We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night @ Mount Nelson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #10 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Knysna
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One night @ Mount Nelson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Our second visit to the Nellie! And, once again, an extra ordinary experience. Service excellent, the food outstanding, and do not miss out on the High Tea experience! I have never seen such a variety at a breakfasts table. Staff very well trained and so professional.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again at the Mount Nelson Hotel on a future visit to Cape Town. You live in a beautiful part of the Western Cape. I love Knysna and its region.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,239
    182
    48
    15
    6
See reviews for
256
709
49
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Forget all these reviews about old and worn and..... Those are simply people who can not appreciate a wonderful oldfashioned hotel who has this fantastic feeling of...well greatness and cosiness and home away from home. This place should be placed under Unesco protection. :-) We Loved it and will be back. By the way : breakfast ( and I am difficult when it comes to breakfast) is 5star ! Even the prepared scrambeled eggs are delicious...... Service top. Rooms top. Adlon of Cape Town....

Room Tip: Avoid 406... Next to elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor. Glad to hear that you enjoyed our historical property. Look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Cape Town.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This was my first time staying at the Mount Nelson Hotel in Cape Town. We stayed for two nights. I knew the hotel was going to be great (being a part of the Orient Express group) but I could never have anticipated that it would be so special! The hotel staff were extremely kind to us and so efficient. Everyone from the hotel front desk to the service staff were friendly and sincere. One member of staff even told us the history behind the hotel, which dates back to 1806. We had a junior suite in the main hotel overlooking the gardens, very quiet and tranquil. The rooms were superbly done and the beds and pillows gave me the best night of sleep I have ever had. I really don't know how they do it! The hotel rooms had everything one could need - from the basics right down to shoe polishing kits, shoe bags etc. An abundance of soft white fluffly towels in the bathroom was also a real treat. The Mount Nelson high tea takes place every afternoon and that was also a real treat. Go hungry because the variety of sweet and savoury snacks is overwhelming but fantastic, it is definitely something worth doing even if you are not staying at the hotel. I also went to the Spa for a 90 minute full body massage, it was one of the best I have ever had, great surroundings, tranquil and luxurious, excellent therapist. I really cant fault the hotel in anyway - planet bar was also great, as was the food we had (we only ate breakfast at the hotel), would love to try dinner there when we one day return.

Room Tip: Room 218 - overlooks main gardens and is nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shayna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for posting this positive review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mount Nelson Hotel and hopefully you will have a chance to dine at our Planet Restaurant. Please also note that if you come with friends, you can also enjoy our chef's table which is a fantastic experience within the hotel's kitchen.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Old world charm with excellent and friendly service. The afternoon tea overlooking the gardens is a must on a nice sunny day. The front desk personnel took a liking to us and drove us twice to restaurants in the hotel car.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for posting your review. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mount Nelson Hotel on a future visit to Cape Town.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

After having stayed with Orient Express in Cambodia, Laos and Myanmar I chose the Mount Nelson Hotel for my trip to South Africa. It was a very good choice.
Upon arrival at Cape Town Airport I was picked up with a nice Mercedes limo and brought directly to the hotel.
At the front desk they apologized about a hundred times that my room was not ready at 2.30 p.m. even though I did not say anything. I was more than happy that they upgraded me from a regular Junior Suite to a huge Deluxe Junior Suite in the best location of the hotel (Room # 218 in the original part of the hotel). Shortly after I checked into my room I received nice flowers and a bottle of champaign.
The four days I spent at the hotel were extremely relaxing. Nice staff was looking after me the entire time. All orders were handled quickly and with service from the heart. Front Desk, breakfast service, in room dining, housekeeping, bar service etc. all work wonderfully, fast and professional. The Mount Nelson will defenitely be my first choice again when I return to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Go for a Deluxe Junior Suite. You will not be disappointed. Ask for a room in the original part of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICSAESJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. One of our key assets at the property is our staff and I am delighted that you enjoyed "the service from the heart". Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mount Nelson on a future visit to Cape Town.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here first a 2night and then 4night.For the first we were upgraded to one of their suites,really luxurious and then in the main hotel later,this was really nice with a balcony.
At all times the rooms were beautifully clean,spacious and comfortable,couldn't be better.
Food was excellent ,really magnificent breakfasts which would suite all requirements.We also had dinner and high tea,for a top hotel we did not think the prices were exorbitant.
At all times the staff were excellent and made several phone calls for me as our travel co. had failed to send the full itinerary of our tour to the hotel,even prepared to phone the UK if required.
Beautiful gardens,Also easy to walk into the city from the hotel through Government Gardens opposite the main entrance.The hotel provides 2 courtesy cars ,on a first come basis which will take and collect you to several places including Table Mnt.cable car and the Waterfront.
The staff also told us of restaurants which were walkable,even at night.Excellent steak one and a good seafood one.
Can't talk too highly of our experience at this hotel

Room Tip: Not aware that any rooms would be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lit39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Tripadvisor. We are fortunate to be located in a neighborhood where there are a number of great restaurants. Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit.
Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit to Cape Town.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We spent 10 days there and loved it! The service was incredible, everyone knew us and said hello, the food was great, our room was beautiful. The hotel combines old and new-all of the common areas are gracious, large and light, and our room was completely updated, beautiful large bathroom, excellent wi-fi. Above all the service was fantastic!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Collette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Mount Nelson Hotel. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Tripadvisor and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit to Cape Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#20 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Property: Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing