We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waterfront”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Uppsala
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Waterfront”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

This hotel is fantastic. Great breakfast, The room I had was big and spectacular, plus for the mini snacks and coffee making facility in the room. It also has a great location by the waterfront.

  • Liked — the snacks in the room
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cnygaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,723
    153
    45
    10
    16
See reviews for
343
1,063
68
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

I won a voucher for a breakfast for two at the Cape Grace's new signal restaurant - what a wonderful experience!! Although they don't offer a traditional breakfast buffet, the portions are big enough to fill anyone! The service was excellent and the food incredible! The hotel was really quiet when we visited so that could be the reason for the very attentive service. Nevertheless, we enjoyed the experience and couldn't fault them on anything. The manager, Michael was on hand at all times, and came over to chat to us on numerous occasions. He remembered that I had called earlier in the week requesting a reservation and enquiring about aspects of the menu. overall, brilliant service and great food.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdelsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

My family and I have just returned from the most wonderful holiday of a lifetime in South Africa........We had been planning our trip for months and had called around various tour operators and even at one stage thought about arranging it all ourselves by using the internet..........On recommendation of a good friend we called Essential Escapes in London [--] and explained to them that we wanted to do a Safari for a couple of days and then hire a car and explore The Garden Route, finishing off in Cape Town for a few days..........Everything was arranged perfectly ( taking into consideration our every requirement) by the most helpful staff. They booked our international and internal flights, a great Safari which our children absolutely loved, carhire and the best hotels and guest houses the whole way along The Garden Route to Cape Town, where we stayed on The Waterfront at The Cape Grace....a perfect way to end our trip......The Cape Grace's location was perfect for us to make day trips in our hire car to explore Table Mountain and to visit the penguins at Boulders Beach, Cape Point and of course the winelands......I would recommend Cape Grace to start or finish any trip to South Africa and of course Essential Escapes in London for ensuring our trip ran smoothly.......

  • Liked — Location and Spa
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyHolmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oslo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

It is incredibel - we are in 2009 the hotel carge 6000 rand a night (ca 800 USD a night) - and you have to pay 100 rand for using the wireless 24 hour - also beacuse of the festivite season you have to stay for 5 night.

This is a mangment problem - they should understad that on international top hotel that Cape Grace actually is you should not need to pay for using the wireless in the room. (Businessenter downstairs is fre - but you can not use your own computer there then you have to pay.)

I will call this just grady management. all the staff is extremly nice and servicemindet. The location is nice and also the rooms.

So - just get rid of the charginging of wireless and they will get a 5-star from me.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Have to pay for the wireless
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mtnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2008

Overall we highly enjoyed our time at this recently renovated hotel. We would recommend it for Cape Town stays
Location: at the V&A waterfront it is at 5 min walking distance from many shops and various restaurants (the latter rather average and touristy).
Room: we got upgraded to a very nice rooftop luxury room (402) with a small terrace with incredible views on Table Mountain and the marina. Nice bathroom, great views from the shower. We really enjoyed spending time in the room and out on the terrace, and recommend to avoid a room facing the other side of the hotel.
Service: overall outstanding, especially from the concierge team. The hotel car service was also impeccable and, different to other high end hotels we’ve stayed at and offered it, it is typically available if you book at least 24h in advance. There is some room for improvement for the waiters, especially some of the less experienced that serve breakfast by the pool.
Food: we had breakfast at the hotel which was of very good quality and varied.
Highlight: The views of Table Mountain, concierge service and the adjacent marina.
Worst factor: there is a dry dock a few hundred meters away and when the wind blows the wrong way, you can smell the stench while by the swimming pool and from the breakfast areas.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demanding-guests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2008

I'm not sure how so many poor reviews have been recorded for Cape Grace. I thought it was excellent. We stayed in one of the larger suites with my family. The quality of this was fantastic with great views across the marina towards Table Mountain.
We stayed for three nights and ate at the hotel's restaurant which was also excellent. I saw a few people complaining about the service at breakfast, but didn't experience any significant problems myself.
We'll be going back to South Africa for the World Cup and will probably be back at Cape Grace.

  • Liked — The large family suites have great views
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hesmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2008

We stayed at the Cape Grace during November - it was a superb experience.

The service was first rate. We had a large, newly refurbished room looking over the harbour and an excellent bathroom. Nothing had been forgotten, they were good on the big things, (great bed, linen, towels, bath) and good on the small things (smellies, tea and coffee etc).

The refurbishment is somewhat conveservative not the edgy waterfront look and feel that I somehow expected, but very comfortable. The chauffeur service is very good, just remember to book in advance during peak times (mornings and dinner) and the the hotel staff fell over themselves to help.

Its expensive but worth it as you do feel spoilt!

Great breakfast choices too; and such a nice change to have table service rather than the dreaded hot buffet.

First rate, it deserves its conde nast award.

If I had one small nag it was that on the morning of check out the door bell went three times before 9am with people wanting to clean, check the mini bar etc.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank BearLady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing