We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and wonderful hotel away from the tourist hubbub”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Serene and wonderful hotel away from the tourist hubbub”
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

Following a September 2012 safari and needing a rest, my wife and I opted for peace and quiet at the venerable Mount Nelson instead of other options located around the Victoria and Albert Waterfront. This a special place provided a a great room and an attentive and super-accommodating staff. We only ate the rate-included breakfast in the hotel and it was superb. While this magnificent but serene hotel is away from the waterfront excitement, it is easy to get there as the hotel provides no charge car service to the waterfront and on-call pickup when you have had enough and are ready for some relaxation. We arranged several trips down to the Cape of Good Hope and back up the eastern Cape shore into the spectacular wine lands. Our hotel provided driver and guide ("Ben") was very knowledgable and accommodated our every request to divert over to whatever we found interesting. Beth Flowers and Connie Forrester at Brownell Travel in Birmingham AL recommended and booked this wonderful hotel for us

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Leon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,281
    187
    50
    15
    6
See reviews for
265
730
51
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Recently my best friend and I stayed at the Mount Nelson and from the minute we arrived until our departure we felt we were at home but very special. All facilities are well maintained and the staff is extremely helpful and attentitive.
We only stayed one night but we felt so relaxed and spoiled when we left.
The High Tea still remain special and the sparkling pool was also thoroughly enjoyed!
I celebrated my 40th birthday at the Nellie went for high tea on several occassions and this year on my birthday I will go for high tea again! A special mentioned to Patrick at the front desk, he is definitely a major part of the magic as we were received in such a warm and friendly manner!
Francois Verwey

Room Tip: A luxury suite on the corner overlooking the garden is beautiful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francois V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2012

If you are tired of the modern chain hotel then the Mount Nelson in Cape Town is the one for you. A beautiful old colonial building in stunning peaceful gardens on the edge of the city, the Mount Nelson is ideally placed for all the sights in this beautiful city. Fast efficient and friendly service, and beautiful luxurious rooms, many with excellent views of the gardens or of Table Mountain make this my favourite hotel, and one to which I have returned seven times and one to which I hope to return many more times. The food throughout the day is excellent, but afternoon tea in the drawing room and dinner in the Planet Restaurant are two essentials for any visit to the Cape. I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: The beauty of the hotel is that there are many rooms which are not standard shape or size, so consid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed there for one night to celebrate our anniversary. When we booked in the concierge was very helpful, took us to the room and asked if we where celebrating something special. We told her about the anniversary and left it at that. 20 minutes later a bottle of the Sparkling was delivered to our door no cost. Impressive.

We then went for high tea, which is an experience to behold, even for a coffee drinker like me. The staff a knowledgeable about tea, knowing time and seeping temp, we could have stayed there all afternoon.

The next day the breakfast was great not garish, just well done and enjoyable. Was sorry to have to return to reality.

Room Tip: They were renovating the rooms looking at the pool, those look to be the best for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

My husband and I and two friends stayed at the Mount Nelson early September for 6 nights before going on safari in Kenya and Tanzania. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms luxurious,restaurants and bars great but I must say those things are topped by the excellent service! Everyone from the front desk, to the concierge to the breakfast or bar staff, all were very attentive and warm. Especially helpful were the front desk and concierge one day when my husband was under the weather. They prepared special food, went to the pharmacy and checked on him throughout the day (Thanks Byron!)! I've never experienced that kind of attention!
Hope I have the opportunity to visit Capetown again and stay at the Mount Nelson.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are beautiful. Some have balconies that are especially great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

One of the best hotels I have stayed in anywhere in the world, we stayed in one of the garden bungalows which was absolutely beautiful nestled away in the gardens, the hotel is very well run and the service is very smooth and friendly, a special mention must go to the head of guest relations Joey Michael, this guy is a legend, there doesn't seem to be anything he can't organise ! The food is also very good, the afternoon tea is a must. All in all world class and the only place to stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ckdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I see from the previous review that someone else from our tiny town in the Texas Hill Country enjoyed the Mount Nelson Hotel as well in September. We enjoyed a wonderful Afternoon Tea and hotel tour with Sean Clark, the Director of Leisure Sales and Touring for Orient Express Africa. First of all, you must do Tea at the Mount Nelson - a grand event with a beautiful table filled with delicate finger sandwiches, cakes, lemon, chocolate, etc. scones and clotted cream and an array of teas or champagne. The hotel is in a great location near the Company Gardens and in the downtown area of Cape Town. When you step into the hotel and it's gardens, you feel like you've stepped back in time, but then you see the lovely Planet Restaurant and you feel you are celebrating the planets and the photos taken by the Hubble telescope. All of the rooms are a nice size including the classic rooms and are beautifully decorated. I would highly recommend this hotel to my clients. Now if you're headed on safari be sure and contact Orient - Express safaris located at this hotel and book a wonderful trip to their properties in Botswana. They will guide you the whole way and make your trip to Botswana easy and one to remember.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zinniaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,024 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,596 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,208 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,497 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Property: Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing