We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Hotel with a personal service”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Luxury Hotel with a personal service”
Reviewed 15 March 2009

We booked this hotel a year ago, specifying a Table Mountain/Marina view and was advised this would not be a problem. Of course, upon checking in, the unsurprising happened, when being shown to our romm I casually mentioned that did we in fact have the requested view? Casually he remarked that this would not be availble until tomorrow. I wonder if he ever was going to tell us this and hoped we wouldn't have noticed as we were practically in our room as he mentioned it!

I was disappointed, especially with a years notice, but understand it does depend on availability of people prevoiusly occupying the rooms and that there were only around a dozen of these type of larger rooms with balcony. To his credit he did try again to see if a room was available, but the assistant manager Jacques rang up to apologise, but would ensure the next day, upon our return from our trip to Aquila Game Reserve, our bags would be transferred.

True to his word, upon our return, we were handed new room keys and we were shown the way. As soon as we settled down the phone rang and it was Jacques once more apologising and hoping we had settled down OK.

This level of service was continuous throughout our 4 night stay there and this was the only little blip of our stay. The check in area/lobby is quite small and informal where you just sit down at a desk, sign a guest book and check in. We were there an hour or so before our room was ready so we were shown to the library for complimentary tea/coffee before we had a look around this hotel.

It was very well adorned with nautical themeing and little touches such as fishing nets in the chandeliers and other unusual objects. Each floor had it's own theming from copper utensils and other objects in glass cabinets down the hallway to wooden artifacts - very unusual but attractive. The pool area, as some have said, is compact and small. Not befitting of a 5 star hotel, but you make do because there is too much to see in Cape Town to be stuck by the pool for any more than a day or 2!

Our room was spacious and modern with (at last!) a great view over Table Mountain and Marina. We had a nice little balcony to sit outside and watch the comings and goings. We had a small hallway with tea and coffe making facilities, with for the 1st time I have seen, little fliter coffees you just pour water in while sitting on top of your cup and out drains a tasty coffee, and there were 'coffee' bags (like tea bags) and little biscuits and free water. To the left we had a walk in closet with umbrellas and iron and plenty of space for your case and hanging clothes. Opposite this was another 'case space'. Next there was the large bathroom with bath and shower and double sink, contemporary and indiviually decorated. Our bedroom area was spacious with a comfy chair and 2 seater settee and a wooden lattice rope seat at the end of the bed, in African style I guess, along with a wooden chest and large wooden (inoperative/decorative) clock on the wall. The bed was very comfy indeed. TV was LCD (no ipod docking station) and provided a good range of channells.

The breakfast was good. A La Carte, sort of, and you could have more or less whatever you wanted and as it was included in our package we didn't pay any extra for this (unusual, no buffet for a pre-paid package, so nice change for A La Carte). We had dinner one night and it was very good with an unrushed (bordering, perhaps on the slow) pace, but it was all good with a wide choice of meat and fish and wine (superb and very reasonable, as the food prices, for where you were, compared to UK).

All in all , the service was second to none, with frequent use of our names (how do they remember?....). On the last night one of the managers came out knowing it was our last night, and using our name hoped we had a great stay and hoped to welcome us back again. The car limousine service was good, which we used twice - very prompt, efficient and friendly, but you must pre-book.

Location is great, on the V&A waterfront, where we felt safe while shopping and eating. Would recommend Balthezars on the waterfront for a superb meal (fillet steak, peppercorn coating!), right overlooking the water with amazing food and a great atmosphere an a gorgoeous South African shiraz! Amazing night and meal, very relaxed.

We had a lovely stay in this lovely hotel and city. Cape Town and the surrounding areas are beautiful with rolling hills and mountains and greenery just a few miles from the city cenrte. Our wine tasting day (20 tastings later!) was great and the scenery was so vibrant and green and colourful and went on and on. Cape Point was breathtaking as was Good Hope and the Botanical Gardens - we also went to Camps Bay for a nice sunset meal in Blues.

Would go back, lovely hotel (expensive), personal service, well appointed rooms, reasonable priced and high quality food and drink and friendly people. The room issue was soon forgotten and we now have to start saving to return in a few years - and we will!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanUK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,769
    155
    46
    10
    17
See reviews for
354
1,093
70
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kikambala Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2009

We loved the Cape Grace - our room was over looking the marina and the bed was so comfortable, the bathroom luxurious & the service so gracious. On my husband's birthday, we were moved to the Penthouse Suite as a special surprise!! Loved the spa treatments as well. It was truly a trip to remember and we would recommend this hotel to any one looking for a special hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lunawatersports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
378 reviews
362 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 626 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

Outstanding service and breakfast. Free limousine service within 10km radius proved very effective. Good choice for business traveler. Pool area not good enough for leisure traveller: you need to walk in your bathrobe through the lobby and library. Don't like the waterfront location, but this is really up to personal tastes. Interior design quite sophisticated, but still in search of a soul of its own.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

The Cape Grace was exactly what we wanted from our Cape Town hotel - fantastic position, beautiful rooms, excellent concierge and a fantastic car service which saves you getting taxis and makes negotiating Cape Town so much easier. But, you have to make sure when you book the hotel that your room is located on the Table Mountain side and not the other. We were initially facing the other way and there are shipping trawlers outside which absolutely stink! We couldn't bear to go on to our balcony and had to ask for a change of rooms which the hotel was happy to oblige with.

Also we found the pool service very poor. No one ever offered us food or drink and the towels from the last people were never removed. In a 5 star hotel, it shouldnt be a 'do it yourself' job. On the upside though, when we did complain, the staff were incredibly courteous and dealt with the problem immediately.

So despite our few problems, we really did enjoy our stay and would return.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NNGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2009

We had two nights in the Cape Grace at the start of our holiday in Cape Town before we went off on our wine tour. It is an excellent 5 star hotel with friendly and efficient staff. We had a luxury roof top room with great views of Table Mountain and Signal Hill. The room was very well appointed with everything you could possibly want. We enjoyed the pool and had lunch in the restaurant which was great. We were a little disappointed with the breakfast, the cooked selection we had could have been better. The car service is excellent and took us to the cable car for Table Mountain, they even supplied tickets so we didn't have to queue. The location of the Cape Grace couldn't be better right next to the V&A Waterfront with plenty of restaurants and shops to choose. Everything about the Cape Grace was excellent except that it is a little pricey!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janner05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Cape Grace during out honeymoon in July of 2008...The hotel is in a great locations on a quay close to the center of the V&A waterfront...It is surrounded by the water and has great views of the mountains that surround Capetown...The hotel is designed in an elegant colonial/nautical fashion...Since it was our honeymoon, the hotel upgraded us...Little did we know that we got upgraded to the Penthouse Suite...The room was huge...Probably about 1200 square feet with a huge terrace (with hot tub) and large living room...The complimentary mini bar was fully stocked...When going to dinner the hotel provided us with a free transfer in a luxury car when it was available...The staff was very helpful (although we did run into an occasional staff member who was not as knowledgeable as we would have expected)...Although our experience was clearly skewed by our amazing room, the hotel was still great...During our stay we went to the Table Bay hotel (not as personal or elegant as the Cape Grace), Twelve Apostles hotel (not as refined or professional but with a great view) and the Mount Nelson (very stuffy and didn't benefit from the waterfront location) and the Cape Grace was definitely the best hotel in town...Cape Town itself was amazing...There were a lot of attractions around town (Botanical Gardens, Cape Point, Table Mountain and the vineyards) and magnificent restaurants (Jardine was our favorite)...In my opinion it is only topped by Sydney in terms of my favorite cities in the world.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

Loved this hotel!

Fantastic service, great food and one of the nicest suites we have ever seen!

If you are travelling with children this hotel is great they make them feel very welcome here! They even give them a gift when you arrive which they love!!

And the breakfast is amazing!!!

Stay you will love it!!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLondon095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,552 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,156 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,688 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing