We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class all the way......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Stayed in one of their cottages adjacent to the hotel.

Could not fault anything. The whole hotel just gives memories of happier times in the world!

Well worth a stay.

Not just a hotel - a destination in its own right!

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viscountwalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,061 - 1,067 of 1,611 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Mount Nelson to start off our Honeymoon. We felt as if we were treated like royalty. All the staff knew us by name and treated us like royalty. Our room was upgraded and they had champagne for us numerous nights. The conceriege was able to book all our tours and dinners. Althea was a delight to deal with, she has a big heart for customer service. This hotel is beyond beautiful, decor is outstanding along with service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I was there way back in 2001 and still this remains the best South African hotel experience for me...and I have been to a good number.
This hotel is classy and definitely makes the A-list.
The rooms were clean, the sheets and towels even smelled fresh (a rarity in hotels) and the food was yummy.
The service by the staff was excellent..
I was there on business and would HIGHLY recommend this for someone seeking a hotel of value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roseleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Having stayed at the "Nellie" three times now we always find the hotel welcoming and to some extent values old fashioned ideas of good service which ialso to be welcomed. We have noticed a continuing programme of improvements which are not detracting from the original ambience of the hotel.The "new" Planet restaurant is well worth a visit and the menu contains some exoctic dishes i.e crocodile! Yhe gardens are beatifully maintained and make a refrehing change from the usual city centre hotels which usually have littlr space around them. No hesitation in giving this hotel a try!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyB376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

It was a fabulous hotel. Wonderful.
It has a victorian style.
The room was specious and clean. Love the pillows. The towels are bright white with no spot and smells good.
Experienced some troubles with the wifi in the room for the first few days of my stay, but I could use the wifi in the public area (ie. lobby, restaurant and gym).
Used the gym in the morning and the equipments were excellent.
The staffs were very helpful. If they could not give the information at the moment, they would love to find one and inform you right away. They even helped us arranged several tours and they gave excellent tour guide.
Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GNW325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Following a September 2012 safari and needing a rest, my wife and I opted for peace and quiet at the venerable Mount Nelson instead of other options located around the Victoria and Albert Waterfront. This a special place provided a a great room and an attentive and super-accommodating staff. We only ate the rate-included breakfast in the hotel and it was superb. While this magnificent but serene hotel is away from the waterfront excitement, it is easy to get there as the hotel provides no charge car service to the waterfront and on-call pickup when you have had enough and are ready for some relaxation. We arranged several trips down to the Cape of Good Hope and back up the eastern Cape shore into the spectacular wine lands. Our hotel provided driver and guide ("Ben") was very knowledgable and accommodated our every request to divert over to whatever we found interesting. Beth Flowers and Connie Forrester at Brownell Travel in Birmingham AL recommended and booked this wonderful hotel for us

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Leon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Recently my best friend and I stayed at the Mount Nelson and from the minute we arrived until our departure we felt we were at home but very special. All facilities are well maintained and the staff is extremely helpful and attentitive.
We only stayed one night but we felt so relaxed and spoiled when we left.
The High Tea still remain special and the sparkling pool was also thoroughly enjoyed!
I celebrated my 40th birthday at the Nellie went for high tea on several occassions and this year on my birthday I will go for high tea again! A special mentioned to Patrick at the front desk, he is definitely a major part of the magic as we were received in such a warm and friendly manner!
Francois Verwey

Room Tip: A luxury suite on the corner overlooking the garden is beautiful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francois V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town
2,100 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town
1,665 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town
2,332 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#41 of 110 in Cape Town
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town
Price Range: £297 - £559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing