We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 108 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 19 July 2009

The Cape Grace was fantastic, the rooms were very stylish, clean, and at a fantastic quality, the staff there were superb,and extremely warm and friendly they couldn't do enough to help you. The hotel was excellent with a beautiful library and delicious food to a very high standard in their restaurant Signal.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Number1Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,744
    153
    46
    10
    17
See reviews for
348
1,077
68
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Cape Grace is THE place to stay in Cape Town. Amazing service,great location and a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sellers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We stayed here for 5 days as part of 3-week honeymoon. The staff are wonderful – very friendly, helpful, professional and efficient. Loved our room and the Bascule whisky bar. Loved Cape Town full stop and when we come back we wouldn’t stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shogan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

I travel regularly around the world and have stayed in hundreds of hotels. The Cape Grace has become the gold standard: it is simply the best hotel I have ever stayed in. This is not because it is the plushest, or the largest, or the most expensive. Rather it comes down the tasteful decor, extraordinary staff, exceptional location and a whole range of little personal touches: fresh flowers in the room, a creative little box of goodies for our children, even a gingerbread man for them in the evenings. Do yourself a favour next time you are in Cape Town and stay in this hotel. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

This hotel is the best ever!

This best thing about the hotel is that the staff and managers are so very friendly and helpful so that this hotel is the best ever!

Stepping out of our transfer from the airport the concierge greeted our daughter by her Christian name and this was the start of the best ever hotel we have stayed in both from the staff, the hotel room and the excellent restaurant where we were given glasses of Chardonnay while waiting for our wine to cool. It is all the very small special touches and helpfulness which distinguishes this hotel from the rest and so you really must go there and stay and enjoy it for yourself.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank b00jum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

If you are reading this and trying to decide wether to book, do it its amazing you wont be dissapointed! We stayed at this hotel in Jan last year and had the most amazing time.

Rooms
Very well equiped we had a separate dressing room,large bathroom with walk in shower separate toilet,we didnt have a view of Table Mountain as we were at the front of the hotel.We had a juliet style balcony and had a lovely view over the V&A waterfront.Plenty of storage in the room, lovely toiletries similar to Molten Brown/White Company.Plenty of tea/filter coffee,biscuits,bottled water,lovely turndown service with choccies etc.

Pool
I agree with previous reviews the pool area is quite small but as there is so much sightseeing to do in Capetown we only spent 2 days by the pool.Pool service was good ate at the poolside and it was lovely.We thought the meals really good value.

Bar/Food
The bar in the basement was fab,the biggest wine cellar ive ever seen.Really great staff .The bar gets really lively on a weekend and has a great vibe cocktails were fab.We also ate in the bar and again food was gorgeous and reasonable.We had both breakfast in our room and in the restaurant and both were great.

Spa
Was lovely I had a pre long haul flight treatment on my last day which was great,a massage & scrub then inflatable sort of leggings it was lovely and my room had a view of table mountain.When I got back to my room after my teatment there was a little gift from the spa which was a nice touch.

We ate at a couple of restaurants on the V&A waterfont and they were all good even tried Ostrich.I would recommend a trip to Table Mountain hotel will organise a car or taxis are sooo cheap.We went to Robben Island the ferry crossing is only a few minutes walk from the hotel, quite an emotional experience and well worth a visit.We also took a taxi to Camps Bay which was amazing, fantastic beaches and restaurants ate .We ate at the most amazing restaurant which was one of the top places to eat overlooking the sea dress up a bit it was v posh.We had friends staying in The Table Bay which didnt look as nice as our hotel,much bigger and not as classy.The shopping centre on the V&A waterfont is great not any cheaper than home but lovely designer shops.

Oh and dont forget the amazing wine.

Hope you decide to visit we will return!

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brooke007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

My wife and I stayed at the cape grace a few weeks ago. It is without question the greatest service we have ever received. We are used to staying at Four Seasons, Ritz Carltons etc so we know nice hotels. The service here was unreal. The hotel offers a complimentary car service anywhere in a 10km area. We went to Table Mountain and the hotel dropped us off and picked us up in their beautiful 7 series BMW. We went to a restaurant for dinner and they dropped us off and told us to call them when we finished and they came right back to pick us up. Each morning with our wake up call came a knock on the door with fresh coffee and tea. Every night we came home we had a small gift waiting for us. I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel provided you are not scared off by the high rates they charge. It's not a cheap place but to me it is well worth it. It's in a great location for walking to shops/restaurants and many other activities. Jules and Andrea in particular were just incredible helps to my wife and I as we had never been to Africa before. It was a truly amazing experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ltdrebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing