We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING! Incredible service .. the best hotel ever!”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We have just come back from a 5 night stay at the Cape Grace and it totally exceeded our expectations. From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more helpful. We forgot to pick up our buggy at the airport and only realised on check in. They immediately offered to get it for us and took our luggage slip and returned to the airport. Less than an hour later our buggy was at the room.
Our room was fully kitted out with nappy bags, wipes, nappy bin, bath toys, mini robes, children's bath gel, toys etc...
The food in all the restaurants was excellent.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliverf_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,723 - 1,729 of 2,076 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2010

If there is one hallmark that best describes the cape grace, it's unparalleled service by professional and warm staff. No request is too great and though this is a big hotel, the level of service and professionalism provided by the staff ensures that hotel guests enjoy the intimacy of a smaller property. We just returned from our honeymoon and spent 5 night sat the cape grace, where we were treated as royalty it seemed. From the daily surprises including champagne and strawberries, chocolates, a spa gift set and a cape grace picture frame, the staff and management pulled out the red carpet to make us feel welcome. Not to mention the room was enormous and beautifully appointed with a view of Table Mountain. Breakfast at the hotel was decadent and delicious, I'd highly recommend including it as part of any booking. Hands down, this is the place to stay i Capetown.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyctrichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

I had high expectations when we arrived at the Cape Grace after reading about it online. When I first pulled up I was thrown for a loop with it being in the middle of a working port kind of area I was a little skeptical. We got in our room which was on the top floor with our own balcony looking at Table Mountain and the marina and it was very nice. I was still trying to figure out though how this was one of the nicesest hotels in the world. Don't get me wrong it was all very nice but not overly luxurious. Then I went to breakfast, enjoyed the spa, utilized the 7 series car service and I got it. This place is so amazing because they have a way of treating their guests like royalty and you never feel as though they would not go above and beyond to make sure you are having the best stay. They take care of your bookings with a smile, the service of everybody that works in the hotel is incredible. The breakfast was always decadent with fresh oysters, Lox's, mimosas and nice choices of hot breakfast. The complimenatary hot spa and the car service makes you feel as though they are not cutting corners to convserve money but making sure the go to great lengths for you to enjoy your stay. One of our drivers gave us a personalized map of where we should tour in the Winelands on our own and had an extensive packet with all the information delivered to our room. Need I say more:)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clemsongal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Booked with "What a Hotel!" and got a great rate. This was return trip so expectations were high. They put us in a tiny closet of a room with a bathroom that was bigger than the bedroom portion which only fit the bed and a little bureau. They said it was an upgrade from their regular room.
First trip, we were given a huge room with view of the waterfront. What a disappointment. Staff was gracious as always and it was beautifully maintained but would reconsider returning based on this experience.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pumpette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Cape Grace is very well located on the waterfront with great amenities. It is also possible to park just by the hotel making both driving and walking around Cape Town very convent.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed5usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Cape Grace is a beautiful hotel with the most impressive staff weve come across. Always friendly and willing to help. It's an expensive hotel and we had a 3 nights for 2 deal which made a big difference but we would happily stay again

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

This must be one of the best hotels in the world. Everything about it was first class. The rooms were fabulous, laid out well, every amenity you could possibly want or think of, well lit (especially in the bathroom) and a wonderful view of the waterfront. The staff were terrific as well; friendly, smiling and exceedingly helpful. The concierge was able to get our luggage repaired within the day. The included breakfast was complete and very delicious. The one dinner we had there was also wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank my-stoffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,648 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,286 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,567 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £407 - £1,281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing