We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience like no other”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I am lucky enough to be staying at the Mount Nelson Hotel in Cape Town, and it is like stepping back in time! Chef Rudi prepared an amazing meal paired with some of South Africa's finest wines and the vanilla dessert was beyond compare! Kudos to the entire staff for making the stay so memorable!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,140 - 1,146 of 1,623 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

Great Tea selections and buffet finger food at a classy hotel setting.
An enjoyable relaxed afternoon stop if you are the type to have the time and the taste to slow down once in a while and smell the roses.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank World-cruiser-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I was surprised with the Morning tea or high tea. The environment is good and the dinner at the Planet was wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChutimaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The hotel reminded me of something you'd see in the movie gone with the wind. Large sprawling grounds, had a real southern feel to it. The staff were great, I have no idea how they do this but I was always greeted by name when I passed the front desk. I like that. We had the hotel arrange a car and driver for us for two days and had a great trip touring through the wine country and then down to the cape of good hope. I would highly recommend this. We had a private tour, it wasn't crazy expensive and was nice to be able to tour around at our own pace. Room was nice. It faced Table Top Mountain. Overall great place and I would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing table top mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCtraveler33Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The Mount Nelson has a warm and friendly ambience and provides a high level of service. The meals in the Planet restaurant had excellent food and wines, particularly if you want to sample interesting meats, beautifully prepared, and local wines.
The small shops in the hotel had very unusual and interesting items for sale and we had difficulty passing them without going in to have another look!
The garden setting with a close view of Table Mountain and Lion's Head is beatiful and well worth strolling through at any time of day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room so you can use the stairs if you want some exercise as the lifts are a bit slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeddyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Our stay at the Mount Nelson was unbelievable. The staff was extremely friendly and amazingly helpful with requests for food or services for our 10 month old. We ate in the Planet Restaurant twice and each time was a culinary delight. Wanda deserves a special thank you from us because he was so accommodating and friendly. The high tea was a special experience and I highly recommend it. Everything was perfect until our credit cards stopped working a few days into the trip. At first we assumed we had a card skimmed at a restaurant outside of the hotel but it wasn't until we noticed fraud on two cards that never left my wallet, which never left the hotel room at Mount Nelson. We were fairly diligent in keeping it in the safe but I can't guarantee that every time we left the room it was locked. Regardless, the theft could have only been from someone entering our room and actually taking the cards from the wallet to write down the numbers. We have reported this to Mount Nelson Management and unfortunately it made a nearly perfect experience horrible now. I would still recommend staying in the hotel but be diligent on what items you leave in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juswannarelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The Mount Nelson is still our favourite Cape Town Hotel. It still retains its charm and elegance. The accommodation is superb (we especially enjoyed our Green Park room) and the staff go the extra mile to make your stay a memorable experience. The Oasis restaurant veranda with its view of the gardens and swimming pool is a wonderful place for breakfast. Unfortunately, the breakfast itself did not live up to expectations. While the chef was taking her time cooking the bacon our eggs and sausages went cold which rather spoilt the experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine7200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,106 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,681 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,351 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £306 - £570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, in Cape Town’s buzzing heart. We invite you to relax in our iconic pink buildings, airy rooms and dreamy gardens. Enjoy imaginative local cuisine, nourishing spa treatments and eye-catching artworks. Captivating visitors since 1899, Cape Town’s iconic resort hotel is a tranquil hideaway just moments from the city’s buzzing heart. Our 198 individually designed rooms and suites and a host of fabulous facilities appeal equally to romantic couples, families or adventurous groups. Stroll through our expansive gardens, take a tree tour or browse the outdoor sculpture exhibition. Discover the hotel’s history, art and culture on self-guided tours. Enjoy imaginative cuisine in our restaurants and soothing bliss at the spa. Just beyond our gates lies the pulsating city, with stunning beaches and historic hotspots moments away. Forever watching over the hotel is Table Mountain, another wondrous Cape Town landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing