We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Outstanding service from the minute u step out of your taxi Margaret at breakfast was lovely Danny who drove us to Camps bay and the waterfront were just two of the many helpful staff. Room was great [superior upgraded] . A really lovely meal we had the tasting menu with wines.A great week .

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grahamggm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,199 - 1,205 of 1,623 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

Used Orient Express to plan our entire trip to South Africa including Botswana. They did a fabulous job. We ended by staying at the Mount Nelson in Capetown for one week. It was wonderful as was my entire experience with Orient Express.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigalruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Very nice hotel, excellent restaurant, great spa and outstanding afternoon tea. But i think its too expensive compared to other 5 star hotels in the city.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Folky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Gorgeous room, thoughtful service and two wonderfully creative meals.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyDell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Thank you for taking some of your time to write this review. Happy to hear that you enjoyed our chef's creativity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Outstanding Service, from the moment you step out of your vehicle! Beatuiful decor and stunning rooms and suites. Excellent food and wine and we really enjoyed the Afternoon High Tea as well! Although the Mount Nelson has kept up with the times extremely well, one still feels as though you are stepping back in time! A wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Try and book a room/suite with a view of Table Mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Thank you for your kind comments . Happy to hear that you find the Grand Old Lady charming and keeping up to date.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I guess I better start with the booking-Shahieda made sure everything was correct and the email confirmation was sent.When I arrived at the airport the driver was waiting with a name card and I was soon on my way back to 2 weeks of unashamed luxury!
Roberta checked me in and I found myself in a beautiful cottage suite.The view from the garden onto the 7th wonder was breathtaking.The room is divided up a bit like an old French town house.The bedroom at the back with the bathroom with a seperate toilet in the middle leading onto a huge lounge with a settee you could snooze on(I made full use of this!!!The bed is really comfy,the number one priorty for any hotel!
The room has everything the modern traveller needs and once I had a wireless router in my lounge the internet was trouble free.They are working on upgrading this,as the South African speeds are not yet up to European or US standards.
I had dinner the first night in the recently refurbished Planet restaurant,and finally after 11 years they have got a high standard restaurant with a great chef and Carl the sommelier who is a character.In the past it had always amazed me that a hotel which produces such outstanding afternoon teas struggled to produce haute cuisine,but this is no longer a problem!!
The second time I dined the aforementioned Carl produced a Pinot noir 2009 chaminix from Franschhoek,that is the best wine I have drunk in the last 15 years.He was going to give me a different red with my main course,but it would have been rude and remiss not to have a second glass!The food was well flavoured throughout and the plate of chocolate was truly excellent.
I did,as usual,have afternoon tea on one occasion.The savouries are great with alsorts of interesting canapes.It is also a fascinating place to people watch.
Patrick the F and B manager made sure my cocktail party I had in my suite went without a glitch meaning I too could enjoy myself,rather than having to worry if glasses were being re-filled and canapes were being circulated.
It is just as well I did plenty of exercise in the gym to burn off the calories!!The gym as I have said in past reports is still very dark and only has windows at the top of the wall with no views.I believe that it is being moved to the spa,where it will have windows.Not before time!!!Turning to the Spa this is a really amazing building with huge treatment rooms with separate his and hers saunas and steam rooms.They have a great team of Masseuses,I think Grizelda is terrific,she knows exactly where to find those stress knots and will always tell you it is for your own good!!!The mark of a good massage is how well you sleep the night after,and that was achieved.It is just as well the bedroom walls are thick otherwise my snoring would have kept others awake!
The swimming pool loungers are really comfy and after a couple of days Thando knew exactly my drinking habits and would produce this without having to be asked.
Breakfast is a joy lots of fresh fruit,smoked meats and fish and eggs cooked to order and the chef bribgs them to your table,no standing at the egg counter!
Margaret(who the rest of the staff call Omar)-I always joke that she is my African mother,Katie and Marie-Claire make sure the that everyone's different requirements are met with a warm smile.Again they do not have to be asked,a major plus!
Sarah(like Sonia see my Vila vita parc review) is in charge of the front office and she exudes calmness even when she is rushed off her feet.I guess you have to have this skill to be good at this,although utterly different people their professional characteristics are remarkably similar!!Although Sarah does not eat meat she was relaxed when I was describing the carnivore delights I had enjoyed!!!The reception team are fun and again always smile,Monique is great fun as well as being very efficient.Christal came out with a classic line when I asked if she was busy one morning,she said "yes,lots of check-ins and check-outs," as if this was a surprise on reception!!!
There are obviously plenty of things to do and see in Cape town,from the beauty of a trip up the mountain,to a trip to Cape point or wine testing in Stellenbosch,Paarl,Franschhoek.A trip to Kirstenbosche gardens is a must.I was also this time able to take in a test match at Newlands(shame the pitch was awful) the game was over in 3 days!Plus a theatre trip to the delightful theatre on the bay at Camps Bay.So who arranges all this?The concierge team and it would be remiss of me not to mention them all by name-Jo-Anne is in charge,with Byron has her number 2-then vaguely in height order Michelle,Althea,Osnat and Meegan.This is without doubt the best organised and best run concierge desk I have experienced-nothing is too much trouble and everything is possible.They ensure restaurants are re-confirmed,theatre tickets are purchased,transfers are to time.They write everything down,so there are no hand over glitches a common problem in business generally not just in hotels!They will pick up thinks from shops-ensure that if you have a visitor coming to see you they will take them to you,rather than you having to wait like a spare part.
The hotel also has a new GM Xavier who is always about and seems very hands on.I hope he will be like Andrew Cook and stay for many years-as he has a happy, relaxed but professional approach which will filter down.
It is an amazing experience and I thank my lucky stars that I can stay in such a wonderful place,Go to Cape town,enjoy and as long as you remember not to do silly things with regards to personal safety,(wearing copious amounts of jewellery etc),not walking at night you will have a fabulous time.It is a gem of a city,and the hotel is simply iconic
I have written separate restaurant reviews on trip advisor.
Kendal mint!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KendalMint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Thank you for posting this nice comment full of passion! It is a wonderful feeling to know that repeat guests that have been coming to our property for many years are enjoying their vacations with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Outstanding wine and food pairing lunch at Mount Nelson. All organic ingredients - a taste sensation!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Many thanks for your feedback. I'll pass the compliments to our chef, Rudi Liebenberg, and his staff. Bon appetit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,106 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,681 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,351 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £306 - £569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, in Cape Town’s buzzing heart. We invite you to relax in our iconic pink buildings, airy rooms and dreamy gardens. Enjoy imaginative local cuisine, nourishing spa treatments and eye-catching artworks. Captivating visitors since 1899, Cape Town’s iconic resort hotel is a tranquil hideaway just moments from the city’s buzzing heart. Our 198 individually designed rooms and suites and a host of fabulous facilities appeal equally to romantic couples, families or adventurous groups. Stroll through our expansive gardens, take a tree tour or browse the outdoor sculpture exhibition. Discover the hotel’s history, art and culture on self-guided tours. Enjoy imaginative cuisine in our restaurants and soothing bliss at the spa. Just beyond our gates lies the pulsating city, with stunning beaches and historic hotspots moments away. Forever watching over the hotel is Table Mountain, another wondrous Cape Town landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing