We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious but slightly lacking the personal touch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Luxurious but slightly lacking the personal touch”
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Upgraded to a suite as it was my husband's birthday and given a bottle of sparkling wine but even for a hotel of this size and grandeur there was something lacking. Compared with other 5 star hotels in South Africa and the Far East the service was just not top notch. Breakfast was served on a beautiful terrace overlookin the pool but the waitresses were totally disinterested. While the main restaurant was excellent there really was no where else to eat in the evening and the bar staff were unwelcoming. the location was fine but I would probably stay at the Waterfront next time.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Persephone20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,273
    185
    50
    15
    6
See reviews for
263
726
51
245
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We visited Cape Town after a South African photo safari, and my friend chose the Mount Nelson. It is a grand old hotel in the center of Cape Town. The hotel is gracefully aged, meticulously cared for, and luxurious. The best part, however, is the staff - they made us feel like royalty. The restaurants on site are world class, and the spa is superb. Afternoon high tea is not to be missed. I've traveled throughout the US and Europe, and the Mount Nelson Hotel might just be the nicest hotel I've ever visited. Bravo, bravo, bravo!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dburgess56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We arrived on a BA flight from London (BA world traveller class being a big disappontment) to be met by a very smartly dressed driver from the hotel. Our luggage was handled by the driver and in the Mercedes there were bottles of water and hand towels for our use. The driver also had a number of brochures telling us all about the places we may care to visit during our stay.
Upon arrival at the hotel we were checked in quickly and efficiently and whilst we waited for our room to become available we were able to have drink in the beautifully appointed lounge.
Our room was well appointed with all the amenties you could want. There were clean towels and clean bed linen everday and we wanted for nothing.
The food was excellent having been prepared by world class chefs. The afternoon teas were fantastic.The staff and the management were highly professional and approachable taking time to chat and give us advice on where to visit.
All in all and awesome experience and we cannot recommend this oasis of pure indulgent luxury highly enough. We were truly sad when we had to leave at the end of a memorable holiday. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sagjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

This is a very old hotel and is beginning to show it ...Orient Express will have to spend some bucks to keep it as a favored destination considering there are many ,many new luxury alternatives especially at the waterfront ,I stayed here mainly due to favorable past experiences with Orient Express destinations and to witness the history associated with the hotel.To be very honest it is overhyped now .The elegance is lost and the grandeur has faded.It needs a total remarketing job of restablishing its once luxury appeal ,
The Sunday Brunch was EXCELLENT .The jazz band was annoying if anything ,The music drowned out the singer's voice ,The flies were a problem
as has been noted by someone who reviewed the afternoon tea ,
A more formal dress code should be enforced for Afternoon Tea since it is
an icon of elegance and not a beach party scene ,
Front desk/lobby needs a more elegant look ,,,there is absolutely NO AWE and inspire left to the hotel !!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadianwolfinottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We stayed here for my nieces wedding. Beautiful hotel in a fantastic location. The service was outstanding and the staff were all so friendly and accomodating. The restaurants were all excellent and the high tea was something to be remembered, they catered for a wheat free diet with a days notice and it was exquisite!! would definately return to cape town and this would be my first choice, without a doubt ...!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frances96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Arrived after midnight after travelling for nearly 24 hours to find we had been upgraded to a suite overlooking the grounds with complementary fruit and wine due to the trip was to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary .
Could not fault the hotel or the friendly staff and in particular the Planet restaurant for the quality of the food and service .
The location of the hotel is a little way from the centre of Cape town but this is made up by the surrounding hotel gardens and also means the hotel is very quiet .
The hotel provided courtesy cars to the Waterfront , Table mountain and Camps Bay when booked at reception which we found very useful until we picked up our hire car.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delboy0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

The staff were very welcoming and accommodating. We asked for early check in and late check out-no problem and no charge. The food in Planet restaurant was very good and excellent waitress. Afternoon Tea also quite outstanding. Rooms were good size and everyone very helpful.
I would avoid the adult only pool unless you are really old. Lovely location but obviously a place for regulars who had rather annoyingly reserved sunbeds-with names on even though they were half empty. Rather depressing!!
Main pool was not noisy. Only downside the service at pool and on terraces was very slow-order a drink at least 15mins before you want it and longer for food. Lots of staff and very attentive but not the quickest to return with order.
Fabulous grouds and an easy walk into town.
Would certainly recommend for a few days while seeing the sights.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,181 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Property: Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing