We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“class!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“class!”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

1 night stay. Everything went well from BEFORE I booked in. Immediate advice when I asked for the name of "that nice italian place near the company gardens". Helped at very short notice for a large booking at the in-house Planet Restaurant. Helped gracefully as the booking numbers went down (some friends you just cannot rely on, no?) from 9 to 4.

INCREDIBLY nice dinner, with Farai, our waiter, also impressing as a sommelier. Food quality and presentation right up there, and I have eaten at most of the top 10 SA restaurants. Service fantastic, and informed. The chefs rock!!

Room superb - large, spotless, understated elegance, all amenities working and high class. Staff excellent throughout - sometimes the cachet of an establisment rubs on off on the people working there in the wrong way, and you get staff looking down at guests, being snotty and generally acting like hipster waiters in a Camps Bay hotspot - none of this here - friendly, polite, relentlessly efficient.

So, most of my superlatives used, and this review just barely made 4 paragraphs. I have nothing much more to say exept this: "thanks to all of you - we really really really enjoyed our stay!"

Room Tip: Junior suites great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steynv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,258
    186
    50
    15
    7
See reviews for
261
719
50
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2012

we have recently stayed for an evening at the Mount Nelson Hotel, Cape Town. The reason for this stay was to celebrate a special occasion, myself and our two sons, with my husband, their father. I have requested the staff to keep my sons stay private, in order for a surprise to my husband. Right from the time I made the reservation, till we departed the next day, I can highly recommend the Mount Nelson. I find it difficult to fault on any aspect. A big thank you to the most professional, warm and friendly staff at the Mount Nelson. Right from reception desk to the service in the restaurant, is recommendable. Not forgetting the staff who welcomed us as we arrived, outside at the portico. Thank you to you all, for taking the time to make something so special for us, to care and pay attention to all our requests. We wish all of you all the best, may the Mount Nelson stay the landmark as it its known. Estelle, Chris, Adriaan and Brendan.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanglewoodCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The tale end of our spectacular SA honeymoon.
Luxurious.
Old style.
Enormous private suite--of on it's own. Three times the size of the average NYC apartment.
Elegant.
Lovely.
Superb service.
Beautiful city.
Friendly folks all around.

Room Tip: Ask for a private bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The Mount Nelson is one of Cape Town's oldest and most venerable institutions...and with good reason. From the moment you step through the front door of the very pink building, you are transported to another world where manners are a given and you feel welcomed.

Check in is an absolute breeze and you are shown up to your room with its lovely view, beautiful bed and bank of cupboards with every kind of hanger you can possibly ask for. The in-room safe is easy to operate and the toiletries in the bathroom are fantastic.

The staff are attentive without being intrusive, as well as being helpful and considerate. Even the lady who turns down your bed is willing to have a chat with you if you fancy it. The concierge is very well informed and will spend time giving you the history of the hotel if you're interested, while also being able to give you directions to any of Cape Town's attractions.

Breakfast is served in the conservatory and suits every taste from the continental type to a full English and everything in between. Afternoon tea is served in the same spot and is a wonderful little jaunt, particularly in a cold and grey Cape Town winter.

The hotel is also wonderfully positioned, being a 10min drive down to the Waterfront and not much further to Cape Town's most famous landmark - Table Mountain.

Overall, you would be hard pressed to find a better hotel in Cape Town for a similar price.

Room Tip: The garden facing rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying_Bunny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Mount Nelson for 5 nights. The service at this Hotel is outstanding. The staff are friendly,attentive and always greet guests with a warm smile. From the moment I arrived I was was made to feel not only welcome,but as a very special guest.
As I checked in, I suddenly realized I had left my credit card in the ATM at Cape Town airport. I immediately panicked and began to feel as though I was going to unravel very quickly. I did not know what to do! Crystal, who was doing my check in was calm and professional, while I went into melt down mode she quietly got MasterCard on the phone and then simply handed the phone over. My card was cancelled within minutes and crisis was contained. As I started to cry through stress and exhaustion Crystal gave me a warm hug and comforted me like I was her own family.
The service continued at this level throughout our stay,I cannot praise the staff highly enough. My husband and I have stayed in many Hotels throughout the world and The Mount Nelson is voted as No1 without a doubt.
The room was beautiful,always clean and well stocked with amenities. Towels are always in good supplymand the bathroommis clean and so ions with a lovely hot shower and great water pressure.
The breakfast menu is great with a buffet selection complimented with hot cooked breakfast as you like! Fresh squeezed orange Juice is just that! The Planet Bar and restaurant don't disappoint either,with top quality wine,food and beer's.
All in all our stay at the Mount Nelson has been a wonderful experience, and I hope to one day return.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank yveAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
103 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I had a long stay in this excellent hotel- the best place in cape town. Beautiful buidling, full of charm, attentive staff - concierge and reception staff always with a smile and they do their best to make you feel at home immediately. The concierge was proud on his hotel and explained me with passion the history of the hotel, a passionate and very pleasant moment for me- so personal and heartwarming. Rooms are excellent - roomservice food of exceptional; good quality and dining in THE PLANET restaurant is an experience ( They rate in the top 20 of South Africa's best restaurants)- this is an example set by the orient express group , great hotel management and staff. I hope and encourage them to keep it up! And the view ...next to the touble mountain in the nicest city of the world a real dream!

Room Tip: Choose main building - if you have the chance and money go for a deluxe suite! They are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toversti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, CT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My teenage daughters and I stayed 5 nights at the Mount Nelson. The service was beyond comparison - the concierge was always available to answer questions about excursions, etc. In fact, the hotel provides drivers for a quick ride to town, or a longer trip around the Cape, etc. Afternoon tea is a must, and the complimentary breakfast is incredible. Every single staff member was gracious and friendly. Mount Nelson is charming and old-world, but the rooms are modern and quite luxurious.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Property: Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Belmond, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing