We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Indulgent afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Doha
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Indulgent afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This post is all about the Afternoon Tea on offer at the Cape Grace:
The Cape Grace is a truly elegant hotel that seems almost secreted away at the V&A Waterfront. Hotel Staff are super attentive and genuinely welcoming. We had a booking for Afternoon Tea for a large group at the Library and at a cost of R105pp I must say that it's one of the best value-for-money teas in Cape Town.
The Library itself is exquisitely furnished in dark wood, plush carpets and brass fittings. We were seated out on the 'terrace' (closed in) which allowed our large group sufficient privacy. With everything prepped for our arrival it was lovely to see that our presence was anticipated and planned for.
The supply of tea and coffee seems never-ending and the tiered stands of afternoon eats look too-good-to-eat. The Salmon blini-type savory sandwiches were definitely the best! The macarons were almost too sweet which was disappointing because macarons remain my favourite delicate snack. The scones were ready prepared (topped with cream and strawberry jam/lemon curd) which was appreciated and the rest of the goodies were fine, some a little dry...

All round I would definitely recommend this tea and I will also definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BookEndDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,723
    153
    45
    10
    16
See reviews for
343
1,063
68
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Cape Grace Hotel was simply stunning.
Set in the surroundings of the V&A Waterfront the views are superb and shops / restaurants / bars easily accessible.
The bedroom was stylish, elegant, spacious and beautifully decorated.
Service was impeccable - down to the turning town of your bedding and chocolate placed on the pillow - always a lovely touch.
Breakfast was delicious and the pool looked extremely inviting - although didn't take the opportunity to use it....so much else to do.
If I was fortunate enough, I would stay in the hotel on every visit to Cape Town :-)
Definitely a must !!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feebs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Probably one of the most luxurious hotels in the world. Outstanding service. Friendly, efficient staff. Exceptional restaurant. All amongst the setting of old world charm. Table mountain was suddenly clear of cloud so we rushed back to the hotel. Unfortunately the courtesy cars were all booked but the staff got us a taxi immediately and when we came down from table mountain the courtesy car was waiting to collect us and take us where we wanted to go. Excellent service.

Room Tip: Our room over looked the marina and was very comfy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cockneyshaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is probably the grandest hotel I have stayed at throughout all my travels around the world. The service was incredible; we were identified by name each time we entered the lobby. We stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment at the end of a hall with each bedroom having a private bath and a guest powder room as well. There was a complete kitchen stocked with all the essentials. The refrigerators (2) were stocked with plenty of drinks and condiments. The room was quiet, private and beautifully decorated. The beds were very comfortable and there were plenty of towels for our family of five. This apartment had a beautiful sitting area and dining area that led to a balcony. The views were stunning with Table Mountain in the distance.

The hotel itself sits on the waterfront making for an excellent location. There are plenty of shops and dining opportunities on the waterfront or you can just walk around taking in the local flavor. The Cape Grace does provide limousine service should you want to venture away from the waterfront. However the hotel restaurant, bar and high tea service was excellent so we only ventured out one night. The spa has just become our number one spa as well.

This hotel is a must should you find yourself in Cape Town!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 904LB904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

A lovely hotel with incredible service: staff acknowledged us by name, we never had to wait more than a few minutes for any request in our room. The best ever was the coffee or tea delivered with your wake-up call! A bit slow in the dining room, but the food was excellent, and the fixed course dinner is a bargain for foodies. The location is very convenient to food, shopping and tourist entertainment. I highly recommend this hotel for an in-city stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed for short 2 day business trip - after long flight the downstairs lounge area is a nice place to do some work in relaxted environment. My room had a view of table mountain and was beautiful decorated and spaceous. The bar downstairs a good meeting place with colleagues and a quick bite to eat. Overall a very nice place to stay in Capetown.

Room Tip: If you can get a view of table mountain that makes it quite spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadKing72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is one of the great hotels of the world, no question about it. The attention to detail, magnificent interior decorating, beautiful spacious well appointed rooms, and fantastic service is right up there with the best.
The hotel provides a complimentary limousine service for transport to various sights and restaurants within reasonable distance of the hotel. This is a brilliant idea, and we used it extensively. The drivers are polite, and friendly.
The concierge desk are unbelievable, with a willingness to assist any need. Personally, I dealt mostly with Jessica, who was amazing in arranging reservations at restaurants & tours, and recommending a variety of ideas for shopping, trips etc. nothing was too hard. Thanks Jess.
However, there are some negatives, which is why I can't give this a five star rating! We had the misfortune of having a couple in the room next door who were smokers, and the cigarette smell wafted throughout the air conditioning into our room. Ugh! Smoking is banned in the hotel, so these people were totally inconsiderate. Not the hotels fault, and management did their very best to warn the culprits, but it had little/ no impact. Cape Grace also provided air purifiers, which worked until the next butt was lit up!
Also, we had a problem with laundry bags and slips, which were not left for us when the room was serviced, so we had to ring room service and ask them to deliver whenever we wanted laundry service. Similarly, we requested a daily newspaper, which only came on the first day, and never again in a 5 night stay. The minibar door would nor shut properly, so leaked.
On a more positive note, the staff in Cape Grace are amazing. So friendly, and so willing to assist. The location is excellent, with V & A shops just minutes away.
We have a group of friends staying here, and none of them have had any problems, so I guess our unfortunate experiences are one-offs, but nonetheless real , thus the 4 out of 5.
Would I return?? Most likely yes. The positives far out- weigh the negatives.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking at Table Mountain & the Marina, rather than Port Side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronnie51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#20 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing