We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“`Oasis in the V&A Waterfront Capetown”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Co Wexford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“`Oasis in the V&A Waterfront Capetown”
Reviewed 8 February 2010

My husband and I were lucky enough to stay in the very elegant Cape Grace Hotel during our recent visit to Capetown. The hotel and the staff were superb, I could not find a single thing wrong with it. From the moment we arrived I felt we were treated as the most special guests they had ever had! The reason for our trip was my 50th birthday and I received a bottle of champagne, sweets a gift and a hand written card! Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff we met. Our room was extremely comfortable with a separate area for wardrobes and a dressing table, best hairdryer in a hotel I have ever had. An iron and ironing board were also provided.
At the end of our trip we stayed in the Table Bay hotel for 2 nights which if we hadn't stayed at the Cape Grace we would have thought more of I'm sure, but in no way could it be compared to the elegance and luxury we experienced in the Cape Grace.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyCoWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,748
    153
    46
    10
    17
See reviews for
349
1,080
68
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
868 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

I meant to write this months ago. So I will do it now, as this hotel really does deserve the best of praise.

The location is absolutely the best, being within easy walking of shops, entertainment and restaurants. And the area is as safe as it can get in SA. The hotel is fairly casual and very human in scale. It has beautiful rooms, great furnishings and is truly comfortable. The staff were all, without exception, quite outstanding.

A really memorable stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

The Cape Grace is a luxuriously comfortable small boutique hotel in a great location. The staff are delightfully pleasant and anxious to take good care of you. Smiles everywhere. The rooms are very well appointed and spacious. The restaurant is excellent, and I would be very happy to stay here again, which I will probably do.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW ZEALAND
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

this hotel is in the best spot of the city. Is very nice, clean and comfortable. The view of the waterfront is great, the service is outstanding and all the staff is more than helpfull GREAT

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinotNoirlover57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Cape Grace Hotel is located in a terrific location in terms of shopping and restaurants. The hotel is right on the harbor and the views are beautiful. There are wonderful touches, such as complimentary sherry and port in the library every evening; downloads of your favorite newspapers (we got the New York Times and USA Today delivered to our room every day) and the courtesy limo to places in Cape Town.
The service in the restaurants was not consistent. Several times at breakfast we had to find our own coffee and almost beg for service. Given the price of the hotel, this is unacceptable. The guest relations desk was not always staffed with people who could help out.
Rooms were lovely with a spacious dressing area and a huge marbled bathroom. French doors opened to a view of the harbor-in the evenings we saw seals romping in the water.
Overall this is a very gracious and lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

The Cape Grace is situated at the V & A watwerfront development. The room we had was one of the best we have ever occupied. The staff were pleasant and extrenely helpful. The food was excellent.
The only drawback is that the non-smoking area of the bar is sometimes cordoned off for private parties. Otherwise faultless.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanHYarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Stayed at the Cape Grace for 4 days at the start of our trip to South Africa. From the minute we arrived at the hotel it was a fantastic experience. It ranks as one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The team at Guest Relations are very helpful in arranging tours or restaurant recommendations. (Special mention to Sheba!). The breakfasts were of an extremely high quality with an excellent selection. The rooms and general decor of the hotel is extremely classy whilst being very cosy and welcoming. The pool area is a bit on the small side but was never busy during our stay and the pool staff couldn't do enough for you. We made good use of the hotel's BMW 7 Series to ferry us around the city, it's complimentary and you do need to book in advance. The hotel is certainly not cheap but we also didn't feel it was poor value either. The old addage you get what you pay for certainly applies at the Cape Grace.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gusfenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing