We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #10 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
294 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

I only stayed at this hotel one night and didnt have much time in the room, but the service was excellent and the staff only happy to help. Now you could say well you that's why you pay the high price tag, but I would say that this hotel is about service and delivering excellence!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captivatedoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,245
    183
    48
    15
    6
See reviews for
260
711
49
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a magical holiday to South Africa and have to say the stay at the Mount Nelson was absolutely the best start to my SA experience. The service is out of this world ! If you are looking for a modern hotel with funky lighting and big plasma TV's and groovy decor then go elsewhere, but if you want a proper traditional hotel, where customer service is at the absolute centre of everything they do, serving wonderful food, the most amazing afternoon tea and the chance to bump into some of life's really interesting characters then there is only 1 hotel in Cape Town to stay in, the Nelly !

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

I only had the pleasure of staying in this hotel for 1 night whilst away on business, however, this is definitely a place that I would return to to enjoy a much longer stay. The hotel itself is very impressive and from the moment when you turn into the driveway underneath the magnificent archway and drive up the palm tree lined drive - you are not disappointed.

The hotel itself if fantastic, very traditional building, so if you are looking for super modern (which I was not) you will perhaps prefer to go somewhere different. However, if you are looking for real opulence and class, this hotel is really for you.

All of the staff were very friendly, even when I had to check out at 4am in the morning the night receptionist was very helpful in arranging my onward travel.

The rooms themselves are fantastic, very large with beautiful bathrooms - really I cannot fault this hotel in any way - I will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: There are rooms with views over table mountain if that is important to you you may want to request t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Have stayed in this fabulous hotel twice & it really is my favourite place.
Attention to detail is second to non, & in my opinion the staff cant do enough for you. Rooms are all fabulous. The gardens are so pretty in summer.Not a modern hotel, you need the Waterfront for that, but it has everything you could want.
Even if you dont stay you must try afternoon tea, it is wonderful. Full selection of teas, a table groaning with sweet & savoury goodies. Far better than anything i have had in UK, including the Ritz, & only cost about £16, extra for champagne.
After afternoon tea a walk through the park just opposite the hotel is a must. The museum is there & you can get a horse & cart to take you further or if you have trouble walking.

Room Tip: All rooms i stayed in were great, but i am sure if you were not happy they would be only too pleased...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetLoulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

If only eyes could speak, those will be the ideal and perfect words to describe this amazing amazingly unlimited Stars Hotel. You wake up in the middle of the night JUST to double check if you are indeed sleeping like a King or it is just your dream again! Afternoon Teas are on another level..

Room Tip: New Suites are larger and stylish..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ndikdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
383 reviews
375 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 697 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

This was my 3rd trip to Capetown but 1st time in downtown. Honestly I wanted to spend my 8 nights @ the smaller boutique hotels but being Valentine's week & peak season I could not get reservations at the top boutiques, though staying here was really a treat, so peaceful & a sanctuary in the city.
I missed my flight out to Capetown from Jo'berg & ended up waiting for the driver @ the airport coz of the flight change &traffic on his end. He took my luggage directly to Mt Nellie while I went off to Myoga &did not check in til 3pm. Check in was a pleasantly efficient experience, was greeted by name as soon as I arrived, upgraded to a nice quiet room on the 3rd floor facing the main pool. (2 pools, 1 pool is adults only). Wifi was free but in my room (267) was almost non-existent, though it worked fine in the pool area).
Transport: Having spent a bit of money cabbing around, the free hotel Toyota Prius rides to the waterfront etc were most appreciated, only gripe was what I thought was a free ride to the old biscuit mill's Saturday market cost zar 200. (The free Prius was available but they stuck me in a Benz).
Breakfast @ Oasis: decent amount of choices & I was happy as they had plenty of simple fresh veggies.
Gym: was in a cute little Victorian cottage which had a few rooms, nice equipment, view of Table Mountain & was never crowded.
Service: overall very good. It helps that Capetonians are a friendly and charming bunch. Byron the charming concierge helped with booking restaurants that did not even pick up phone calls. Chad at the front desk was helpful as well though he did forget to order my boxed breakfast which he offered for my 6am departure.
Housekeeping:
Good job overall but some room for improvement...For whatever reason any glasses /cups that were taken out of my room were not replaced. I finally called on my 3rd night to show them the empty drawers & dwindling supply of teabags.
Planet restaurant: Had Valentine's dinner here, food & service were ok compared to the rest of the great choices in Capetown (on this trip tried Myoga, Greenhouse, La Colombe, La Mouette, Savoy Cabbage, Constantia Uitsag, Test Kitchen, societi bistro, roundhouse, grand on the beach, food barn, la petite ferme, kalk bay Harbour House, Bistrot Bizerca). I.e.long waits between meals & drinks, had a tasting menu & they served a soup while skipping the dish before. My 6 course w/wine pairing took more than 3 hr to finish, other diners were in after me but out befote me.

But....Overall a good memorable place, a good 2nd home at a lovely location. Even if I don't stay here again, I would recommend Mt. Nellie.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

Mount Nelson hotel is a wonderful place to stay. The staff, grounds and general Ambience make this one of the best travel experiences we have had. the whole Area is one of total tranquility with colourful birds and beautiful gardens to enjoy.

the only thing that detracted from a wonderful experience was the lack of dress code for dinner and afternoon tea.

Well done to all concerned.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Property: Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Belmond, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing