We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definition of Luxurious Hotel.”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every moment. We were impressed at our arrival by the view of the Marina and Table mountain. We felt like VIPs because we were welcomed in our spacious Superior room with a gift for my 8 year old child and a fluffy child size bath robe with matching embroidered slippers. There was lots of storage place and room allowing to pack all your shoppings from the mall that happens to be only 5 minutes walking away. The concierge was very efficient for arranging a last minute private transportation and reservation at the Aquila Game reserve. The service is really excellent. When we walked out, the valet offered us to take a nice big wooden umbrella to shield us from the drizzle. For our 6AM departure the morning crew prepared a complimentary boxed breakfast with freshly brewed cappuccino and juice. There was so much attention to details and the staff really thought about everything what is possible to ensure our stay is the most memorable and comfortable ! We would highly recommend to experience Cape Grace.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,218 - 1,224 of 2,075 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

We knew we were saving the 'best' hotel until last when we toured SA, but we wish we had scheduled more than two nights in this truly beautiful hotel.

We cannot emphasize enough the fantastic yet informal staff that made you feel truly welcome and could not do enough for you. From the reception to the Concierge to the Restaurants all the staff were thoughtful, polite, attentive and just lovely.

If you only ever stay in one 5 star world class hotel, it must be this one. The food was reasonably priced and just fantastic. The breakfasts, in room and in restaurant were the best I have ever had.

We were on our honeymoon and I cannot have asked for or expected more from the staff in Cape Grace. We had complimentary bubbly and chocolates in the room and an upgrade to the most luxurious accommodation.

The views were spectacular over the city, mountain and V&A waterfront. One expects a great hotel if it has 5 stars, but this was truly exceptional.

The concierge (Hoon) was perfect at arranging a beach horse ride at short notice including directions. I left my phone in my room and the staff were fantastic at ensuring I was informed and it was even fully charged for me. Everyone knew our names so it was truly personal.

Thank you Cape Grace. We will never forget.

I cannot wait to go back to South Africa and this hotel.

Room Tip: All have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markwilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We booked a suite at the Cape Grace for one night before departing to Plettenberg Bay the following day. Each time we stay at the Cape Grace we are reminded of how special a hotel it is. From the perfect location, down to the staff (who know us by name) and the beautiful interiors, you just can't get better than this. We love it here and will always return when in Cape Town again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Shayna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have stayed at the Cape Grace 3 times now and have loved it every single time! This is a truly luxurious hotel in every way. We have stayed in countless 5 star hotels all around the world (Europe, US, Middle East, Far East etc etc - we live near Dubai and it's 7 star hotels) and this is truly as good as it gets. You can feel the history and service excellence in every corner. A magnificent place to stay. I could spend the whole day in the room staring at the view of the marina, and Table Mountain in the background. An excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerome N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

After spending two weeks in Rwanda, Kenya and Tanzania, photographing gorillas and zebra, it was a delight to book into the Grace Hotel in Cape Town. It was one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. From the moment we registered, the staff were attentive and helpful. They attended to restaurant bookings, sightseeing tours and also arranged visits to museums.
The hotel has complimentary car service, which took us out to lunch and dinner and even collected us.One day we were caught in a heavy rain downpour,without a taxi in sight and after a call to the hotel, the car picked 4 of us and returned us to the hotel. The breakfast was served each morning in the restaurant and there was an extensive range to order or self serve.
The rooms were generous, with walkin robes and a large bathroom. There was plenty of room to store luggage and the room staff were efficient and accommodating.
Although it is a non smoking room there was evidence that guests were smoking in rooms and the air conditioning did not completely filter the smell.
Otherwise,
I could not fault this hotel and recommend it for comfort, location, value and especially the fabulous staff.
John D, Sydney

Room Tip: A room with harbour view or Table Mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I have stayed at Cape Grace in Cape Town over 40 times since it opened over a decade ago and to this day it remains one of my favourite hotels in the World. I can't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting Cape Town. The hotel is well situated in West Quay, near enough to the Waterfront for convenience but not slap bang in the middle of the hustle and bustle. The hotel exudes luxury, elegance and comfort, from the moment one steps foot inside. The staff are truly exceptional, friendly, efficient and ever-helpful, whatever the request. They know my family well and there is always an age-appropriate welcome gift for my young daughter whenever she visits and when I am alone the staff always enquire after my family. The rooms are luxurious, very comfortable, spacious and beautifully appointed. Cape Grace has possibly the best pastry chef in South Africa today, indeed, the restaurant and room service is exceptional with a very good choice always served very well. I cannot praise the hotel and its wonderful staff enough so if you are visiting Cape Town and want to experience true luxury, make sure to stay at Cape Grace.

Room Tip: I prefer the Rooftop Rooms personally (although the Suites, whether one-bedroom, two-bedroom, three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I meant to write a review but you know how it goes, life happens and the time is an essence.
We had the most wonderful stay here. Location was perfect and very safe. Room was amazing and the service was top notch. We stayed at the 1 bedroom suite overlooking the pool with multiple balconies overlooking the marina and the V&A. There were fresh fruit basket in our room with the all the comfort you can wish for. Staffs were courteous and accomodating. I'd definitely stay here again.
For the ladies from the states, croc or ostrich leather goods are super deals!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palau05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,282 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,565 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £409 - £1,152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing