attention to detail, the unstinting excellent service and the whole ambience of the place make it. One of the best hotels I have ever visited. I cannot speak highly enough of the staff. No problem has been too small to merit anything other than their total attention. The sad thing is that my praise is going to be but one of a whole series of glowing reviews and as such might be regarded as the norm. All I can hope is that everybody at the Cape Grace will realise how very grateful both my wife and I are for their brilliant attention


You have made my first visit to Cape Town an unbelievably enjoyable experience and also ensured that we will return


Our sincere thanks to all the staff at he Cape Grace


Ernest & Zena Craske

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernestc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We recently stayed 4 nights at this hotel as part of a Tauck tour of South Africa. The rooms were very nicely appointed and the beds were so comfortable. It is also located in an ideal spot in the V&A waterfront area with a great view of Table Mountain. Staff was courteous and very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We had been told by a friend that we must go to see the Cape Grace but found we had been booked in there by African Travel which arranged the details of our Southern African trip.
We were delighted with every aspect of the hotel, the room and bathroom, the dining room , the amenities and most of all, the warm, caring and efficient staff.

Breakfasts were excellent, almost beyond belief, and after each full day of touring, we were very pleased to use the dining room for dinner.

The waterfront location of the hotel was very convenient. For any return we will surely stay at the Cape Grace.

Room Tip: Both front and back have views of water and docks but front is more active yet we noticed no signifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in April with wife and daughters. Check in was formal and slow but helpful, interconnecting rooms were provided as requested but then you wait for the interconnecting doors to be unlocked. Rooms are luxurious and comfortable with very good amenities and facilities. Breakfast buffet is small but good quality and all hot food is "a la carte", so no such thing as a quick breakfast and we frequently had to wait for a table to become available. Concierge staff were extremely knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. Gym was small with an inadequate number of cardio machines to meet the demand. Spa looked very nice but we didn't use it. Pool was clean and private but no attendants to help get sunbeds or umbrellas etc. The hotel is on the edge of The Waterfront so just a 5 minute walk to shops, restaurants, cinema etc and even the street facing rooms are quiet at night. In summary, a very nice 5 star hotel but not the best in the world.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDE260767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Even the rain in Cape Town could not dampen our spirits arriving at the first stop on our South African vacation. The Cape Grace décor is without doubt unique. Cocktails in the library in the evening looking out over the harbor with Table Mountain in the distance (once the clouds lifted) was breathtaking. A wonderful experience. Room was very large. Service and food excellent. I could not stop looking at the décor around the entire property - just wonderful without being "over the top", creating an experience for everyone who walks through the doors that could not be matched. Great location, great views, just perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Our family of five stayed in a 2room suite, perhaps the largest suite I have ever seen. Each of my young children was given a gift package, and slippers and robes in their size!

The furnishings, decor, and bedding were excellent.

The hotel's room service and dining were 5 star. A total pleasure in every respect. The hotel also booked all our drivers and tours. My kids loved the pool, the marina, and the little drawbridge!

We visited 4 years ago in April.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6ContinentsNCounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing