We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2007

Wouldn't stay here. Very stuffy and full of their own self importance. Definately turned their nose up at children even though they were neatly dressed and well behaved.

Stayed: February 2007
4  Thank Tayl0rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,057)
There are newer reviews for Cape Grace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,859 - 1,865 of 2,057 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2007

We recently stayed at the Cape Grace and LOVED it! The service was over the top, the food was delicious (especially the fruit at the breakfast buffet), and the location was perfect. Our room had a great view of the marina and was better than any hotel we had stayed in before, to include several of the Ritz locations in Portugal and Santiago. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lbrown2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2007

5  Thank bilky2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2007

The Cape Grace has the ability to treat every guest as royalty. A true class act! Let's leave the obvious aside: cleanliness, great location, wonderful restaurant, etc. and just talk about the extra touches. Three acts particularly grabbed my attention. My mother had a birthday 2 days after we were staying at the Cape Grace. She came back to her room one afternoon to find a dessert and champagne waiting for her. In chocolate was written "Happy Birthday!". Twice I received a phone call offering services. The first went like this: "We understand that you have a dinner reservation at 8:00. Would you like for the hotel driver to take you?" Sure enough, a beautiful BMW and a safe, polite driver took us to our restaurant and picked us up 2 hours later. The second call: "We understand that your flight to Jo-Burg is early tomorrow morning. Could we prepare a take away breakfast for you so that you may enjoy it at your leisure?"
Seriously, if you want to feel like royalty, this is the hotel for you!
I tell everyone about it if they are considering Cape Town as a destination.

  • Stayed: July 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank susanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Ian Phillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2006

I am writing this review just hours before we are due to check out. From the time we arrived until now, I am very impressed with this hotel. The location being walking distance to the Waterfront was a major plus. Each evening the concierge booked us dining reservations and they were all great except for the much overrated Auberge. (Please see the restaurant reviews that I have posted too). The room we had overlooked the small private harbor behind the hotel as well as spectacular views of Table Mountain. We had a large room that was well decorated but not too over the top. The hotel staff was extremely helpful also. If you need to go anywhere within 10 km of the hotel, they have a driver with a 750I BMW that will cart you around. Edward and Ruben are the drivers. My only gripe with that is they wouldn't let us drive the car!! Yes the hotel is pricey; however, you get what you pay for!!! Would come back in a heartbeat!!! Will try to submit pictures later. Happy to answer any questions you may have!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Sfarmer1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2006

What a fantastic start to our honeymoon, Cape Grace was everything we were hoping for and more. It truly is spectacular, and the service is first class. There are so many luxuries and the attention to detail is unbelieveable, nothing was too much trouble, the staff were superb. The hotel is beautiful, the food top notch, the facilities were great, especially the spa! the bedroom we stayed in was an absolute delight. As it was our honeymoon we received a gift each day from the hotel and they were so thooughtful, kind and generous. We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and will definately be returning in the near future. Thank you Cape Grace for an unbelievable stay and a memory we will never forget.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank hammerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,634 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,251 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,741 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,514 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £387 - £1,246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing