We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding, one of the best in the world”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding, one of the best in the world”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

What sets this wonderful hotel apart -aside from the unbeatable location on the Cape Town Waterfront - are the amazing staff: from top management to the doormen and cleaning staff - this hotel just oozes class. Dining is an absolute treat, each restaurant superb. The Grace is understated elegance-highly recommended

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Clifford S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,748
    153
    46
    10
    17
See reviews for
349
1,080
68
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We spent a short three night stay in Cape Town,during our South African tour and,despite the winter weather,we hope to return but for longer,next time.
We were well located for the V&A activities,shops,bars ,restaurants,and tourism opportunities.
The hotel is sizeable yet holds the ambiance of a small boutique hotel.
The friendliness and attention to detail of our needs from all the staff ,from Concierge,to Waiter ,and senior staff was commendable.
We tried the Whisky Bar,where the service was very good.That said,the food at the Signal Restaurant ,along with the entertainment value from Martin the Sommelier(Wine waiter) was exceptional .His anticipation of our tastes was spot on yet respectful of our limited knowledge !
Whilst there,we had a short trip of the City,and visited the Southern Cape,both memorable and run well from our hotel base.

Room Tip: We had a room facing Table Mountain and the Marina. A real 'wow factor' when we awoke the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnjaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Cape Grace is a world class hotel. The room we had was spacious with a balcony overlooking the harbor. It had all the amenities one would expect of a luxury hotel. Welcoming staff was warm and friendly. The concierge was helpful setting up dinning reservations and chauffeur support to and from the dining venues. The restaurant, Signal, offered exceptional food and had a very diverse and reasonably priced wine list. A breakfast that appealed to all tastes was included. Lunch was available as was "High Tea". Hotel was a safe 5 minute walk from a shopping mall, restaurants, and harbor boating excursions. Definitely a place to stay in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony overlooking the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misha44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is a lovely hotel with great service! The breakfast (included with our stay) was awesome -fresh, lots of variety and delicious! Great on-site food and beverage outlets, but also a short walk to local restaurants, shopping, attractions. The hotel was doing some pool renovations, and compensated us for the inconvenience with a free dinner (unexpected, but appreciated); the meal was delicious, and the service was attentive...friendly, helpful concierge team...we stayed in a two bedroom suite-lots of space, comfortable beds, nice kitchen, living room and dining area, very clean and well maintained rooms!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOSgirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

What a wonderful place to land after such a long trip from the US. The Cape Grace Hotel is a beautiful property and was our first stop on our two and a half week family trip to Africa. All of our rooms faced the harbor and had a beautiful view of Table Mountain. Our room was lovely with a very comfortable bed, fine linens, wonderful soaking tub, heated towel rack, mini bar, and an espresso machine. I loved the dressing area and vanity.

The hotel staff was second to none. They addressed us all by name after the first night. It really made the entire stay feel very special. We had breakfast daily at the hotel and the food and service were both fantastic.

The Cape Grace Hotel was perfect in every way. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvnlife22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledyard, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Spent the first week set the One and Only then transferred to the Cape Grace. Located at Cape Town's vibrant and bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront. The staff is excellent and give you very personalized service. Hotel is outdated and in need of a few repairs ...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelleyMcBreairty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Hi,

Second stay at the Cape Grace in two years.

Nice area around the waterfront. Rear facing rooms have the best view of a yachting Marina.

Beds are VERY comfortable with superb linen. It's so good you'll notice.

But the main thing is, the staff get to know you. Address you by your surname and are always on hand to help. Great breakfast. Great service.

Small but perfectly formed gym.

At the time of writing, the pool was closed but the hotel offer to transport you elsewhere to one.

Room Tip: Rear facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PauloAmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing