We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the standard to measure the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just the standard to measure the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This hotel is in the perfect location for a secure and enjoyable visit to Cape Town. I was able to dine, shop and sigh seeing using the tourist double decker bus, all within the same area. The Waterfront is packed with security guards and fine dining restaurants. Some of the best shops in town are there or have a branch there, which makes shopping very easy.
This hotel has all the modern conveniences as well as an unsurpassable service. Food is magnificent and you won't pass anyone who works there without a smile and a greeting. Our room was made completely twice a day and we felt in the best care ever.
I traveled with a 12 year old daughter and I did not find any limitations of things to do but this is not a hotel in a family resort area where noisy kids or sloppy behaviour gets unnoticed.
Wonderful food and you always feel that you are in a different dimension of establishment beyond ordinary. Totally wonderful!!!!!

Room Tip: The way to the outdoor swimming pool crosses the eating areas and that can be intimidating. If you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,700
    148
    45
    10
    17
See reviews for
341
1,045
68
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
145 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

From the the greeting at the front door to the reception and the lovely physical plant this is as good as it gets in the hotel world. Lovely décor, a fine restaurant, spacious accomodations and a five star location the Cape Grace simply has it all. As friendly and efficient staff as anyone could find fulfills your every request quickly and with a smile.

Room Tip: All rooms have water views with those on the back having table Mountain and water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljgok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed here in early January during a stop on our honeymoon. All the staff were tremendously friendly and helpful from the receptionist, to the concierge who helped us plan an entire 4 day itinerary, to the doormen, the wait staff and the complimentary chauffeurs. The hotel itself is truly beautiful and in a perfect location to be able to walk and take advantage of all the waterfront has to offer, and only a very short car ride away from most of the major attractions. Our only complaint of our time in Cape Town was that the weather did not cooperate! However, the staff at Cape Grace were awesome in helping us organize activities that were not reliant on the weather. We highly recommend trying the Whiskey Tasting in the hotel bar Bascule!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARA133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The exquisite consideration of every detail was unmatched in my 40 years of travel. Cape Grace offered true value to those enjoying life to it's finest fullest. Thank you. You placed Africa on a pedestal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed here in nov 2013 on a little getaway with my husband. It is one of the best hotels I've stayed in throughout all my years of travelling ... and I cannot say enough about the impeccable service offered at this hotel. The front desk staff all know you by name and never fail to make sure that everything is perfect for you...the room is always immaculately cleaned no matter how messy we've left the room. This hotel also probably serves the BEST breakfast I've had in any hotel...the warm breakfast options are amazing. This hotel is absolutely charming, elegant and indulgent with restraint. It has an awesome location to boot....being situated in the waterfront, it is just a 5 min walk to the V&A waterfront.

Room Tip: We had a table mountain view room which was situated in the corner and was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trav3lmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

This hotel deserves its rating as one of the very best in the world. Everything about it is impeccable, and nothing is a problem for the staff. We loved sitting on our balcony overlooking the marina, with sleek yachts moored below and majestic Table Mountain towering behind it. When the marina lights start twinkling in the evening it is truly a magical scene. We enjoyed the hotel's complimentary limousine that takes guests to nearby locations and even to beautiful Kirstenbosch Gardens much further away. For two trips to the top of Table Mountain the driver courteously took us to the lower cable station and picked us up there again, all at our chosen times. During this Christmas season guests were treated to slices of delicious fruit cake and fruit mince pies under glass domes, with small plates and napkins next to it, in many spots around the hotel - a nice touch! Staying here may be a splurge, but the memories will make you smile.

Room Tip: Choose a mountain-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

This hotel is not only situated in the best place in the world but also in the best location for stunning views. It is also only a stroll away from the Victoria Alfred Waterfront. The service has never disappoint and the quality of the food is excellent. You can sip on a G&T overlooking the marina or enjoy tea in the library just off the main entrance.
As locals we return to this hotel regularly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGJJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing