We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Flawless Holiday - Boston USA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Flawless Holiday - Boston USA”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The hotel's pampering provided the perfect conclusion to a cruise vacation. On staff tour guide Darrol Lee picked us up right at the dock. He proved to be so charming and knowledgeable that we booked him for our entire 3 day stay. He rapidly assessed our interests, and provided a spectacular insider's journey around the Cape area. The front office staff was extremely welcoming. With a smile Chad Bartman offered us a wonderful upgrade. He proved to be attentive throughout our stay. The suite was massive, and featured a long veranda with a view of Lion's Head. The grounds are absolutely stunning with a backdrop of Table Mountain. The food venues are varied and excellent. The elegant old world lounge and conservatory is famous for its afternoon tea. The Planet Bar has a whimsical decor and serves up super cocktails and scrumptious appetizers. The sunny Oasis poolside restaurant is the scene of the unbelievable smorgasbord breakfast and the tasty å la carte lunch. The wait staff was totally attentive. We did not get a chance to experience the popular Planet Restaurant, but I assume it is on a par with the rest of the facilities. I am simply in love with the hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms with views of Table Mountain or Lion's Head
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mhsboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,273
    185
    50
    15
    6
See reviews for
263
726
51
245
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This hotel was our first stop on our tour of South Africa. We were welcomed with cool towels, iced tea and lemonade. Our room was lovely, with a bay window overlooking Table Mountain and a tiny balcony. It was quite spacious, with a large bath and and extremely comfortable king sized bed. The entire staff was well trained, gracious, and friendly. The building is beautifully restored, while maintaining its colonial charm. High Tea was a special treat, served in a beautiful room with all the elegant tidbits you could hope for. The breakfast buffet was a fantastic spread. Our only problem was trying to find room to try everything on the menu. We had filled out a questionnaire on our departure, and received a lovely personal letter from the manager when we returned home. I would highly recommend a visit to the Mount Nelson to anyone visiting Cape Town and searching for a beautiful hotel with excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VOLUNTEERGIRL_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qatif
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I arrived there and i felt i am in a huge luxury castle. The costumer service was excellent. the rooms where beyond what i imagined! I had a pleasant stay with my lovely wife, and i recommend couples to go there!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fadil-Ghazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We recently stayed at the Mount Nelson for 3 nights at the start of our honeymoon. The hotel was fabulous, it is full of character, very luxurious and the service is second to none.

We were spoilt from the moment we arrived, every member of staff looked after us and the efforts that all of the staff went to to make sure we enjoyed our stay was extraordinary.

The hotel is spotless and the food was delicious. We took advantage of the courtesy cars to take us to table mountain and down to the waterfront. We had afternoon tea on the terrace and relaxed by the pool. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

We could not recommend this hotel more highly.

Room Tip: We had a room over looking Table Mountain (this is at the back of the hotel) and was great although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Newlyweds2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We booked here for the last night of our holiday and checked in early,our room was ready soon afterwards.Although we booked a classic room we were upgraded to a deluxe room which was well equiped and we had none of the problems referred to by a previous reviewer.

We found all the front of house staff including car pool,porters,concierges and reception staff excellent.We asked for a late checkout and whilst we couldnt stay in our existing room we were given a small room with day bed,bathroom,shower etc at no extra charge.

The breakfast was good although the waiter did seem a touch inexperienced.We also ate in the conservatory before we left for an overnight flight which was also good

.If we had a gripe it was that during the day it was raining and there was absolutely nowhere to sit inside the hotel from lunchtime till early evening as every available space,even including the bar, was full with people having afternoon tea.We fel there should be some space set aside for guests who aren't taking Afternoon Tea.We accept that in good weather we would have been outside by the pool but even in Cape Town the weather isn't always perfect..

Overall we really enjoyed the experience and would return

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badger49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraga, CA
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel, from the small, welcoming lobby, to the gracious lounge, beautiful gardens, and attentive staff. We were in an extremely large, beautifully decorated room, with an equally large, well-appointed bath. The swimming pools, one large and more public, the other smaller and quieter, were lovely. The breakfast, served either on the terrace or inside, was superb. The fresh fruit, unbelievable. The location, below Table Mountain, is perfect for walking into town through the Company Gardens. Also close to good restaurants. It is a look back into a quieter, more elegant time.

Room Tip: I think that the rooms in the adjacent building, rather than the main building, are a little quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moragajoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Nice rooms, attentive, smiling and efficient staff, good breakfast, very nice bar and terrace, nice pool. The only downside is the main restaurant: rather pretentious and usually empty. Good price- quality ratio.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gionath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Property: Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing