We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis
Level Contributor
176 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

As we know, everything is expectations. I had such high expectations for the Cape Grace Hotel in Cape Town, South Africa that it would have been hard not to be disappointed.

The hotel is lovely, although in need of an update. In fact, renovations were going on while we were there, but I didn't see them. Think it was the pool. But the guest rooms, which were lovely, seemed a little out of style. The bedrooms had no drawers. Since this was our only hotel for 4 nights, it would have been nice to unpack.

The staff were wonderful. They immediately knew our names and greeted us at every opportunity.

The location was wonderful, and the food was very good.

I would recommend this hotel without question, but would be hard pressed to say it was the fabulous.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRDesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,722
    152
    45
    10
    16
See reviews for
343
1,061
68
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta GA
Level Contributor
181 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel has it all. The staff is so attentive without being pretentious. Everyone speaks to you and the concierge staff is willing to make recommendations that really suit your needs. Try out the whiskey bar downstairs and even have a private tasting. The food is good and the rooms are lovely. Located on the Waterfront there is food shopping and entertainment right outside your door. This is one of the best places I have ever stayed around the world.

Room Tip: Choose a room looking out at the harbor with doors that open. Lovely view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttraveler051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
152 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This must be the most elegant hotel in Cape Town. Attentive staff look after every detail from the moment you arrive until the last farewell. We loved every minute from sumptuous breakfasts to the last sip of late evening Port in the lounge. The hotel is wonderfully located near to the Waterfront where the choices of shopping and dining make you wish you could stay longer (or had more cash to spend)

Room Tip: The rooms facing Table Mountain are the best by far. Unfortunately only half the rooms in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeMouse2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Cape Grace was one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. We loved the understated elegance of the hotel, with beautiful art work throughout the place. The service was excellent. To a person, all the staff were so welcoming and capable. And the food in their restaurant was excellent! Our two room suite was spacious with a beautiful and comfortable living area, three bathrooms, and a view of the bay. We particularly enjoyed their tea and pastries/appetizers in the afternoon in their library/tea room. The hotel arranged for a complimentary use car to transport us to and from dinner at local restaurants which was very convenient. We would absolutely recommend this luxury hotel for anyone visiting Cape Town.

Room Tip: We recommend travelers request the side of the hotel with views of Table Mountain (there was a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My fourth visit to this hotel in Cape Town. Once again everything was excellent in every detail of service, food and accommodation. One morning after an early run in the dark I came back to the front entrance and the doorman asked if he could offer me a bottle of cold water! That is what I mean about "excellent in every detail." Additionally, the hotel offers the very best location of any luxury hotel in this favorite city of mine.

Room Tip: All category rooms are good. Don't forget to look at the chandeliers on each floor. You are in f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewout d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Food at this Hotel is amazing and ranks up with my best dinning experiences. There is a nice selection of Wines and varied daily specials. The restaurant is relaxed and casually elegant. Dine here and you will remember it fondly long after your meal is over.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EugeneCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We visited Cape grace during our 10 days South Africa & Safari vacation. It was our first stop and I am glad we booked Cape Grace to start our holiday. The facility itself is just great, spacious rooms, beautiful and well decorated interior / lobby area. It is not an ultra modern hotel but not very classic either. It has a nice touch of South Africa with furnitures and items that reflect the country. Although I personally do not like much very classic facilities, I can simply say that I loved Cape Grace. The location can not be better, right on the Waterfront where you can find nice restaurants and outdoor attractions. I always book hotels in good locations and Cape Grace definitely fits that criteria. Concierge was very helpful with all reservation requests and the overall service was just smooth and 5 star level. I strongly recommend Cape Grace to everyone who wants to enjoy Cape Town. The price might be a little higher than others but it is well worth the amount. Go ahead and book, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eren3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#21 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing