We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Outstanding hotel. Nice decor and amenities and wonderful, friendly and efficient service. Excellent breakfast included in the price. Quite busy but still manage a personal service. The Rand is quite weak now so it's not too expensive. One of the nicest hotels I've ever been to.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hollidsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,185 - 1,191 of 2,147 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

The central location and setting on the harbor is truly a great perk in the CG. Many activities are in walking distance and set a sense of being involved in a more local scene. Truly 5 star luxury service from all departments. Great doormen and concierge service that helped coordinate a perfectly timed visit up Tabletop (and timing can be very important for viewing) and sent us out for 2 wonderful meals. We took a harbor tabletop view room that I highly recommend especially if this will be your only visit to CT. Waking up to sunrise and watching sunset on the balcony with these as the backdrop will create memories for a lifetime. The room was very large and well furnished with a huge beautiful marble bath. The most memorable part of our stay was an Outstanding meal in the dining room the evening after a daylong exhausting tour in the wine country as we wanted to stay in house. We started in the bar with the sommelier present tasting different South African wines. Then we moved to the dining room to have the most wonderful meal of wild game along with stunning wine pairings per sommelier including the wine of the year, a chenin blanc that would compete with any Montrachet. Easily the best meal Ive ever had in Africa. We truly did not want to leave Cape Town-Grace for our safari that was the purpose of our trip. HIGHLY recommend

Room Tip: top 2 floors Tabletop-Harbor view......definitely worth it (did not hear boats as someone else menti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welltravelled75219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here for the last four nights of our three week African honeymoon. The location and comfort were great but the best feature of the hotel was the staff. Everyone was gracious, warm and helpful. They made us feel like honored guests. All the recommendations of the concierge, for tours, restaurants, etc. were spot on.

Room Tip: Table Mountain side of the hotel is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This was our second visit to the Cape Grace and we were not disappointed. Room was lovely although we preferred the Table Mountain side as the noise from the fishing boats did disturb our sleep one night.
Staff could not have been more attentive and it was nice that they recognised that we had stayed before.
The outdoor pool was quiet when we visited in the afternoon and the poolside staff were most helpful.
We will return !

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank maggie55186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at the Cape Grace in Jan 2014 - Staff, Service, food, location all excellent. We had a fab stay.
The rooms are spacious and individually designed, the hotel was immaculate and the staff were really helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkstar000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We booked three nights at the Cape Grace at the start of our recent holiday in South Africa, and liked it so much, we spent the last couple of nights there too, despite intending to try another hotel in a different area of Capetown. Our room was very pretty and very well laid-out and appointed - it lacked nothing we needed. Despite being in the middle of things, the room was quiet, and we liked the views of a working harbour from our balcony.
We thought the service was very good indeed, and very friendly without being unctuous. The concierges went out of their way to be helpful (especially Hoon - thank you again). Breakfasts were delicious, and the dinner we had in the Signal restaurant was excellent. I am very surprised to read Jekk G's review of 'poor staff training and extremely slow service' - it isn't what we experienced, and if we return to Capetown, we would stay there again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFDYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is the third or fourth time I have stayed at Cape Grace and I'll be back. Superbly trained staff, calm atmosphere, great rooms. It is great for business or vacation. The views are excellent too. Handy for everything and concierges who know everything!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,735 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,438 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,614 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,861 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £445 - £1,344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing