We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

From the time my wife and I checked in after a long flight from Sydney we felt welcome. Each time we returned to the hotel after an outing we were "welcomed home". The staff were great but not over the top. The car service for little outings was second to none and always there. The location is absolutely first class and central to the Waterfront district. Our room overlooked the marina and Table Mountain - I couldn't stop looking out of the window . This hotel is not cheap but I believe one of the best value for money hotels I have ever stayed with. We will return!!

Room Tip: Try to overlook Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,722
    152
    45
    10
    16
See reviews for
343
1,061
68
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was simply one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The decorations in the lobby, halls, room and everywhere were gorgeous. It has such a cool old world charm about it. The location to the Waterfront made it very easy to get out and about.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
165 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a great time while staying at the Cape Grace, the staff really made us feel at home, all the time they would greet us and help us with the dinner reservations, they have a great car service to take you to close restaurants or attractions, use it. The location is great in the harbor and close to the shopping mall with a lot of great restaurants, don't forget to try the restaurant of the hotel it is also very good. While in Cape Town, you should try the white shark cage diving experience, it's a once in a life time... now maybe twice for us. Before I forget, once we left the safe open with the wedding rings in there, and everything was there after they cleaned the room, with a card that said that they had closed the safe so I had to call the reception to get the new password to open it, we were amazed by this... excellent employees.

Room Tip: High floors towards table mountain are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler4Leisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This beautiful hotel was part of a package so we don't know the cost. We couldn't fault it. The food, comfort of the room and the efficient and courtrous staff make this a top motch place to stay in Capetown. It is right in the middle of the waterfront precinct, making it most convenient..We had a room overlooking the docks which was great. The better ones have a view of the mountain but that was not a concern. A perfect hotel!

Room Tip: Don't worry if you are not in a room facing the mountain as the dock activity is intetesting and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghostsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at Cape Grace as part of our honeymoon and can honestly say that it was a favorite! Thank you for the wonderful professional service, friendliness of all staff, beautiful room, best food, and the list can go on and on! You deserve all your stars Cape Grace, thank you for an unforgettable experience!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The food at the Cape Grace Hotel was surprisingly filling for the amount of food that you get. I ordered the Risotto and hake with mash and I nearly couldn't finish the food on my plate. I enjoyed the food at the Cape Grace Hotel so much that I recommend this hotel highly to any traveller or person wanting a filling plate of food.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Wonderful hotel in many ways - the public rooms are magnificent the staff are courteous beyond belief and will do all they can to help and a great position. Breakfast had plentiful choice and the cooked food was fine. The 2 dinners we had there were above average but not totally amazing.
The pool area was fine and the attendants helpful but the sun loungers had not been covered overnite and as it rained heavily were unusable for a few days after - also there was some evidence of used towels being reused for new clients.
The Bascule could get quite noisy if there were a lot of customers and the staff seemed to chat amongst themselves rather than serve customers. I asked for my usual tipple but when it arrived it was rather unpleasant tasting . I asked the waiter if he was sure that it was the drink I asked for and he insisted it was. I called the manager over who eventually agreed that it wasn't the requested drink but couldnt say what I had been served
Our room was rather dowdy and tired looking - buttons missing from the leather chesterfield recliner - it was evident that altho towels and sheets could be changed daily - there was no daily vaccuum service. The bathroom needed a complete renewal
All of which would have been tolerable if we hadn't been paying £500 a night. Glad I went but probably wouldn't ggo again

Room Tip: suites are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank whoopsidoneitagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#21 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing