We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Returning to Cape Grace for the fifth time. The stay was a pleasure as always. It is a home away from home and probarly one of the best small luxury hotels you can find. We stayed there for five nitghts and everything was perfect. Loft luxury suite with table mountain view can be recommended.

Room Tip: Facing table mountain is quieter than the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,146 - 1,152 of 2,074 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

This world class 5 star hotel really lives up to old colonial hotels throughout the world. Having an excellent position in the V&A Waterfront, from arriving to departing the staff are courteous, happy
in what they do and are attentive, and the food is great. Six of us spent our New Year's Eve on the deck facing a lit up Table Mountain and Signal Hill. With luxury yachts in front of you, we enjoyed the sun setting, an plentiful array of Tapas foods and good wine. The two bands were just loud enough not to spoil the conversation. At 11.55, we walked through to the parking area to be enthralled with the fire work display which finished all too soon. My only irritation was the stream of people walking through the venue on their way to other parts of the Waterfront with
prams etc stopping to listen to the music. Anyway Happy New Year to all readers and come to Cape Town and the Cape Grace Hotel.

Room Tip: I'm sure that any rooms will be good but mountain facing are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Cape Grace is a hotel that lives up to everything they say. It is luxury service , from the greeting at the door of "Welcome Home", great meals, impeccable service, great views, all within walking distance of the harbor and the mall. A great 5 star hotel, with the convience of the city outside your door.

Room Tip: Rooftop Rooms are breath taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam49Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

An excellent hotel. Each night we went to bed thinking about breakfast it was that good. The rooms were slightly above average. The service was outstanding. Everything was extremely clean. Even the room service food was above average. Would stay here again if ever in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soonerpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is tranquil despite its location on a small road leading to the main waterfront attractions. We paid for an upgrade to have a table mountain / sailboat view. This provides a stunning world class view in the back of the hotel. The room is the same, but its sunny and has a juliette balcony french doors that open. We loved it. The hotel is very well managed and really comfortable. Naturally its older than the One & Only, but at half the cost we were very pleased
with everything. The One & O is quite stunning and contemporary, but you won't need it to be happy, they are a 5 min walk apart.

Room Tip: table mt. room view was great for boats, sun and mountains all in one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

If you want to wind down after a day in the city, go to the Cape Grace bar overlooking the yachts in the harbour, drinking cocktails, with the sun coming down over Table Mountain. The service is relaxed yet, attentive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank michaelmoulsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

From the moment we checked in to the moment we left all was totally wonderful about this Hotel. The staff were all so friendly that when we checked out many came to say goodbye and I felt like I was saying goodbye to friends we had been staying with at their home. It is small and perfect here! Luxurious, comfortable, amazing position and views from all windows. The breakfasts were totally delicious and nothing is too much trouble for anyone! A quick walk to the V and A Waterfront, which when dining there in the evening is so easy to just stroll back to bed! Will definitely definitely return! One of the nicest stays in a hotel around the world that we have had and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in too!! My daughter and I also had a hot stone massage - which was amazing - the spa has fantastic views of Table Mountain!

Room Tip: We slept in room 2 and on occasions you could hear the men on the security gate chatting at 5am. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,280 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,564 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £405 - £1,199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing