We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the few”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2013

There are only a handful of hotels internationally that scream tradition, standards, doing it right every time and the 'Nelly' is high on that list.

From the initial warm and professional welcome all the way through to dining and relaxation the 'Nelly' has turned it into an art form.

Nothing was too much trouble and the thought of breakfast on the terrace made getting out of bed worthwhile. Hotels like the 'Nelly' have a lot to teach us in terms of all that is good in both travel & tourism and the service industry in general. You cannot recreate the 'Nelly' as part of a chain poeration - but they should jolly well try!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,041 - 1,047 of 1,623 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stay at the Mount Nelson (Cape Town) this End Year eve and it was amazing. The service was all the time very courdious and high availability. The restaurants, breakfast and meals in general was very good.
The service for the end year eve was amazing and full of details.
The afternoon Tea by the lounge is something very special and deserves triple "A" grade.
We strongly recommend Mount Nelson hotel at Cape Town. The hotel team was fantastic.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanderlei F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

My husband and I stayed in "Old Nellie" at the beginning of December for 9 nights.From the moment we arrived we felt special!! We were welcomed by a lovely lady at reception who congratulated us on our anniversary and as the hotel was quiet upgraded our room.We never expected to stay in such a beautiful room and the view was spectacular.We woke up each morning with an uninterrupted view of Table mountain. All the staff went above and beyond what was expected of them.I feel that by naming a few it is an injustice to those I don't mention.Special thanks to Byron,Sydney, Robin,Jerald,Pamela, Katie, Margaret and Wilson.
From the pool to the gym to the restaurant and our nightly tea ritual with Sydney, everything was wonderful. The hotel is also in an excellent location if you want to get out and about and mix with the locals in Kloof street. It is a little piece of heaven and I can't wait to go back. I hope the staff get the recognition they deserve from the management as they are the reason it works so well... A wonderful holiday, if you get the chance visit,you won't regret it!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Geat place to unwind for ten days after a busy holiday spent staying at a winery in the Southern Cape, a safari at Ulusaba (truly magnificent) and re-aquintance with a country visited for the first time 30 years ago, such change.
We stayed in a cottage property within magnificent grounds just underneath the beautiful Table Mountain,a lovely lawn at our entrance leading to the outdoor pool hard to beat.
The service at the Mount Nelson is as one would expect, exceptional. We were not enamoured of the afternoon teas as reviewed but if you like sweets then go for it!
The prices are comparable with most 5 star advertised properties the restaurant food much better than competing local haunts, unusual for hotels of this type.
In summary an excellent place to stay in a wonderful location very close to City and places of interest, good value.

Room Tip: Go for the cottages, a very neat terrace of luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

A grand driveway and stunning view, let down bŷ warm drinks to welcome and nowhere to sit. Great rooms, great afternoon tea and bar. Weak performance fixing the aircon in our of our two family rooms. Jerald the pool waiter set the tone for the service overall ,a star, the afternoon tea is rightly legendary. You will see cape towns hoi polloi in all their finery. Worth a visit for grounds/history and grandeur alone.

Room Tip: Third floor has highest ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I stayed here for one night at a conference and had a large beautiful room overlooking the lush gardens.

The hotel is an older property and been lovingly restored, it does not feel like a city hotel despite its location in he city and this is due to the expansive gardens and grounds. The room style is quite colonial rather than modern/contemporary so if this is to your taste then you will like this hotel.

They do an excellent afternoon tea which is well worth having even if you are not staying at the hotel.

I would suggest that this hotel is better/more suited to a leisure stay rather than business, I really like the taj for a business stay or cape grace on the waterfront.

The hotel is walking distance to all the key city centre attractions but further away from the waterfront.

Room Tip: I for a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p750777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I see from previous reviews that this hotel is everything you would expect from a 5 star.I endorse all that is said and wish that I could have stayed there longer than we did to enjoy all the facilities fully but we were on a tour and had to move on after three nights.I adored the "olde worlde" ambience,the service that made you feel special,the chauffeur car service,the fabulous food,the faultless service and the wonderfully comfortable rooms.Treat yourselves,people, to a once in a lifetime experience or more if possible.

Room Tip: We didn't use the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireAdventurer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,105 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,680 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,349 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £306 - £570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, in Cape Town’s buzzing heart. We invite you to relax in our iconic pink buildings, airy rooms and dreamy gardens. Enjoy imaginative local cuisine, nourishing spa treatments and eye-catching artworks. Captivating visitors since 1899, Cape Town’s iconic resort hotel is a tranquil hideaway just moments from the city’s buzzing heart. Our 198 individually designed rooms and suites and a host of fabulous facilities appeal equally to romantic couples, families or adventurous groups. Stroll through our expansive gardens, take a tree tour or browse the outdoor sculpture exhibition. Discover the hotel’s history, art and culture on self-guided tours. Enjoy imaginative cuisine in our restaurants and soothing bliss at the spa. Just beyond our gates lies the pulsating city, with stunning beaches and historic hotspots moments away. Forever watching over the hotel is Table Mountain, another wondrous Cape Town landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing