We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“World class”
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Spent three days at the Cape Grace on a holiday. It is, as other reviewers have noted, nearly perfect in every respect. Service is attentive and conscientious without being fussy or intrusive. The staff (both at the concierge desk and through to the waitstaff and maids) were not only helpful, but also warm. The rooms are spacious and exceedingly well appointed. I've stayed in top class hotels around the world, but the Cape Grace is unique in its (at least in my case) attentiveness to every guest and boutique hotel personal touch, while still having the amenities and privacy of a larger luxury hotel. Also, the hotel offers free transfer service within 15 or 20k, which is an unbelievable perk and luxury. In particular, I'd like to thank drivers Ricky and Trevor and Elsa at the concierge desk, who were really helpful and personable during our stay.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ACR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,781
    155
    46
    10
    17
See reviews for
357
1,100
70
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Perfect location, unbelievable staff, beautiful accommodations, private 750il car service for guests, surrounded with excellent restaurants and shopping. (Ex: The grilled calamari at Sevruga is awesome). Lovely breakfast and room service options on premise. What else can I say but perfect experience, none better. Enjoy...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyboyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

This is a beautiful hotel with great service and a wonderful location!

Granted my mother and I were upgraded to a beautiful suite - but even if we hadn't been I'd have still rated this hotel a 5!

The breakfast was fabulous. The staff knew our names within a day.

Free Wi-Fi in the rooms!

Nothing was left wanting at the Cape Grace!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodiDH503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

The Cape Grace is one of the best, if not the best boutique hotel I've ever stayed in. It stays true to the category it's in: if you don't mind paying 350+ GBP per night for a standard room, then you'll get the privileges you would expect from paying that price:

The outside, entrance, corridors and rooms are superbly decored, by hand. Litterally hand paintings on the walls. Embroided pillows with your name on it if you visit often. The best minibar I have ever witnessed (it's a double minibar and its fully stocked with, well, everything I could think of). The most attentive service I have ever received without ever feeling 'spied on' or being part of something that's 'too posh'. True understanding from the management to the staff of what makes a great hotel. Very, very spacious rooms with a walk-in closet. The best location for an hotel near the city center.

Is it perfect? I think at that price point it approaches perfection, hence the 5 stars everywhere. I might have wanted a larger television with a better satellite service, and perhaps they could consider marrying more 'high tech' elements to their existing 'classical' feel. The view on the run down harbor (a working harbor) were quirky but not that fantastic (I understand you can get a room with a view on Table Mountain instead and would recommend you do so)

Highly recommended. I think this is particularly suited for someone who might be used to the 'identikit' 5 stars with no soul and wanted to spend a little more for a much, much more personal and unique experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saronthina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Wonderful hotel, all of us loved this hotel, the location is unbelevieble with the high quality of the food,
I have nothing but wonderful things to say about Cape Grace hotel and their employees.
We are always greeted with a beautiful smile from Mery at the front desk. She is such a joy to deal with....extremely professional and willing to accommodate you.
The rooms are extremely clean and bright as are the common areas .

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndersonBryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

This is the best hotel I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The staff were phenomenal. Six perfect nights.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjgarbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel at the end of our holiday in South Africa. We had already experienced some fairly high class hotels and very impressive service, but this place still managed to stand out. One example of their friendly and attentive service was when we came back from a run along the waterfront and as we were stretching out on a side wall the front office staff came out with chilled bottles of water for us. Another example was when we mentioned to one of the chauffeurs, Neil, that we were interested in buying some local jazz. The next day there was a typed list of local artists and musics shops in our room. The hotel has a complimentary chauffeur service for a drop-offs and pick-ups around town, which is very handy for sampling the local restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joandharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,576 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,182 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Property: Cape Grace
Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing