We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diedandgonetoheaven good”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Diedandgonetoheaven good”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to spend five days over Christmas at the Cape Grace Hotel. Slightly apprehensive as our first visit to SA (we will definitely go back), we arrived from the airport slightly frazzled after an overnight flight. Rooms were ready when we arrived at midday (big tick for that) and from the moment we walked through the door we were cosseted by the truly 5* service. Brilliant from start to finish: fabulous breakfast, mince pies and Christmas cake everywhere, help yourself to port after dinner, small gifts left in rooms, I could go on but I won't bore you with more details. Suffice to say we loved every minute. Thank you to all the amazing staff who made our stay so special. We will be back!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Provincialwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,748
    153
    46
    10
    17
See reviews for
349
1,080
68
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We spent New Year's at the Cape Grace, which is being touted as the second best hotel in the world. I've stayed at the Four Seasons Hualalai in Hawaii, so I can benchmark the rater's #1, but the gap is huge.

I'm not trying to be snobby, but - to be the second best hotel in the world, you'd need:

1. absolutely, spotless service - in fact, every meal we had came with slow to painfully slow service. The food was good and the staff were helpful, but perhaps as a result of the holiday crowds, they were slow.
2. the fitness studio is very small - 2 treadmills an elliptical and a bike. A small rack of free weights and a cable universal machine. If 4 people were in there together doing anything other than cardio, it was like a crowded subway train. There were no towels or bottled waters one afternoon when I went up there.
3. the pool is small and there are only 20 lounges on the deck around it. That may be ample most of the time, but on New Year's Day, it was standing room only, made more irritating by the usual tendency of some rude guests to "save" their seats and depart for lengthy periods of time only to reclaim their lounge as they pleased all day. Staff should have had a better strategy for dealing with this behavior.
4. the rooms are nice and the beds comfortable - but not better appointed than any average Ritz Carlton
5. the view from our room was directly on to the industrial pier. Our vista was old warehouses and a Taiwanese commercial fishing boat whose crew hung out on deck doing their laundry and looking at us in our first floor room.

Now - the staff was great, the location is as good as you could want in Capetown and we didn't have any issues. It's just that none of my points above should apply to the second best hotel in the world.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Chip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The great thing about this hotel is that you could walk into this fabulous hotel in your tatty jeans and be welcomed as warmly as one wearing designer clothes. Luxurious but not stuffy, the rooms are sumptuous, the service impeccable and the food at Signal restaurant is great. Pity we were only there one night - will have to return for longer!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PubLover7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beveren
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We felt at home from the moment we entered the hotel. Staff are very professional, polite and friendly. Our room on the ground floor was spacious and beautiful with a superb view on the harbour (yachts) and on Signal Hill. The bed was very comfortable. The only minor point ... the hotel charges an extra for WiFi. This should be complimentary and included in the room price. There was a minor problem with our dinner reservation but this was solved in a very professional way. The hotel management arranged something extra for our friends to celebrate their wedding anniversary. Le Signal, the hotel restaurant, is a splendid place for a special occasion : we enjoyed fantastic food and wines at an excellent price. The hotel is very well located, close to the V&A Waterfront. We will definitely come back next time we are in Cape Town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy9120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This Hotel was of a very high standard, All the staff had all the time in the world for us , and couldn't do enough to make our stay more wonderful. The surroundings are just stunning, all done in true South African taste. If you wanted to visit, any attractions up to a 20 mile radius the hotel put on a chauffer driven car to take you free of charge, At this moment in time with the exchange rate as high as it is, everything is great value.

Room Tip: On the entrance side of the hotel your rooms face the working harbour, and at the rear of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

A very well positioned hotel, on the water front which offers a hub of activity and lots of decent eateries. If you're driving, cape grace offers a free underground car park which is very useful.

Very welcoming reception. Staff seem to have the nack of remembering your name from day one. The hotel is decorated in a beautiful classic style, both contemporary and also in keeping with traditions, there is even a brochure in the room which informs you about the interiors if you're interested!

Pros:
Great breakfasts (can be taken in room or in restaurant)
Friendly staff
Ideal location
Great views (we have balcony room on fourth floor with views of yacht marina and table mountain)
Definitely feels luxurious

Cons:
Not many but perhaps the swimming pool is slightly too small for a hotel of its size.

Room: 410.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laypy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I stayed with my family earlier this month, sadly this time for only one night, but it has lost none of it's charm since we were last there. Everything from the staff to the details in the rooms is excellent and the location is of course hard to beat!

Room Tip: As it does not have a view of the sea (but does of the harbour) then the rooms overlooking the yacht...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KalShearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing