We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!!!”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Grace is the right word to describe this beautiful hotel. From the entrance to the lobby, it's decorated with classical style and high quality furnishings, with warm welcoming atmosphere by the staff. The rooms are quite spacious with separate hallway with makeup vanity, opening to the nicely sized double sink bathroom, with a separate toilet. The views of our rooms facing the table mountain and the marina was amazing! Beds very comfortable with wifi in the room.
The breakfast was ok, it could have more and better selections for a hotel in such high caliber.
Location is very good within minutes away from the V&A water front shops, restaurants and few markets. After going around this beautiful city, I believe this hotel is the best choice. The complimentary driver with a brand new BMW, was an icing on the cake.
The staff will go out of their way to help you with any thing you need.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with the view of the marina and the Table mountain, is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tulip053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,017 of 2,129 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

We found this hotel to be fine with attentive and friendly staff. It has a very good location on the water and we felt it was a safe area to walk around. Meal and bar service were slow and the food was just average.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Without a doubt "a must do" , experience. From the moment of being picked up from the airport by the Cape Grace courtesy car, to arriving being greeted with the old world charm yet familiarity of "coming home".
Although not modern, the amenities are fabulous and whilst being given "the tour" , delighted in all the various quirks and nooks and crannies to explore.
There's an abundance of culture and history to glean from the staff and locals as you breath in perhaps one of the most picturesque scenes the world has to offer.
Dining is bellisimo ! Eclectic, modern, and yet at 3 in the morning if you find yourself in the library hungry, you'll have no problem in ordering up a sandwich or two !
What are you waiting for ? Go!

Room Tip: Suggest the top rooms facing the marina as you are then able to fully appreciate the wonders of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel. It's in a perfect location to base yourself to see all of the sights. The hotel is situated right on the V&A Waterfront, so plenty to do within walking distance, with amazing selection of restaurants and stores. We stayed in adjoining suites and the rooms were beautifully appointed. Very clean and modern hotel with excellent service. We had a beautiful view of the marina from our rooms which was really nice. We rented a car from Europe Car whilst there and they delivered the car right to the hotel's parking lot, couldn't be any easier. Driving to see the penguins at Boulder Beach or driving to Table Mountain was easy from the hotel and I would recommend doing so as it's a beautiful drive along the coast. Cape Town is such a beautiful city and I believe this is the best hotel to stay to explore it fully.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank The_Traveler_011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

The hotel is wonderful- all services related to this stay. The continental breakfast is excellent. The location next to the wharf is great with views of the marina and Table Mountain. The extras include cars to get you to restaurants and other sites to see. The concierge service is well-versed in all of the attractions, restaurants, etc. The rooms are spacious, as well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gastro44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We had 3 nights here. The Hotel was out of this world! We stayed in a premier room with a view of table mountain and the kids 18,13 and 10 stayed directly opposite in their own room.
They loved it. The staff were faultless. Anything you needed they sorted it out for you. The hotel has a certain air about it that makes you think the kids must be quiet and 'perfect' and although very well behaved, anyone travelling with kids, especially 2 boys knows that just isn't going to happen. How wrong that is though, I was surprised at how relaxed and personable the staff are. It just goes to show that even at the Best hotel in Cape Town- (my opinion) kids are still very much welcome which in turn makes us as parents so much more relaxed! Thanks Cape Grace for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room which was absolutely beautiful. No loud Ac no noise from outside. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We looked at a number of hotels before deciding on Cape Grace and were so pleased with our choice. Firstly, the location is brilliant. We had a fantastic view of the Marina with the amazing backdrop of Table Mountain. It was great to be able to walk to the V&A Waterfront both during the day and for its great choice of restaurants and bars in the evenings. The short walk across the bridge also meant that although feeling central, the liveliness of the area didn't disturb you at night.
We also made use of the chauffeur service which was really convenient and took out the hassle of exploring central Cape Town. It was really easy to arrange and the drivers were great to chat to and very reliable.
The hotel itself was very comfortable and we loved the decor too. We had a large room on the second floor with separate dressing area and we weren't aware of any noise from outside or from the people staying around us. We ate twice in the hotel restaurant, which was fantastic both times and there was a great breakfast every day too. The hotel also did a great picnic including a bag with blanket and crockery etc.
The service was probably the most outstanding thing about our stay though. Everyone we came across was lovely and friendly and the attention to detail made you feel very special. This was a special treat for us because it was our honeymoon and it's a far fancier hotel than we're used to. I'm sure that was obvious to staff but we were still made to feel very important and we had some lovely honeymoon treats.
Special thanks must go to Reggie the concierge who really helped us to get the best out of our stay and organised so much for us, as well as Stretton who warmly welcomed us. So many of the staff picked up on little things for example organising a late check-out for us on our last day in the pouring rain without prompting and offering to book restaurants etc.
Cape Grace really did make our honeymoon special and if we're ever in Cape Town again it's definitely where we would stay - you really do get what you pay for.

Room Tip: The hotel website explains the levels of rooms well and you can specify a Table Mountain View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 81Hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,704 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,391 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,839 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,819 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#23 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £459 - £1,621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing